Fiat Doblo Reviews

2008 Fiat Doblo MPV 1.9 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance279800 miles

Summary:

A good workhorse

Faults:

Engine replaced at 270,000 miles.

Gearbox replaced at 279,500 miles.

Dual mass flywheel changed at 60,000 miles by the dealership.

Still on the same flywheel after 4 clutches.

General Comments:

A very comfortable vehicle to drive in my occupation as a taxi driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th July, 2013

12th Jul 2013, 12:00

It sounds like a "Trigger's broom" car!

2006 Fiat Doblo Family 7 1.3 multijet diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.3 multijet diesel Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance70000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Doblo

Summary:

Unreliable death trap

Faults:

Many small electrical and warning lights, which the dealership told us to ignore.

The engine blew up in 2010. A problem with injectors? White smoke, roaring engine, loss of power and control. Wife driving, children on board. All terrified out of wits. I almost lost my whole family. Engine replaced under warranty after fraught negotiations. They still tried to bill us!

Replacement engine blew up in 2012. Same description. Wife will never sit in that car again. Am I unique in almost losing my wife and children to a Fiat Doblo FAMILY? And not just once. TWICE.

General Comments:

This type of car has come close to killing my wife and my children TWICE.

The first engine blew up before the warranty ended. The replacement blew up last week, two years and three months after the first one.

Less than 80,000 km in total and it needs its third engine. Do you want a car where you change the engine more often than the tires?

If you care for the safety of your family or loved ones, DO NOT WALK AWAY FROM THESE FIATS, RUN!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd May, 2012

12th Nov 2012, 17:19

I have had my Fiat Doblo 1.3 Multijet for 2 months now. It's an 07 reg, done 1000 miles so far, with no faults. Great car, plenty of poke, nice quiet ride too. It's got 67000 on the clock, I just love it. Use the very best quality fully synthetic oil and change it regularly. This engine should last a life time.

19th Sep 2013, 09:27

I've bought a 2006 Doblo 1.3 Multijet 7 seater in 2012, with 60,000 Km. All I can say is that it is the worst car that I've had until now, and I've had a few cars before this nightmare car. I suggest you run away from Fiat diesel engines; they really suck.

2002 Fiat Doblo Cargo 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Frontera

Summary:

Rubbish work van!

Faults:

Van would not start the day after I bought it. Called the seller and he didn't want it back. Why? Epic fuel injection pump needed repair, which has cost me dearly and created a huge inconvenience! These pumps are very expensive to fix!

Flexi-pipe on exhaust needed replacement.

General Comments:

Extremely let down by this van, or the fuel injection system should I say.

Cabin is noisy and the stereo is rubbish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th October, 2011

2008 Fiat Doblo Dynamic 1.3 Multijet 85BHP from UK and Ireland

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.3 Multijet 85BHP Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Previous carFiat Brava

Summary:

DOBLO style icon... Not (23k in)

Faults:

Stereo would not switch on and off with the ignition. I replaced with Bluetooth one as I needed hands-free, plus I prefer using USB/ipod and not carrying CDs, so not the end of the world. Every review on this car mentions problems with the standard fit audio system.

5100 miles: oil light flashing, message on the computer - Change Engine Oil. I took her to Fiat, thinking this would be warranty, as the car had been serviced every year as per the guidelines e.g 12k or 1 year for a service, only to be told your oil has reached degeneration stage, and needs to be changed. Oil and filter were £175. After an argument, £116.00. Whilst I didn't expect oil to be covered, I fail to see how oil can degenerate so quickly, 7 months and just 5k. This simply means the Fiat service schedules when they sell you the vehicle are simply garbage, and expect to change oil twice a year unless you do higher miles; do low miles, and the oil will not heat fully, and has a shorter life. Next time I will not bother with Fiat dealerships, as the price is over inflated!! Breath!! Rant over..... It's worth noting that when stationary you can select the menu button and check how many miles until your next service which will prevent you from the nasty surprise, or so I thought, however this is just annual servicing not oil quality. I have just had the oil changed for a second time. The computer still thinks another 4k to service. It would seem I average 7 months for an oil change. However a full service from a non Fiat garage who I use and trust is £160.00.

It's also worth mentioning that the speakers are not the best quality, replacements were made as the back ones were next to useless; tiny speakers in a boot that is huge. Any bass and they just bomb. 6x9 boxes mounted with better quality speakers rectified that situation also to note... I'm not a music head, filling my boot with bone shaking bass systems, but I do like to singalong (wail) on occasion, and the standard system really doesn't do it!!!

At 12k together and a leaky air con drain pipe.... the pipe was blocked with crap from the road, and when the A/C was running for long periods, it backed up and I got a wet footwell. The worst problem was a stagnant water smell; the A/C still worked as normal. The pipe was cleaned out and and I had the pollen filter replaced for £45 quid, so nothing too terminal.

At 15k an electric window went down and stayed down. It refused to move. I checked the fuse and that was fine. After panic and swearing, I bagged the window ready for a trip to the garage on Monday morning. On the Monday I removed the bagging to drive, and to my surprise the window worked perfectly and has done ever since?!?!? Weird; deffo a gremlin on board somewhere...

21k together and the front flexi pipe on the exhaust system has rusted through, the engine was noisy, so go I thought I'd get it seen to. Only now after it was replaced I have the engine light on with engine failure on the display, and it's all pointing to the DPF temperature sensor. The car is in limp mode, and the garage inform me that the main issue is trying to get this device out of the DPF, which is also rusty on a car that is 5 years old and has covered just 40k! The DPF to replace is £980 plus VAT. I spent a week hoping the garage had a viable plan 'B' and save this rather expensive part. It is worth stating that DPF's in general seem to be problematic and not an issue unique to the Doblo, although the amount of rusting on the exhaust system for 5 years and 40k is not good.

My mechanic has now rectified a repair to the DPF and the car is back quiet again with turbo boost!!! MARVELOUS.

From 44k intermittently the car doesn't start, third click on the ignition barrel and silence, no attempt to start. Same happens with both keys; odd as I leave it a minute or two and she starts as normal. I'm having the wiring checked and see where we go from there!

On service investigation found nothing, ignition wiring was checked and 'fingers crossed' it seems to have not happened for a while.

General Comments:

This is a car that one buys with the 'head', rather than the 'heart'. Sports car she is not! However I have to say that it's the best purchase I've ever made. It suits my needs perfectly.

The cabin has loads of room, great adjustment on the front seats for people of all shapes and sizes. Driver's armrest is also a nice touch. The layout is sensible, and the dials are all clear and functional.

The only slight disappointments are the lack of reach adjust on the steering; the wheel does move up and down for height though. Also the absence of the external temperature with ice warning. Fiat left this as optional at £150 quid, which frankly is a stupid price. It also makes no sense when all the other features on the computer remain, one particularly useful feature is the speed warning function normally only found on much more expensive cars. The modes also feature trip function, average MPG, instant MPG, journey time and secondary trip function for additional info.

The one really stupid thing about this car is that the sun visor does not unclip to be turned to the side to filter the sun?!? Bizarre and frankly stupid, as I discover every winter when low sunlight first appears and driving in winter sunshine I pass trees being blinded by the flickering light. Fiat, where is your logic on that decision?

The other minor irritation is the positioning of the switch for indicator auto cut off. At times getting a left indication when exiting a roundabout for example is difficult, as it will not always allow you, owing to the position of the steering wheel and the switch cut off, meaning you select the signal 2 or 3 times!

The load capacity is huge; I have 3 Dobermans that all go in the boot at the same time. The rear windows 'pop' out, which keeps the boot cool when parked. The Fiat dog guard frame and fixings are quality items, and do not rattle like after-market options. However the mesh that appears to be metal in the catalog is in fact lace mesh and not chew proof. My Doberman came crashing through on the A12!! Not at all good for the price it cost. If the inner mesh was metal, then the design would have been excellent. I have resolved the issue by getting poly-carbonate sheet cut to size and drilled. I then zip tied it to the guard frame, making it solid and secure. I also added an extra section taking the protection up to the roof, as the guard stops short of the roof, meaning the dogs kept putting their heads up over the top before. The cost of the adaptions was around £70.00, but it's worth it. It's also clear and better for rear view than the mesh was in the beginning.

