1991 Fiat Uno Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1991 Fiat Uno Formula 91 0.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.9 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance69500 miles
Previous carHolden HQ

Summary:

Good little blatter for round town

Faults:

Fuel blockage (due to rust in the tank) at 63000 miles.

Body very rusty, door frames, wheel arches, sills.

Manual wing mirror controls are broken and seized.

General Comments:

Actually a very nice little car despite its inherent problems (rust!).

Handles well, had three large passengers and gear on a 500 mile trip to Cornwall and blatted along at 120kph most of the way (until the fuel blockage!).

Interior is very basic, but acceptable for a car of this age.

Runs on the smell of an oily rag! Used less than 2 tanks of fuel for the entire return journey of more than 500 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th September, 2001

1991 Fiat Uno Turbo i.e. mk2 1.4 petrol turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carcitroen AX GT

Summary:

Fast, furious and frighteningly fun

Faults:

Small oil leak from around the bolts in the rocker cover, solved with some copper washers.

It's well known that the older model Fiats are prone to rusting and sadly this is also the case with the Uno. Knowing the previous owner I knew the car had always been cared for though this has only reduced the pace at which the rust has formed and slowly spread.

General Comments:

I was impressed with the sporty yet subtle looks of the car before buying.

After a short while you realize that certainly the most impressive aspect of the car is its frighteningly powerful engine and equally grin-forming acceleration. In the hands of an experienced driver this can be an extremely quick point to point sports car.

Like Redline magazine said: "It may not have Ferrari looks, but if you can leave an RS Turbo in your dust who gives a ****!"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2001

8th Dec 2002, 13:41

Yeah you are fine in a straight line, but you might find that the RS Turbo flies past you when it comes to a corner. I know which I would rather have - The RS Turbo.

27th Feb 2003, 10:25

I owned an Uno Turbo MK2 for 3 years, worst and best car I owned, most of the problems with it were due to it's impressive power, it used to eat wheel bearings, Cv's and basically anything that went from the engine to the road. However, you may say thjat the RS turbo beats it on handling, but it would not have beaten mine, it had lowered Avo shocks and dampers and felt like a go kart in terms of handling. If you want a cheap, common and underpowered car go for the RS. If you want to kick some butt, get an Uno Turbo... They Rule.

27th Jan 2005, 12:52

Been thinking of buying an Uno turbo... u just made my mind up! faster than an RS and rarer.

Cheers!!!

15th Dec 2006, 05:29

Why do so many people compare their modified car to a standard one. Someone said their Uno handles well NOW ITS GOT Avo coilovers etc. Put them on an RS Turbo S1 and you've lost again. The RST's chassis was developed with Motosport in mind. Doesn't't the Uno Turbo have a carb instead of fuel injection?? And a 1.4 engine?? If that's right then a tuned RST wins all round.

1991 Fiat Uno 45S 1.0 from Portugal

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

Cheap, friendly, good car to learn driving in

Faults:

Almost everything went wrong except the engine that keeps on running.

I changed the gearbox bearings, changed the clutch, put in a new carburettor, reviewed all the high voltage parts, spark plugs, etc.

Water infiltration, oil consumption, brake problems and corrosion are usual with every Fiat Uno I have seen.

The steering requires periodical checking for safety.

General Comments:

The mechanics of the car are surely well designed, otherwise the engine wouldn't have been on the market for 15 years. However, the car requires permanent care, and given the rather simple structure and devices involved, it is recommended for young people who wish to gain some insight in the area.

Petrol consumption is easy to be keet low if some care is taken with cleaning the carburettor once in a while.

The car's dynamics are awful, the chassis bends all over itself under the slightest demand, and reveals itself very soft in the case of a crash. Much care must be taken when driving!!

Humidity really affects the car, both in the electricals and upholstery.

The car is ideal for city driving, and doesn't mind an occasional stroll to the countryside, however, I wouldn't pass the 60 mph cruising speed. Call me a sissy if you wish!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th December, 2000

30th Jul 2001, 13:52

You are a sissy, my Uno gets to 90mph easy. I used it to Glasgow, London, Leeds, Manchester, Birmingham and Liverpool at different times and it still moves like a baby. Although the brakes are temperamental.

18th Nov 2002, 20:15

I've had my little Uno 45s for over 3 years, I learned to drive in it, I've been all over the country in it, and it just keeps on going, slowly, but it keeps going. It certainly doesn't like the cold weather, and I've spent more than its worth in getting it through MOT's. the gear box rattles and is sloppy as hell, and there's a loosing battle with rust going on. But I love it, its been there with me through the best years of my life, and I'll be sorry to see it go. But come the summer, I'll have my dream car A FORD CAPRI!!! Why do I get a slightly queasy feeling in my stomach when I say that? Ah well. "the only true dreams, are the dreams of a fool."

1991 Fiat Uno Fire 45 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired670000 miles
Most recent distance670000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

Great........

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Very good car though don't expect her to start within the first 3 times while it's cold...... only bad point with it really....

I must say I love mine... except for the little, sad stickers on it... the little shapes... speaking of which, if any one knows any ways of getting them off without damaging the car please mail me at josh_walden@yahoo.com

Thanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2000

1991 Fiat Uno 45 Fire 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Only clutch at 40,000 miles, 1 new battery, a complete exhaust system, and routine servicing.

General Comments:

A very fine cheap runabout, with exceptional galvanised bodywork.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 1999

9th Sep 2004, 17:22

I have to agree although I'm not too sure about the "Galvanised" bodywork though...

If getting from point A to point B is all you need. Then this is the car. I've owned several Fiat's. It may lack the "brio" of the earlier models like 124's & 125's, but it is one of the Turin giants best cars. Totally reliable and economical. My only gripe about it is it needs an extra gear, especially if your commuting along the motorway.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 10 reviews