2000 Fiat Multipla Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2000 Fiat Multipla ELX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

Unbeatable...Ignore the looks and test one

Faults:

Needed a new rear wiper blade, Fiat quoted £24 for the whole arm, however, replacement 'rubbers' are available and work perfectly well saving £19!

General Comments:

The car is Very quick for a 1.6 petrol (considering its size and weight)

Drives like its on rails and handles bends like a Porsche.

Seats are a bit hard on the SX model (I was so impressed we bought one for the wife too!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2003

2000 Fiat Multipla ELX 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carFiat Tipo

Summary:

Appalling customer service lets down a great car

Faults:

Catalytic converter failed at 42000 miles. No replacement parts are available in the UK and my Fiat dealer cannot give any indication of when one is likely to be available. Fiat UK customer services (sic) don't want to know.

General Comments:

Great car, but appalling customer service from Fiat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th March, 2003

2000 Fiat Multipla ELX 1.9JTD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9JTD Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carFiat Brava

Summary:

A comfortable, economic, practical family vehicle

Faults:

We have had no problems with the vehicle apart from a puncture!

General Comments:

This car is great fun to drive. A real head-turner and guaranteed to get the most sour-faced old prune smiling.

We love it. Purchased primarily as a family car (2 young boys) we all love it and the children call it 'their' car. I am only allowed to drive it with theirs and Mums permission!

No issues. The only thing that lets any Fiat down (we also own a Brava) are the dealers. They are atrocious. Do what I did - buy the car over the net. Only service it under warranty at the dealer and then go to a 'little-man' garage - they are great and the love servicing new and different cars. This one is certainly that!

Economy is just fine. The 1.9JTD engine is just superb. It comfortably cruises in excess of the UK national limit and still returns in excess of 40MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2003

2000 Fiat Multipla SX 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance34500 miles
Previous carRenault 21

Summary:

Good value, sturdy, fun to drive and economical on fuel

Faults:

Seat belt warning light stuck on after delivery. Fixed under warranty.

One of battery cables snapped at connection to battery. Fixed under warranty. Apparently incorrectly routed during manufacture causing stress and failure. Fixed under warranty.

Front offside suspension tie-rod failed at 15,000 miles. Vehicle out of warranty, but dealer supplied part free of charge and fitting was done in five minutes by local mechanic (£10)

Diesel leak appeared at about 28,000 miles. Traced to pipes from pump to injectors. Full set replaced (not under warranty) total cost £135 inclusive.

General Comments:

Vehicle has stood up fairly well to four kids and general abuse.

Pulls five berth caravan very well, with four bikes on the roof.

Let us down once when battery cable snapped.

Good on fuel, 40+mpg on run.

Parts are actually pretty cheap and our dealer (Piccadilly, Ripon) are exceptionally good.

We find the lights a bit dim at hight even in highest setting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2002

2000 Fiat Multipla ELX 1.9 JTD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 JTD Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A pleasure to own and be seen in

Faults:

Fault in the electronic link between the accelerator pedal and the engine management computer at 28,000 miles. Fixed free of charge by the dealer.

Bent the front nearside alloy wheel.

General Comments:

Great design and absolutely brilliant for our three kids.

Middle front seat makes a great table for picnics and the drive through.

Tows my 5 berth caravan with ease, and with no need for extension mirrors.

It's been out now for 2 years, yet it still gets curious stares into the interior at the supermarket car park.

Get used to other Multipla drivers waving at you or flashing the lights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2001

21st Jun 2002, 12:24

I have two Multipla Diesels, one with a Fiat bodykit.

Fantastic versatility and performance, but appalling dealer support.

I am approaching 3 years of ownership and would consider another, but the specification is very restricted. I hear rumours that the bodykit is to become standard on ELX - is this true? and what about an upmarket interior (leather seating etc) is this on the cards?

18th Sep 2002, 14:43

The new Multipla is out now with colour keyed bumpers (not the abarth kit), new cloth materials used on the interior, rear disc brakes and an up-rated (115bhp) turbo diesel unit. I have test drove one and placed an order, trading in my petrol ELX at 2 years old with 42K miles, this is a great car and would not consider any alternative.

30th Apr 2003, 14:52

If only the local dealer knew what they were doing or there was another dealer within reach I would happily get another in a few years time.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 15 reviews