1989 Fiat Uno Turbo 1.3 turbo from UK and Ireland


Top Fun


I`ve had 4 Uno Turbo`s all have blown gearboxes, probably due to my driving.

General Comments:

Don`t believe car magazines, as a standard car it is quicker than GT Turbo`s Really Slow Turbo`s (Escort R.S.Turbo`s) and just about every other small hot hatch out there, what a car, mind you coupled with that engine and rubbish handling at first what a joy in the wet, best you wear brown cord trousers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2002

1989 Fiat Uno 60S 1.1 from Finland


A horrible excuse of a car


Brakes dragged all the time, nothing helped.

Constant problems with the lights.

Clutch smoked.

The car leaked and burned oil.

Gearbox made awful cracking noises.

Carburetor broke down at 145000.

The car started shaking violently at 148000.

The right side mirror fell off at 148500.

The clutch finally broke down at 149000.

General Comments:

I got the Uno from my parents. It was extremely slow, very uncomfortable, noisy and dangerous to drive as the brakes sometimes failed to work properly. It was completely rust-free, but otherwise it was a piece of crap. When the clutch finally broke down I was happy to get rid of the so-called car.

The fuel economy was horrible: the Uno ate 8-12 liters per 100 km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th February, 2002

5th Feb 2002, 11:34

What do you expect from a car which has done 132000 kms?

1st May 2008, 19:41

I was just thinking that god its (only, a town car anyway.

I had a fiat uno.

It was OK to get A to B in but if you take it on the motorway they don't like it but what do you expert for this sizes of engine.

Good first car.

1989 Fiat Uno 45 0.9 from UK and Ireland


Cheap car, useful for learners. Not too much to worry about


Back door lock jammed / key stuck in it.

Can't open the boot from the outside now.

Front squirter tube fell off and squirted onto the ignition coil until I put it back on.

Ash tray (both back and front) have and often fall off, given up on them now.

Tick-over stalled the car the first few days I had it, after driving fixed it itself.

Driver's door doesn't activate the interior light.

General Comments:

Like the other review I read on this site, this car is actually quite a good drive. I prefer it to the car I learnt in.

Generally pleased, not sure if I'm going to trust it on a 300 mile journey this weekend, it will be a test though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st January, 2002

1989 Fiat Uno IE 1.3 turbo from UK and Ireland


This is how to beat the traffic


The thermostat that goes onto the engine malfunctioned, causing me to blow my head gasket and warp my head.

New timing belt, due to a service.

A few other minor things have gone wrong with it. All within 2 months of ownership.

General Comments:

This car is phenomenally fast.

I leave most cars standing at the grid (TRAFFIC LIGHTS).

I love Fiat Uno's, especially this one, bright red uprated turbo.

Full matching trim.

I'm just installing a PC into it as my In Car Entertainment.

It only cost 1k, but well worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2002

1989 Fiat Uno 45 Fire 1.0 from UK and Ireland


Great value for money


The car was stolen and the starter motor was burned out.

The driver side indicator has never worked properly, but apart from that it's great.

General Comments:

It's very cheap to run.

Brakes are a bit temperamental.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2001

1989 Fiat Uno Turbo I.E. 1.3 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland


A pocket rocket for pocket money!


The only major thing to go wrong was the turbo unit at 102,000 miles. However I didn't think this too bad for the mileage it has done and the abuse I have been giving it. Otherwise it is still going strong in all departments.

General Comments:

Has been an excellent car with no real problems. If looked after with regular servicing would give several years of good motoring. Cheap to run and for a small car quite roomy inside.

Suspension a little hard and does let go at the back if pushed.

Engine pulls very well from low revs with good torque - very noticeable on the motorway in fifth and extremely rapid from a standing start. Would embarrass the bigger boys!

Overall I can't complain and I would definitely buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2001