Fiat Regata Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1989 Fiat Regata D 1697D from Poland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1697D Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance316000 kilometres

Summary:

Old Lady with real class

Faults:

Aluminium water pump is the hook of engine. It has a tendency to fatigue cracking. I replaced this by new one made of cast iron.

Major problem with Regata is rust, rust and rust.

General Comments:

Very spacious car with low fuel consumption ~5-6dm3/100km. Huge boot ~520dm3. Spare parts are very cheap and easy to buy. I love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2003

1985 Fiat Regata from Romania

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carLada Lada 1200

Summary:

Very good

Faults:

The automatic temperature controlled air cleaner flap is closed all the time and the engine aspires only warm air from the gallery zone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st July, 2003

1985 Fiat Regata 85S 1.6 petrol (149A000) from France

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol (149A000) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen Ami 8

Summary:

A good horse for everyday life

Faults:

- radiator cap

- carburetor

- distributor

- exhaust gasket

- electrical "leack" (a mysterious wire touching the metal somewhere)

General Comments:

- When I bought this car, there was an issue with the carburetor. I understood a bit after that it was due to a problem with the cooling system (with the previous owner). In fact I realized that there was a leak on the radiator cap. Because of that the engine overheated and consequently the exhaust gasket melted and the carburetor was damaged. The carburetor, the radiator cap, the exhaust gasket were replaced. Since that time, it works fine. It will be 18 years old next week. It's a very comfortable car with good performances and very economic when driven gently. I am surprised that this car is not known. It seems that it was not a success despite the good performances. The Ritmo, which is ugly, is much more known.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th July, 2003

6th Feb 2008, 08:06

You have insulted one of my all time favorites; how can you say that the Fiat Ritmo is ugly.

With all respect for you. I think it looks fabulous.

Well, it proves that taste and beauty are in the eye of the beholder.

I think the Ritmo is gorgeous.

Greetings, Flo.

1987 Fiat Regata 85S 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carFiat 131

Summary:

A very high spec and comfortable car

Faults:

Nothing really apart from a little rust.

Clutch cable did snap once, but I'm sure that can happen to anyone.

Some problems did arise however, after having the engine steam cleaned. The electronic heating system (which was very unique) started to fuse after it was set to level 5 with the (+) button.

So regretted having it steam cleaned. It should never be done to any engine with a lot of electronics. Especially more modern ones.

General Comments:

A very high specification car. It had most features that would normally only be found on top end models at the time.

It did have a lot of space and you could fit a hell of a lot in the boot. Very comfortable and rare I believe.

Also had a good power output.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2002

11th Jul 2003, 09:16

Having owned the exact same model, I too had it steam cleaned and much like yourself regretted it. The heating system also starting to blow on level 5. Best thing to do, never steam clean modern cars with electronics. To date 2003- I haven't seen any car with the same unique heating system. It truly was very unique and must have been expensive to implement. Fiat have come up with more innovative and unique ideas in my opinion then many other cars out there.

1989 Fiat Regata 70 Weekend 1.3 petrol from Portugal

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance91600 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

A reliable hard-working lady

Faults:

The water pump failed and the body has some rust, that's why it is being repaired (by me) right now. This includes a full new paint.

General Comments:

This is not my daily car, but it's the one I use to go to my parent's country house because of the space it has.

It is stable and for a 1301 with over a ton weight it runs pretty good.

Another good Fiat product that has been unrecognized.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2002

1985 Fiat Regata 70ES Comfort 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance161000 miles
Previous carFiat 127

Summary:

At the time (1990's), an unsung super saloon

Faults:

Rust all over the bodywork, especially the wheel arches.

Timing chain failure @ 160,000 miles (but my fault really for not replacing it as I should have done!).

Consistent steady, but low level oil leaks from the engine.

General Comments:

A great, reliable workhorse.

It could swallow loads of luggage, or take the family on holiday trips in comfort and style.

Petrol economy was good for a car of its size.

The seats are comfortable and the driving position is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2001

1989 Fiat Regata 70 1.3 from Spain

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance275000 kilometres

Summary:

A comfortable and economical performance compact

Faults:

First changes were at 200.000 km:

Clutch.

Radiator.

Suspension.

Top gasket leaking & changed at 220.000 km.

Electronic ignition blew, left me stranded on the motorway at 270.000 km.

General Comments:

General interior (seats, lining etc) is not at all worn out, it maintains perfectly.

This car is like an armoured tank, very strong. I fell asleep on the motorway doing 110kph - only minor damage to the car, continued driving without stopping slamming against the middle cement separation.

Even if the engine is 1.3 the performance is like a 1.5, excellent in acceleration and recuperation.

This car was very unstable in fast curves, but with the new suspension (Monroe sensatrac) and wider tires I added (before 155/55, now 170/60) the car is glued to the pavement.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2001

1989 Fiat Regata 85 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles

Summary:

Great all rounder!

Faults:

Nothing except for loads of rust!

The plastic trim at the bottom of the doors has fallen off due to rust!

General Comments:

Great car! Can be bought for very little now, quite a lot of extra stuff inside that you only find on a more luxury car. If you can live with the rust the engine will last forever and it responds quickly when pushed! The only problem (apart from rust) is it tends to skid out if you take bends too fast, but it is a family saloon after all!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2000

26th Mar 2006, 10:33

I agree with the rust, but my main problem is caused by the engine.

9th Jul 2006, 09:36

Rust the only problem? You must be joking! How about the jumping out of gear? the steering wheel wanting to go every way apart from the one you required? The breakdown every 300 miles? The times it set itself on fire? These things didn't need mechanics, they needed priests!

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 11 reviews