1995 Fiat Cinquecento Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1995 Fiat Cinquecento Sporting 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance30500 miles

Summary:

Brilliant

Faults:

The seal around the fuel tank was leaking.

Seats where broken.

General Comments:

I love the car if I could live in side it I would. I have recently, but new bucket seats in side which make it look sporty and had the suspension lowered.

I have a induction kit on it as well

I think from a 1.1 sporting it is quick I have raced a corsa 1.5d and it didn't stand a chance.

It starts first time every morning even in the winter.

I have nothing bad to say about the car, and I would advise anyone to buy one if they have a chance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2003

23rd Jul 2004, 14:22

A race against a diesel? That's not saying too much really. The "Sporting" is hardly sporting, with a mere 54bhp, rather feeling faster than what it actually is, with the tinny build, low ride height and inaccurate speedometers.

Although saying that, I still agree that it is a far better car than many of its rivals, Fiesta's, Corsa's, 106's are boring in comparison.. it's got to be yellow though! Fun without breaking speed limits (by too much anyway!)

18th Oct 2006, 04:52

The car can handle any kind of road surface very well. Its "SPORT" seats and good visibility make it a perfect car. Remember the car was primarily designed for the town use.

The engine is quite lively. Do not want to discuss about the issue Cinquecento vs. Corsa diesel... never owned a Corsa diesel :-)

The fiat is a car... sporty type despite the 55 HP. Its gearbox is really a success with the 1.1 engine of "only" 55 HP.

1995 Fiat Cinquecento SX 950cc from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 950cc Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

My advice is to go for something more substantial and absorb the extra running costs - it'll pay off

Faults:

Head gasket went at 30000 miles

Fan switch needed replacing - car constantly overheated.

Had to have new radiator fitted due to the above.

Brakes needed replacing often.

Ongoing problems with electrics- brake lights stopped working, headlights only dim - apparently an electrical fault.

General Comments:

Bought this car because it was cute and small enough to be cheap to run and service.

It is cheap on fuel, insurance and tax, but what you save on those areas, you will pay out again to maintain it!

It is uncomfortable and unreliable. I have spent a fortune getting bits and pieces fixed over the years. Avoiding Fiat dealers who are more expensive is problematic as mechanics find the car troublesome to work on due to its size and the way its been put together. Consequently, it ain't cheap or easy to fix!

Its value has also now depleted so much that its virtually worthless.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th September, 2002

9th Feb 2004, 09:12

I do not agree with this review I have recentlly brought a Fiat Cinquecento SX and I thought that the car was very good. It is comftable reliable and cheap to run and I have had no problem with it so far.

1995 Fiat Cinquecento Sporting 1.1 injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1 injection Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A money pit that is not worth the hassle

Faults:

My clutch failed at 27,500 miles.

The radiator has been replaced twice.

Head gasket has now gone at 45,00 0miles.

Standard exhaust corroded badly which has been replaced with a sports version.

Engine knocks badly when warm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th August, 2001

1995 Fiat Cinquecento Sporting 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

If you don't need anything bigger, do yourself a favour and get one

Faults:

- Noisy speedo cable - dealt with at first service, but recurs occasionally from time to time.

- Driver's seat-frame "clonks" when going around corners or otherwise shifting your weight.

- Sunroof & drivers door poorly sealed for draughts - too much windnoise above 60mph.

- Rear section of exhaust fell off (rusted through) after 18000 miles (a consequence of low mileage/short journeys, I suspect)- and nearly 200 GBP to replace whole system!

- Clutch is a bit fierce (but you get used to it).

May 2000, new fuel tank fitted (free of charge) after Fiat UK recall.

General Comments:

- Servicing is more expensive than you'd expect for a small car, but not excessively so - insurance is pretty reasonable though, and 40-45MPG is good considering the style of driving it encourages. Tyre wear isn't too bad either.

- There are lots of little niggles (see what's gone wrong), but none that detract too seriously.

- It's supposed to be my wife's car, but any excuse will see me behind the wheel - I love driving it (it's a real hoot!).

- Yes, it is small, but as a second car, or for people with no kids it's fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th May, 2000

1995 Fiat Cinquecento Sporting 1.1i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.1i petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

So far (27K) the tracking has gone a couple of times going over potholes, otherwise no problems.

General Comments:

Great little car, the engine seems to have quite a lag when accelerating hard. Prices for Fiat dealer servicing seem overpriced (150ukp quoted).

All in all, cheap to buy and run, though insurance doesn't seem to be as cheap as I expected (any ideas?). For a first car I think I've done pretty well.

Shame there is no immobiliser (standard from June 1995).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 1999

27th Sep 2005, 15:12

Ideal for first car and also look good!!!

1995 Fiat Cinquecento Sporting 1.1i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.1i petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10

Faults:

Clutch cable snapped one week after dealer service.

Rattly exhaust.

Rattly dash.

General Comments:

Dealer service prices v.expensive (for such a small car).

Get an Abarth front bumper, it looks the business.

Get radiator checked if someone so much as looks funny at your front bumper.

Not very comfortable on long drives and noisy at speed.

Yokohama A509's in a 165/65 x 13 are a cheap (£140 per set) replacement for pricey Pirelli's.

Change timing belt at 50k not 65k like it says in manual.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

1995 Fiat Cinquecento Sporting 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Leaking shock absorber after only 7000 miles. No other major problems but niggling knocking noise when cornering.

General Comments:

Servicing is expensive for a small car £170+. Dealer not particularly helpful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 1998

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 16 reviews