Fiat Ritmo Reviews

1979 Fiat Ritmo 65 CL 1.5 from Egypt

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Previous carFiat 128

Summary:

This is a good car to buy if you find it in good shape, but it needs good roads

Faults:

When I got this car it was in a very bad shape almost every thing it was not working

The previous owner put a 75CL engine instead of its original engine

I did a complete rebuild of the engine

Changed the gearbox as it produced strange noises

Changed the shock absorbers when they leaked their oil

It made strong vibration when I drive over 80 KM/H and it turned out that a wheel had water inside it

It had some electrical problems that caused the alternator to blow and caused the lights to go weak when you use the brakes

The doors had to repaired because they were a little sagging

The body was weak and it had to be strengthened by putting a steel bar on top of the front shock absorbers.

General Comments:

This car is very fast it runs like hell even when the engine was in need for rebuild

Also the car stability is very good. it stuck to the ground.

The engine spare parts are available as they are standard fiat parts although some accessories are hard to find like the lights switches which you have to buy used.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2006

1979 Fiat Ritmo 65CL 1.5 from Egypt

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Previous carFiat 128

Summary:

It is a good car, but it is not designed for bad roads

Faults:

The Body work has become weak.

The shock absorbers leaked oil.

The gearbox makes strange sounds.

General Comments:

This car is fast even when the engine is in need for rebuild the stability is fine to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2006

1983 Fiat Ritmo CL 1.3 from Egypt

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Cressida

Summary:

Is there any car worse?

Faults:

Every thing gone wrong with the car, LETTERLY!

First thing the motor was producing enormous white fumes, I changed the pistons and the rings.

Then After one month, the motor was running on three pistons because one pipe broke and it produced fumes worst than before from every where (even from the radiator).I throw the engine in the garbage and installed a 1.6 lancia motor, it's running very well till now :)

I changed the battery 3 times, the contact switch 5 times, brake pads 2 times, gear box, clutch, dash board with meters 1 time.

Not to mention Rust every where made the body of the car so weak that the spacing between axes of the 2 wheels increased 2cm and made the transmission gear not attached to wheels.

General Comments:

A very DANGEROUS car.once, the wheel actually detached from the car while I was driving because the 4 holes for screws were rusted, Thanks god I was driving at 30km/hr.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th July, 2006

4th Nov 2006, 13:00

A 21 year old Fiat that's rusted out?

Fancy that.

1983 Fiat Ritmo 1.5 petrol from Egypt

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres

Summary:

Very good nice car

Faults:

I renewed the engine, installing new pistons.

List of electrical problems, lights...

Changed disc brakes of the front wheel.

General Comments:

I love this car - reliable, fast on the road, economical (33mpg on the highway), 75hp.

The seats are very comfortable - the previous owner changed them.

The metallic blue of this model is very nice

I drive 150 km every day and the car never fails on the road

I am a mechanical engineer and I well keep it until it turns to dust, and it will not.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2006

11th Mar 2007, 06:45

Could you please advice me about

Where I can buy left and right mirrors.

1987 Fiat Ritmo abarth 130 tc 2.0 aspirato gasoline from italy

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 2.0 aspirato gasoline Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

Reliable and fast

Faults:

Some problems at the posterior lights due to humidity.

Rubbers rings on the sospensions. (Not big deal)

General Comments:

Funny car to drive if is in good shape.

Lot of torque already from low revs.

Rigid and nice to drive, a little nervous with the posterior if driven at the limit.

Still aggressive in the 1995.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2004

1984 Fiat Ritmo 105 TC 1.6 DOHC from Croatia

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired215000 kilometres
Most recent distance233000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 33

Summary:

Gotta love this car to own it. And I did

Faults:

I bought the car at an unbelievably cheap price considering the fact that the body was completely restored and painted in a beautiful sky blue metallic. However, the engine was shot.

I rebuilt the engine, bored and polished the head, put Alquatti cams on it, larger carb etc.

I also converted the brakes - front to vented discs, rear from drums to discs.

After this the only problem I had was with the poor front suspension - the engine easily overpowered it and in corners it was oversteering like crazy even though it was stiff as heck.

The seats were awful, and build quality was less than desirable, even taking everything into account.

General Comments:

Very good fun to drive, at that time the best car I could have.

With the applied mods it was a real purist car - loud, stiff, quick, but not easy to drive in everyday city traffic.

It accelerated like a bat out of hell (I took many smiles off the faces of GTI, GSI, S16, HGT and other wannabe racers' drivers), top speed was limited by the short ratio gearbox (210 km/h at 7300 RPM).

However, the consumption was horrendous for my tiny student budget - in the city 12 - 16 l/100 km, on the open road - 9 - 12.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2001

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews