2004 Fiat Stilo Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2004 Fiat Stilo Active 16 valve 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Great concept... problematic execution

Faults:

This car has developed a grating / rattly sound which goes away when the either the clutch is depressed, or 6th gear engaged. The sound varies in intensity from VERY LOUD to relatively muted. At its loudest, the noise coming from the gearbox attracts a considerable audience. Their seems to be an increasing problem in gear selection... especially 4th gear and reverse. This problem has been insidious in its development... early symptoms being ignored as a possible loose exhaust flange. This car has still 5 days left to go under warranty. If anyone has any helpful comments or tips I would be glad to hear them as a matter of urgency.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th May, 2006

16th May 2006, 00:52

I think your car needs a new gearbox, My Brava have had a problem similar to this one and the dealer discovered that there is a broken tooth in of the gears in the gearbox. I guess you must take an immediate action before the warranty in over. Good luck.

16th May 2006, 01:16

Gearbox whine in all gears (except the 6th gear) : It should be a bearing go see your dealer NOW.

11th Aug 2006, 10:02

There should not be any problem with a recon 'box, as they're are actually quite simple devices. As long as the synchromesh and bearing components have been replaced and the gears etc checked for defects, then it'll effectively be like new.

I'd be interested to hear how your getting on with it.

2004 Fiat Stilo multiwagon dynamic 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

30,000 reliable miles in a year what more do you want?

Faults:

Some paint chips on sills.

General Comments:

This car is excellent in most respects.

For a biggish estate it handles well. Fuel economy is awesome 55 mpg.

Interior very classy, in two tone black/cream leather.

I don't understand why people are afraid of Fiat.

Buy a diesel one and you won't beat it for value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2005

2004 Fiat Stilo Dynamic 1.9 JTD from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 JTD Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance18200 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

Love it to bit, just bought another one!

Faults:

Engine fault warning lights came on at 13k, dealer said it's fine, and they would reset at the next service.

Had problems with front door locks not unlocking on both front doors at 700 miles. Took 3 attempts for the dealer to sort.

Required front tyres at 16500 miles.

General Comments:

I have an 2004 JTD Multi-wagon Dynamic with 18k miles (doesn't burn oil). Full kit including leather.

Tows a big Hobby caravan, but must be careful with nose weight (look for max 50kg's).

Love it to bits, and just traded for the same again; take delivery next week.

Dealer allowing me to swap my MP3, CD stack, roof bars, 4 mud flaps, tow-bar and front window deflectors over, so saves on the cost of options.

Nice to see cruise control is now standard, as is split tailgate again.

I've dropped the leather, as I only had it so the back seats would slide & recline, but now this is also standard on cloth seats (needed this option as I have a hydraulic hoist to lift in an electric wheelchair).

Managed to get 25% off RRP as well.

Great car, above average dealer, recommended.

Previous car Subaru 2.5 AWD Auto. estate. A different class of car, but I love the Stilo MW as much, and it tows on motorway with as much torque.

Also look out for new Stilo II model end of 2006-2007.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2005

2004 Fiat Stilo Active Aircon 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance300 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 147

Summary:

A well equipped car with stylish Italian flair available with great discounts available

Faults:

I have owned the car for 2 weeks and after reading various bad reviews, I actually find the car to be fantastic and I am well satisfied. The only thing to go wrong so far is a bulge appearing the front offside tyre and that can't be Fiat's fault!

General Comments:

A very stylish car. Others say it is not "rounded" enough. Look at the detailing- It's Italian through and through.

For a 1.4, it is surprisingly nimble, but then it does have the equivalent power to a 1.6 Ford Focus!

Seats are very comfortable, stereo is better than my previous Alfa! There isn't much pedal room though and the car lacks a clutch rest.

In basic Active Aircon form I get a CD changer, 6 airbags, ABS, EBD, stylish looks, great sounding engine- what more could you want.

OK- build quality throughout is not fantastic, but it is on a similar level to a previous Ford Focus- Ford are just better at hiding the faults!

It's not as quick as my Alfa, but it's every bit as stylish and as fun to drive- luckily my 2004 version has had all the faults ironed out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2004

26th Jul 2004, 09:44

Having just brought a 3 month old 1.4 Active Air Con, all I can say so far is it's fantastic! It's very comparable in both speeds and handling to a 1.6 Focus, but has stacks of gadgets. A Great Car.

28th Oct 2004, 16:07

I have had my Fiat Stilo for almost 2 years. In that time I have covered 15K miles. I have just had it serviced and been informed that I needed 2 new front tyres. I was made aware that they needed changing ASAP as they were bald on the inside due to the TOE being out. Fiat, I was told, are aware that the Stilo wears tyres on the inside and has asked its dealers keep an eye out for cars showing this problem. When I went to purchase the new tyres, The mechanic told me that it wasn't the tracking that was out as was suggested by the dealer, but that the camber was out by quite a degree. He showed me the tyres and while there is still plenty of tread left on the tyres themsleves, the wall edge has worn down so much the steel cords running through them are showing, a classic and symptomatic sign of camber problems, that adjusting the TOE will not fix. I have the 16V Dynamic 1600 3 Door version with a tyre size of 205/55 R 16 91V. Has anyone else been made aware of this or has noticed excessive wear?... or can anyone advise?

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 10 reviews