1993 Fiat Cinquecento Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1993 Fiat Cinquecento 899cc from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 899cc Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance84300 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

The best car I ever had!

Faults:

The fan for the heating does not work.

The speedometer does not work.

Both these faults were present when I bought the car and nothing else has gone wrong since.

General Comments:

I love this car! It's little and cute and looks great. This car has been well cared for by its previous owner.

This car is saving me at least £10 per week in fuel costs compared to my previous car.

Because of its size it's really easy to maneuver in small spaces, great for doing u-turns and three point turns. I have extra space in my garage and it takes less time to wash and polish than a bigger car.

I would highly recommend this little Fiat. I never want to drive anything else!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2004

1993 Fiat Cinquecento 0.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 0.9 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles

Summary:

Small affordable (ha ha) car

Faults:

Radiator broke and began leaking not long after I got the car. It cost approximately £200 to fix.

Seats are wearing badly.

Handbrake broke, still needing to be fixed.

Windscreen Wiper broke and made a large scratch along the windscreen.

Engine molding needs replacing.

General Comments:

This type of car is cheap, fun and a good handler. But too many things have gone wrong with my car in such a short time that I am starting to really dislike it. I paid £900 for it and I have nearly half paid for it again with repairs. I wouldn't advise anyone to buy this particular model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2003

1993 Fiat Cinquecento SX 899cc from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 899cc Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles

Summary:

Good Fun and cheap to run

Faults:

Front Wiper Linkage assembly fell apart 6 months after purchase - Replacement cost £50 from scrap yard.

Drivers side wiper hole fell in, meaning a plate had to be put it.

General Comments:

Great fun, if not a bit frightening when taking corners too fast!!

Good fuel efficiency.

Boot size it a bit annoying.

Loads of room inside it!

K+N Induction makes it accelerate faster and sound much better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2003

1993 Fiat Cinquecento SX 0.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 0.9 Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance41500 miles

Summary:

A bargain of a car

Faults:

Cylinder which holds in water broke.

Spark plug blew.

Handbrake had to be fixed.

General Comments:

This car is really cheap to run insure and tax. It is a brilliant little car for everyday use. Really spacious inside for being so small on the outside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2003

1993 Fiat Cinquecento SX petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles

Summary:

Excellent Performer!

Faults:

Handbrake not too reliable - doesn't hold the car when parked on a steep hill.

Sunroof sometimes leaks.

Continued Electrical faults (brake lights don't work, headlights dim, clock light doesn't work)

Very noisy rear suspension.

Boot doesn't seem to shut very easily - sometimes takes several attempts.

Heated rear window doesn't work.

Locks freeze easily.

General Comments:

Well, despite all the little things above, I think the car is excellent. It handles well and is brilliant on those little country roads with sharp corners. The car manages to accelerate out of the corners pretty well, and the brakes are excellent.

Not too good for motorway driving, I've found the fuel injection warning light comes on when you push the car above 80mph. Also the noise above 60mph is quite bad - the seals aren't too great so most of it is just wind.

Overall I think this car is an excellent drive and well worth the £1000 it cost me. Its cheap to insure and cheap to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2003

1993 Fiat Cinquecento 0.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 0.9 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carFiat Panda

Summary:

A cheap and cheerfull well made car

Faults:

Replacement of petrol tank.

General Comments:

Cheap and cheerfull car, better built than my previous car, a fiat Panda, which was also a good reliable cheap car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2002

1993 Fiat Cinquecento SX 0.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.9 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles

Summary:

Reliable fun little run-around

Faults:

I did have problems with the injection system at 25,000 miles, that's about it.

General Comments:

This is my first car and to be honest, I've fallen in love with it. It's not a performance car but I've found it to be extremly reliable, and great fun to drive. I would recommend it as a second family car or a first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2001

16th Dec 2003, 16:46

I own a 1994 899cc Cinquecento. The fuel injection system warning light is on and when I start it, the car cuts out after a few seconds unless I rev the engine. This is especially the case when the engine is cold, and when warm the engine does not idle at a constant speed.

Did you or any other reader have a similar problem? If so, what was the cost of sorting the problem out?

27th Jul 2006, 06:12

I only passed my test last year, and the fiat cinquecento was the first car I had. It's a brilliant car for cheap tax, insurance and petrol. What more could a student need. The brakes and handbrake was the only problem for the mot last week, which didn't cost to much, and hopefully it will last me another year.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 10 reviews