1997 Fiat Punto 55S 1.1 from UK and Ireland


Spacious and excellent value


The LED display on the stereo is very slightly defective, but this has not affected usage (this fault was present at the time of purchase).

The rear exhaust fell off at 36000 miles.

Cam-belt also needed replacing at the same distance.

Otherwise just normal wear and tear items (worn brake pads, tyres, blown bulbs, etc).

General Comments:

We acquired the car for just £5695, it having previously spent a year as a rental vehicle.

It is extremely spacious, with fantastic headroom and decent legroom. Four tall adults can be accommodated comfortably.

The performance is very good for the engine size, but it suffers with a full load.

The stereo is first rate, despite the problem with the display.

Cheap to service/repair (but note we have avoided the Fiat dealerships).

Overall we are extremely happy with this car, so much so that we are currently upgrading to a new Punto 16v ELX.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2001

17th Oct 2001, 11:58

I have seen a couple of reviews mention reliability problems once you pass 40000 miles. Well, we are nearly there (39000) and the problems are coming thick and fast.

Since submitting this review, it has needed a new clutch (surely this is early, even for an ex-rental?) and the radio has entered some weird mode in which you cannot adjust the volume/change station for about an hour at a time! And we only just replaced the cam-belt and rear exhaust.

1997 Fiat Punto SX 1.1 from UK and Ireland


A good all rounder


My exhaust needed replacing in October 2000, at 46,000 miles and back box has just needed replacing again - 54,000 miles!

Rear suspension bushes needed replacing at 52,000.

Shock absorber needed replacing at the same time as the bushes. Fiat dealer didn't even notice this.

General Comments:

This car is a good all rounder, although the longer I have had it the more seems to go wrong.

Fiat dealers are amongst the worst I have come across, rude and unhelpful. Unfortunately treat women as if they do not know anything about cars.

Lovely car to drive and a good bargain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th June, 2001

1997 Fiat Punto GT 1.4 turbo from Greece


Expensive mini dragster killer


Fuel consumption extremely high due to the turbocharger (actually it needs more than a BMW 323 for example).

General Comments:

Bigger and more expensive cars will certainly regret competing with your car on the open road (few people could believe it actually does below 8 seconds for the 0-100km/h procedure judging by its appearance and model name).

Beware of turns because the turbo lag and high torque won't forgive you.

Infinite tuning abilities (mine is 220hp at 1.6 bar overboost).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2001

7th May 2001, 20:39

How can I over-boost my Fiat Punto GT?

11th Oct 2001, 12:41

Take out the restrictor, even though it wrecks the turbo.

9th Jan 2003, 10:46

How high should a standard punto gt turbo be boosting to and what should it stay at.

25th May 2010, 10:58

I own a 1997 Fiat Punto GT, and have to say it won't consume that much fuel if you don't want to. Driving without making the turbocharger charge, and being conscious and careful of fuel economy. In a standard city driving cycle, you don't need to accelerate as much as the car can, you don't need to make the turbocharger work always.

I get at least 30 mpg in city driving (13 km/l), and on the highway you can get more if you stay at 70 mph.

Of course if you want to push it will do 0-60 mph in 7.9 seconds.

This car is able to give you a great compromise of economy and speed.

1997 Fiat Punto 55 S 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland


The car to get you there


Central locking problems, nothing to cry about but something that can be prevented with a hammer.

General Comments:

Generally a great car, spacious but compact and internally and externally a modern body with a good safety record.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2001

1997 Fiat Punto 55SX 1.1i petrol from UK and Ireland


Head gasket went (although my teenage son may have been an influence on that).

The dealer fixed it under warranty.

Sticky windows occasionally.

General Comments:

I have found it to be very lively especially on the motorway and in town.

The car has lots of nice extras, electric windows, central locking, fog lights, and body coloured bumpers, etc.

Very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2000