1991 Fiat Uno Reviews

1991 Fiat Uno 45 S 1.0 petrol from Portugal

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance89000 kilometres

Summary:

It's an excellent first car!

Faults:

I was the second owner of this car and when I bought it the clutch was very worn out with only 60000km, still it lasted another 10000km with me then I've changed it.

Stuck thermostat and hence overheating, but was quickly replaced and no harm done to the engine.

General Comments:

I love this car. It's not the fastest one around, but I just love driving it. Maybe it's because it was my first car. It's very cheap to run and the Fiat Fire engine works great and has that typical Italian noise that makes you press that gas pedal. But it's very quiet on the inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2005

1991 Fiat Uno 45 999cc FIRE from Belgium

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 999cc FIRE Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres

Summary:

Fun car for beginners!

Faults:

I can't remember when, but I know the head gasket has gone, probably some 5-7 years ago.

At about 120.000 Km the gearbox had to be changed.

The rear window washer and the inside ventilator don't work, but who needs that?!

That is really it for the mechanical parts.

Last year we had to let it weld at the bottom, and I also have a rust hole at the top of the drivers door (don't know why)

General Comments:

Love the car.

It makes you think you're going at least 120 km/u when you're actually doing 60!

I also appreciate the spongy suspension, for my own safety. The car warns me soon enough when I'm going a bit to crazy, but the car is playing a bit too much on safe.

Stiffer suspension and wider tires would be perfect, since I only have a 135 tyre...

The power is very good considering other 1000cc's I've driven, but would it be possible to put a 16V head from a 1200cc punto onto the FIRE block? I think the block itself is still the same.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2004

1991 Fiat Uno 45ie 1.0 from Sweden

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 760

Summary:

The best car for anyone who wants to save money

Faults:

I had to change many parts after about

10.000 kilometers. for example the exhaust, the alternator, the clutch, but that is normal after 10.000 km for any car.

Since then it has just been running and running without any problems at all.

General Comments:

It's a great car

I Love it.

Cheap in owning and cheap spare parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2004

1991 Fiat Uno 60 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65169 miles
Most recent distance91049 miles

Summary:

SWEET!

Faults:

Drive shaft on left hand side leaking at 80,000 miles.

Altenator belt needs replacing often, hard to find the right size.

Gearbox shake in reverse.

General Comments:

Good handling, no power steering, but no trouble with tight corners, good speed and exelaration (when warm!) Seats very comfortable, great for long distances or just nipping to the shop. At 60 miles to the gallon on long trips it's a great car. It's my first car and I love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th June, 2002

17th Nov 2002, 06:54

Fiat Uno 60 is a very good car, cheap spare parts and easy to repair... very simple under the bonnet. I bought a 1987 model 10 years ago and it's still going strong. It's true that the rear shock absorbers are troublesome and that the left hand bellows has to be changed often. Timing belt also need to be checked often. Mine broke and I had to change all valves and fix a seating. Service is easily made, even the spark plugs need no special setting. The carburettor is also very reliable and can be easily set just by hearing the engine idling. Earthing also need to be cleaned every now and then... but for the rest just formidable.

1991 Fiat Uno Formula 0.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 0.9 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles

Summary:

Economy and affordability in one little package

Faults:

You name it, it happened. In the past 2 years we have replaced almost everything in the engine from head gasket to brake servo to the little things like rotor arms. Heck, we even replaced the dipstick two months ago.

Tiny amount of rust starting to form on one wheel arch, but nothing serious yet.

General Comments:

The car ran fine for 2 years and then virtually fell apart around me.

Considering this car only has 903cc's of power, it goes. I have been told it moved like 1.4.

Ideal first car. Simple, cheap (when not coming apart at the joins) and depending on mood, can be nice to drive.

Fold down the back seats and you have your very own little tardis.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2002

6th Sep 2005, 06:15

I totally agree that if you fold the seats down this car is a little Tardis. I have carried washing machines, wide screen TV's etc with absolute ease - quite amazing really!

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 10 reviews