5th May 2004, 08:45

Hello again all.

I am the person who originally wrote this review.

Just to report that I am starting to feel a little shafted by Fiat with this one.

The car has still been fine, a real delight to own.

But it turns out the extras that are missing should not have even come with the car so most of the work still has not been done. We have essentially been sold the wrong car. If I had of known this I would not have taken delivery of the car, but I was told that this was an oversight and would have been corrected promptly.

They say they are trying to sort it, but I feel it's a fob off. I could be wrong.

I will post again. However don't let this put you off a Punto, which is still a cracking car for the money.

13th Oct 2004, 17:59

Hi All.

I noticed your comment on the tailgate lights on the new model. When purchasing my New Punto I could not understand it either how some have the old back and others have the new back with tailgate light... for some reason they have fitted the 3 door only with the tailgate lights ad the 5 door still has the old tailgate... weird I know, but I took the 3 door because of this, pity as I really wanted a 5 door.

No complaints on the car as yet, only had her 2 days, but very happy so far.

14th Nov 2004, 09:52


I have had my Active Sport 1.2 8v since April 2004 and as yet no problems although the brakes do appear to make a noise on coming to a complete stop. Any comments on this? Also any idea where I can get atlantic grey metallic pens for scratches etc?

19th Dec 2004, 06:30

Well I was going to buy a 1.2 but now,well.

9th Mar 2005, 20:55

I've got a 2004-54 Sporting 1.4 16v and can confirm that the 3-door cars have lights going into the boot panel and the 5 foor cars don't. Fiat like to make a distinction between the 3 and 5 door models, as they did before this latest facelift, so its horses for courses - choose which one you prefer!

On another note, 7 months, 23,000 miles and my car is absolutely faultless and returning 42mpg to boot!

7th May 2005, 12:43

"although the brakes do appear to make a noise on coming to a complete stop. Any comments on this?"

My active sport does that too, I took it back to the dealer and apparently it is the compound used on the brake pads and is normal if a little annoying.

4th Jul 2005, 15:01

Hi All, Original reviewer of the Punto again here!

Just an update. 23000 miles now and still pretty much OK, however has had a new clutch. Lots of clutch judder one day, straight in and new clutch fitted so that's OK. Apparently, there is a recall on the clutch, so make sure you get yours in for one.

Also note what people have said about the brakes, had them checked by fiat, who again said they are fine.

However, I took the wheels off and they look knackered to me, so going to get them checked independently!

Now its nicely run in, we took it to spain (from sunny suffolk, 1100 miles from home!) and it was faultless. returned 51mpg somehow too. Must be that careful right foot again.

Will update again when (or if) she hits 50000!!

3rd Mar 2006, 13:16

I own a 54 reg punto sporting in silver.

I have just done 30,000 miles and have had no problems bar the rear speaker playing up (fixed under warranty).

I think pound for pound it's a cracking little car that performs well with tons of extras. The ride is a little harsh, the noise in the cabin is intrusive (maybe its the alloys) and it doesn't like a cross wind on the motorway.

In fact if you plan to do a lot of motorway driving don't bother with this car as I have been blown all over the place overtaking a lorry or two.

16th May 2009, 04:50

Need help.

I've had 3 automatics before, and every time I've stopped on a hill, the car has not rolled back once, but since I bought this Punto 1.2 Active automatic, it tends to roll back. Is this normal, or do I need to get it checked?


14th Mar 2010, 13:57

The best car I have ever owned. I bought it with 50 000 miles on the clock and it's now got 90k... Only problem is that the window wiper assembly broke, and when stuck in heavy traffic it overheats... Which was fun in a Parisian rush hour in 30 degree heat with the heaters on full blast. But it's taken me round Europe twice and never misses a beat.

6th Jan 2016, 11:18

I have the same vehicle and same problem. I know the post was posted few years ago, but any outcome on this?