The split folding parcel shelf is a great idea when loading and unloading, as the boot is so deep, folding it back allows for reaching items towards the rear seat. The boot floor is also a low height, with the tail lights on the edges makes for a wide load area also, so lifting heavy or bulky items in and out couldn't be easier. The monthly food shop looks lost when loaded, unlike others scratching their heads rearranging and continuing to struggle, which then results in putting bags in the back at the supermarket. The boot in fact is so big, that I managed to put a fully build duck house in by just pushing the rear seats slightly forward; they didn't have to be folded down, The dog guard stayed hung in place and just tilted forward. The duck house was over 3 feet 2 inches deep!!!

If the family go out in the car, the kids all have loads of space, the seats are good quality in the back also, and the dark glass on Dynamic models is a nice touch for any rear seat passenger. The air-conditioning is a 'must have' item that's missing on lower models. Anyone with mobility problems needing easy rear access will find the sliding rear doors and head height invaluable, my main reason for considering a Doblo in the first place.

The engine is very frugal and quite nippy, and its V.E.D. emissions are also quite low for a car of this size, £140 for a years tax, however you do have to work the gear box and keep it in the turbo 'peak' to get the best out of it. It's worth noting that earlier models of this 1.3 Multi jet diesel come with less power; these should be avoided in my view, as 85BHP is about the minimum this body needs to be carried with any sufficiency. Especially when you consider the weight of passengers and loads etc. It is fair to say that you notice the additional weight when carrying five passengers and their belongings, although this 1.3 still slugs along. It's mostly the initial pull away that it's most obvious.

Generally when driven quite hard, it returns 46 MPG, and on a steady 'run' to the sea side (motorway) she managed 57 MPG!!! Which is in my view great for a car of its size. Especially when you factor in 3 dogs, 2 kids and 3 adults, and all the luggage!! It's when fully loaded, and big hilly roads that make you appreciate the frankly amazing 200NM of torque from this tiny engine. When using a different style of driving, (coughs) lane 3 foot down, expect figures of 41 - 42 again; impressive for the size of this car. This little 1.3 is also willing to motor along and slugs up hills well at speed, without that tail off you get with hills from small petrol engines.

This little power train is fab for snow, allowing full use of high gears, and that thing us experienced drivers crave, torque!! But the peaky turbo can make pulling out from a junction a little tricky when driving in ice, as it will torque steer, gentle has to be the order of the day for that situation. The car does wear front tyres fairly quick due to the turbo and of course powered steering and being front wheel drive.

Now back to every day motoring... This car as a result joins motorways with short hilly slip roads easily, much better than my old 1.6 petrol, which overall was more powerful, but useless until revved up, by which time the short slip road had ran out. For a diesel, it is also not too noisy, although it does struggle a little with wind noise. The gear change is very smooth and responsive.

The handling for such a tall car is also surprisingly stable, although the ride can be a little bouncy on an uneven surface. Having owned Fiats before, the cabin is a refreshing change in build quality, and feels very well put together, and remains durable. It is fair to say that the plastics are not as plush as other MPV's on the market, however they are considerably more expensive. The new Doblo seems to have made progress into bridging that gap. We have covered over 27k now together, hence the updates.

Owning one of these, you will get used to van jokes, ice cream salesman jokes, taxi, oh and the odd 'Pope' gag, but s*d em! If you need like me, space and practicality with affordable running costs, this car is perfect. Another major point to note is that most people change their minds when they have been out in this competent, spacious, practical car. I have to say that owning one now for 33 months 27k I like the fact that this car doesn't attempt to hide its routes, e.g. the Combi Van, essentially that's what makes it so practical and useful. Other MPV's I feel offer a lot of pretence, and as a result are less real use and value. In a perfect world I'd have one of these in the garage, and a sporty number for those days when all of the above situations don't matter, but as us MPV owner's realise, those days are few and far between...

To summarise, despite her letting herself down with one or two minor but random issues, 'My Doblo remains a winner!' Style icon she ain't but remember what your mother once said, summit about Books and covers - you decide....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2011

29th Sep 2013, 12:41

Excellent review. Thank you.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 9 reviews