1989 Fiat Uno Reviews

1989 Fiat Uno 45 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles

Summary:

A Good Old Friend

Faults:

Brake drums.

Brake pads.

One shock absorber.

Pipe going to the rear window that squirts water onto the back window.

One door lock; that's it.

In two years I am happy with that.

General Comments:

This car was my first car. I went everywhere in it.

The car was very good on fuel.

Went straight though the MOTs.

I liked how you could get so many things in it. The car was a bit of a box shape. Lower the back seats, then it was like mini van. I got a fridge in it once.

The Fiat Uno did not like the motorway.

I knew it was only a little engine with a four gears. She never broke down.

Good old car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th August, 2008

16th Aug 2008, 17:16

Nice to hear that a cheap banger was so reliable & workmanlike. It may be a hard act to follow in terms of costs...

31st Aug 2008, 07:28

16th Aug 2008, 17:16.

Your right I only paid £250 for it two years ago.

1989 Fiat Uno FIRE 1.0 from Finland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance144000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 340

Summary:

Cheap to drive, but otherwise unsatisfying car

Faults:

The motor worked very unreliably, in cold conditions and when driving over 100 km/h it coughed.

Rear window cleaner stopped working.

Front window had cracks.

Bad balance, heavy front and light rear, when slippery, the rear part of the car is in danger of rotation.

General Comments:

The car needs whole time driving and correcting the direction.

Base is very hard, all the holes in road feel inside.

There is no noise insulation.

Warming system is quite bad in Finnish winter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th December, 2005

18th Dec 2005, 16:13

A 1989 Fiat Uno costs very little, what do you expect? Just look at it as a fun car that is very cheap to run and good fun without the risk of killing yourself in that nasty bend.

1989 Fiat Uno 45S Elaganza 999 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 999 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles

Summary:

Reliable, Cheap and cheerful

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with my "new" car are:

The areal came off when I was trying to adjust it (That's where I found the only rust on the car)

The choke broke today whilst my younger brother was trying to figure out how it works.

General Comments:

Great car I like it.

All it needs is a new radio and a sound system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2005

1989 Fiat Uno 45 Fire 999 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 999 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4500 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carFord Cortina

Summary:

UNOs are great as long as they are maintained and not abused

Faults:

I had a gearbox problem at 60,000 and a broken selector at 160,000.

I have replaced the front discs three times, the front brakes, front struts and the bearings all round.

I have replaced the head gasket and the exhaust four times.

The drivers seat is now very worn.

The main lights are poor.

General Comments:

The above items have been acceptable to me as normal wear and tear, considering my car has done 190,000 miles.

It is used daily and has never let me down and left me stranded. Even with a blown head gasket, it still kept going.

The seats come out easily and because of this I have been able to get long pieces of timber in and some very heavy loads.

The car is easy to work on; the front brakes are well designed and come off very easily. Likewise, the binnacle containing the light switches etc. has been well thought out (though not necessarily very attractive to look at), and is ergonomically very easy to use without taking ones hands off the steering wheel.

It goes everywhere quickly, never returns less than fifty miles to the gallon and is a pleasure to drive.

Insurance is cheap, parts are cheap, but the best bit of all is the fantastic engine which just continues to storm along.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2003

1989 Fiat Uno 45 fire 999cc from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 999cc Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

A cool little Italian stallion

Faults:

A faulty connection to the starter motor, causing the engine not to start.

Faulty connections to the electric fan, which caused the engine to overheat.

Head Gasket started leaking at 92000 miles, so was replaced.

Rear indicators sometimes don't work, but then fix themselves.

Front brake Calipers Seized, was easily fixed by soaking them in WD40.

Windscreen wiper motor gave up, replaced by one from the scrap yard cheaply.

Rear screen washer has never worked.

The car has rust on the drivers door and around the sunroof.

General Comments:

Compared with my last car, this car is very similar, but seems to be less reliable. However, most things that go wrong are very easy to fix. Apart from a very small amount of rust, the car seems to have survived very well for its age.

The engine itself is great for the size, it screams away from traffic lights and loves to rev. It also seems quite robust, as apart from the leaking gasket I have never had problems with the engine. The high mileage doesn't seem to have affected it's performance either.

The car also seems to be well designed, with plenty of room for both front and rear seat passengers.

The car is ideal for a student or as a first car as it is cheap to run and insure, while being quite nippy and fairly reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2003

24th Mar 2007, 06:44

I just want to say that your comments what went wrong with the car are so funny and so true (except the rust in my case). I'm a student from Croatia and I own Uno from the same series. Rear indicators (which are so unreliable that I added an additional LED indicator for the brakes in the middle), windscreen wiper motor (fixed, but the third speed doesn't work), leaking head gasket (so, you say I should replace it)... but also the clutch wire broke up; Twice. Oh yes, the third gear on the gearbox... it makes this strange noise if you are not very careful when changing into it.

The car is, however, a great investment for a student. I payed it ~500 quids. It very roomy and accessible. You can basically fix everything yourself. Motor is still in a good condition (190000km) and consumes very little oil. I'm thinking of using Ceramic Power Liquid while it's still in that good condition, the next time I change oil... but my father is so sceptic about this technology. I think I'll take my chances anyways and even take a bet with him...

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 19 reviews