1997 Fiat Bravo Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1997 Fiat Bravo SX 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Rubbish

Faults:

The gearbox failed at 27050.

Back window wiper does not work.

Speedo does not work.

General Comments:

This is the worst car I could have bought, the gear box failed 3 weeks after I purchased it. Fiat hold no responability for this, and I am taking them to court. My advice to anybody who is thinking of buying a Fiat is, don't bother.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2002

2nd Apr 2003, 05:58

Hi, I had the same problem as you with the gear box and although FIAT put up a fight, as soon a court was mentioned they paid up, I got over a thousand pounds back.Let me know what happened to your car and if you got your money back. Jo.

6th Feb 2005, 11:52

I have just had a speedo fitted on my Fiat Bravo SX, there is a pin fitted on the dial which sits on 6 Miles an hour when engine is off, anyone know why. Please help.

9th Feb 2005, 13:47

Hi I've just read your comments on Fiat Bravo 1.6sx and I totally disagree. I have owned my car for 2 yrs now and the only work done was a new clutch & cam belt and the regular service and mot. This car is the most reliable car that I have owned as it has never broken down..

22nd Aug 2006, 11:57

Hi. I had a fiat bravo sx, and I must say I really enjoyed driving it, it had really good steering and was pretty nippy for a 1.4. It did have poor fuel economy, and it also had overheating issues (which was due to the rubbish mechanic I used rather than the car) and never really recovered from that. I wouldn't buy another one.

27th Aug 2006, 05:34

To all fiat owners with complaints, unfortunately every vehicle has to be serviced may it be a fiat or mercedes, you must understand every vehicle which is used daily must be serviced and make note, with a mechanic who knows whats doing, i use my car every day and I have know problems I also service it when needed, but I have two friends who own mercedes benz which has not cost them a cent for repairs reason being they never see the day light.

1997 Fiat Bravo HLX 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

A stylish, quick hatch with affordable insurance

General Comments:

My reasons for purchasing this car were based primarily on its looks. The design is extremely stylish, original and solid.

The 1.8 16v unit on the car performs very well if worked hard, but at the same time the car remains composed when driven at slower speeds.

All functions of the car including the gear-change, acceleration and steering are smooth and precise in operation.

My example is a metallic, ice blue colour complimented well by a discrete hatch spoiler, small circular fog lights and attractive 15" fiat alloys.

On first impressions the Bravo seems to have a far more involved, sporting personality than my Megane and thankfully lacks the latter cars crunchy gear change and vague steering.

Unfortunately as I have only just purchased the car I am unable to pass judgement on its reliability, running costs etc...

Because it looks sooo good that it can do no wrong anyway!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th January, 2002

12th Jul 2005, 04:41

The Fiat Bravo is a stylish looking car. I owned a Black (97/P) 1.8 hlx. To look at the car was stunning; totally colour coded 15" alloys, rear spoiler, front fogs.

The engine on this car is a good all-rounder, comfortable meandering around towns and cities, but also fun and exciting on open roads. 115bhp wrapped up in a stylish chassis and only group 8 insurance.

The equipment levels are reasonable. Mine had remote central locking with alarm, e/w, e/m, PAS, ABS and airbags.

I owned the car for just over 12 months and the reason I sold it was the plain and simple fact reliability was dreadful! The first day I bought it the cover for the cat fell off, a bad omen for the trouble that ensued.

I had the exhaust from the manifold to the cat replaced three times within 6 months, luckily the part was under warranty, but still inconvenient.

The electrics sometimes worked, but not always as anticipated. The passenger window was very slow, and the driver’s window often cut out half way.

The rear wiper used to fuse, and stick in the middle of the rear windscreen. I never managed to get the heated screen to work.

The car was also quite heavy on petrol. Less than 30mpg average which I was disappointed with.

The windscreen would constantly steam up with the slightest hint of any form of precipitation.

Overall the car was fun to drive, and never actually broke down, but the car was riddled with problems, which meant that it was never out of the garage! If you really want one then buy one, but don’t expect trouble free motoring!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 14 reviews