1993 Fiat Uno Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1993 Fiat Uno i.e 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Brilliant!

Faults:

Nothing! Bought it off my Mum who had owned it since new, but no longer needed a car.

Replaced a head-lamp, but that was due to a small knock. They only sell the complete unit!!

Sold it back to her when I found another car as she didn't want me to sell it to someone else.

General Comments:

I can't believe nothing went wrong in 6 months! I don't drive slowly either.

These cars are seriously quick for their size and capacity - I very much enjoyed blasting many 1.1 Fiestas into the distance!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

1993 Fiat Uno 60 S 1.1 petrol from Israel

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Uno 45

Summary:

Great cheapie

Faults:

Passenger seat got caught at the back of the runner when cleaning the car. Very awkward to release.

When it came to sell the car, the top part of the cam belt cover was missing. Belt had been changed 4000 km previously. Garage insisted they couldn't have forgotten to replace it after the change.

General Comments:

Moves along decently if revs are used.

Felt amazingly solid despite its age (though I have driven other Unos from similar vintages which rattled and hummed terribly). It must have been well kept previously.

Average fuel consumption: 15 km/litre.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2000

1993 Fiat Uno Turbo ie 1.4 turbo from Chile

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 1.4 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 kilometres
Most recent distance65000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Uno 1.6R (of Brazil)

Summary:

An Italian miracle, fastest for the money paid

Faults:

Read the cars modifications and driving first.

* Surprisingly the clutch survived up to 44.000 kms.

* Electronic gas pump died twice: Once at 40.000 kms. and at 60.000 kms. (previous owner had the same problem at 20.000). I imagine the "over" chip had something to do with it.

* Front seats (driver) started to have problems (loosing strength) at 40.000 kms (other friend had the same problem).

* Gas mileage was steady 7.5 kms/liter, not bad for the speed.

General Comments:

This car had some modifications such as:

1. Over chip for the turbo.

2. Eibach rear suspension.

3. 6200 rpm limit was changed up to 7500 rpm. (in 3rd. 100 miles/hr (160kms/hr).

4. Front brake disc larger and vented.

5. Ansa tail. Momo 14 with Falken tires (175/60/14).

I went up to 235 kms/hr a couple times and several over 200. (225 on flat highway) 6.2-7.2 range for 0-100 kms/hr. I did run this car with any who wanted to. I was beat up only once by a Porsche 911 Turbo.

I paid USA$10800, and it was worthy every penny. I think I'll never I'll find a car like that one. So far all Fiat Turbos in my area have passed away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2000

1993 Fiat Uno 45 Fire IE 1.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0i Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Top value, easy to drive, cheap to own

Faults:

Only a distributor cap has caused problems, fixed at a very reasonable price. No other problems so far...

General Comments:

Don't buy a Nova or a Fiesta. Be different and buy one of these.

1.0 engine feels quick and will return over 60 mpg.

Interior looks modern and well put together.

Easy to maintain, cheap to insure, fun to drive. Mega low running costs.

Looks decent from most angles. Very basic inside - no rev counter, clock, cigarette lighter, sunroof etc, but has more character than more mainstream offerings.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2000

1993 Fiat Uno Turbo i.e 1.4 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles

Summary:

A bullet on wheels to match the big guns

Faults:

- Slight rust on the wheel arches.

- Head gasket.

- Sump gasket.

- Oil pressure switch.

All easily fixed!

General Comments:

This car is a bullet on wheels. Put your foot down, and this thing accelerates until you get scared and have to lift off - amazing performance!

The trim levels, and overall extras you get with this model are much improved from the standard Uno specs, and problems with the car have been minimal.

The car's original handling was not brilliant, but a set of lowering springs sorted that out, and it sticks to the road like glue now!

Brakes could be better, but for original spec, they ain't bad at all - a stunning car - I love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2000

14th Jan 2001, 12:02

I've heard only good things about Uno Turbo's. I'm going to buy one in March this year (2001). I've found a mint dark red one (smart).

One of my mates has come up with the most fitting and affectionate terms for an Uno Turbo:

It's basically a coffin on wheels.

Nik820@yahoo.com

26th Oct 2001, 06:00

I've got a 98 model Uno turbo, which I've had for a number of years now. A bigger turbo, bigger intercooler, fuel enrichment injector, cockpit control boost system & head was worked on. I've wasted numerous cars like M3's, Civic turbo's, rotary vehicles and even Porche's. I've had zero problems with my Uno except for oil seals, gaskets & minor related problems. I wouldn't ever want another car. Kickass vehicles!!!

1993 Fiat Uno i.e. 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

Owned from 9k old (7 months). Absolutely nothing until 68k, when the exhaust went! At 75k, the water pump blew and cracked the cylinder head (£570!) about 4 months ago. Now on 85k miles and have spent some money on unblocking the Lambda sensor for the 'cat' - still seems okay. Running like a dream.

General Comments:

All the power is in the wrong place - starts to be quick at about 4000 rpm - useless for a town car, but nice at 75+ on a motorway! Excellent reliability - very pleased.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 1999

4th Apr 2003, 05:40

Sister is now using the car. It now has 108k on the clock and the only thing to happen in the past 3 years was that the rear box went!

1993 Fiat Uno 1.0 ie petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.0 ie petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10

Faults:

Very little - idle speed needed altering.

Courtesy light bulb replaced.

Tiny oil leak near to fuel pump.

General Comments:

Excellent - starts first time, just a bit sluggish, am looking to upgrade to a 1.2 engined Punto next.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 1998

1993 Fiat Uno 1.1 i.e.S 1.1 unleaded petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.1 unleaded petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

Catalytic converter (common problem on this model).

Battery failed once.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 1998

1993 Fiat Uno 1.1ies petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.1ies petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10

Faults:

30,000 Head Gasket.

35,000 Exhaust.

38,000 Horn & electrics on lights.

General Comments:

Second Fiat I have had; first ran like a dream for years whereas this one seems to be having problems. Rare to find a good servicing Fiat garage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th January, 1998

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 24 reviews