1997 Fiat Bravo Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1997 Fiat Bravo SX TD100 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 405 Estate

Summary:

Make the Celica drivers get a red face as they realise they can't keep up

Faults:

Nothing! I'm amazed. Had a Fiat Uno SX in 1987 and swore I'd never buy FIAT again... Fix It Again Tomorrow came true!

One small glitch/bad design fault... Rear quarter panels are very soft, to the point that if someone bumps their bottom against it as they stand there chatting it will dent it inwards, and it never regains its full strength.

General Comments:

Great performance from turbo diesel.

Out drags a Celica easily from 40 to 70 by just staying in fourth while the Celica screams through the gears. I know this because a friend has one and our paths crossed on a few occasions on hilly dual carriageways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2000

4th Nov 2005, 08:58

Celica must be on its way out. celica st180 would demolish your little fiat.

13th Feb 2006, 11:48

We have a bravo TD100 sx on a P reg and I can go faster than most things on the road or track. on my R1. chow.

2nd Mar 2006, 16:32

That's funny, R1, I like it. a performance review on the 100td would be nice from a biker because you know what speed is, so how do you find the fiat for performance.

13th May 2006, 01:03

Disappointed; thought I was going to find advice here.

19th Feb 2008, 08:05

I have a Beams celica... I highly doubt you could keep up with it.

1997 Fiat Bravo HLX 1.8 petrol 16V from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol 16V Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

Rattling Italian juice drinker

Faults:

Central console for alarm had to be replaced where the light is.

Temperature sensor for electronic engine management system went duff and had to be replaced as the car thought it was a cold start every 5 mins, so it dumped large amounts of fuel into the engine.

Metallic paint lacquer started to peel off the back door and had to be resprayed.

Water leak from somewhere in car still not fixed after service floods driver side of car (1 inch if left overnight in bad rain!!!!!!)

Rust on internal engine mounts already!

General Comments:

Could be just a lemon car, but I think build quality is appalling, squeeks and rattles. They're better than they used to be (FIAT), and the car started out decent but after only 2 and a half years I am going to get rid and buy myself some German or Japanese engineering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th July, 2000

20th Feb 2001, 00:30

I was very disappointed with my Bravo 1.8 HLX, and after 3 years I decided to get myself a Golf GTi turbo. Now I have the quality that I was missing with the Fiat. Maybe you should test drive one and find out what a quality car feels like.

20th Jul 2001, 05:09

Secondhand Fiat Bravo HLX 1.8 16v '96, second hand value excellent for the price (£4750). Interior is still modern, but cheap materials and construct design means a lot of rattling, squeaking and knocking (drives me crazy!!!).

Upside, cheap to insure, reliable engine (so far) and concept image.

If only Fiat dealers were more friendly and helpful...

If they have improved the overall build quality on the new revisions, would consider a Bravo HGT.

Thanks.

1997 Fiat Bravo HGT 2.0 20 valve from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.0 20 valve
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10

Faults:

The exhaust section after the catalytic converter snapped after one month. It had a fuel smell when starting the engine but this was just a loose fuel pipe joint. During the winter one night it apparently went down to -4C and the handbrake would not release. According to the dealership it was the cables freezing inside their protective sleeves.

General Comments:

I am very impressed with the car's performance and also its handling. I had a 92 Vauxhall Astra before this and the Fiat's build quality is far better and the car generally feels much more solid and screwed together. I think the car looks fantastic and really stands out from the crowd. I would definately buy another Fiat although the official dealership I bought this one from are the most ignorant and unprofessional garage I have ever had the misfortune to deal with. I have actually been shouted at down the phone by the sales manager after I queried a £50 overcharge!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 1999

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 14 reviews