1991 Ford Aerostar Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1991 Ford Aerostar XLT 4.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 miles
Most recent distance186000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A comfortable vehicle for the price

Faults:

Bad shaking in the front end due to worn bushings.

Sometimes the key is hard to turn in the door, it takes two hands sometimes.

The power steering pump and hoses had to be replaced as soon as I purchased the van.

General Comments:

The van is easy to drive and not to cumbersome in tight parking lots.

It has all of the amenities of a newer model vehicle.

I was surprised that everything still worked on it like p/w, pdl, cruise, rear wiper, adjustable air lumbar, rear defroster, it has been very dependable considering I only paid $500.00 for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2002

1991 Ford Aerostar XLT 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired164400 kilometres
Most recent distance187000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Grand Voyager

Summary:

Great deal for a lot of van

Faults:

The only problems I have experienced were, the upper control arm bushings on the passenger side of the vehicle had to be replaced. The back tires on the van wear out fast due to the light back end and the loads of tourque the 4.0 l produces.

General Comments:

The van rides decent, but has a lot of body roll in turns. The 4.0 l engine is excellent on gas as I get anywhere from 550 to 650 kilometers to a tank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2002

1991 Ford Aerostar Sport Van 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Faults:

No mechanical problems.

I love this van it run's better than any vehicle I have ever had.

I would recommend this vehicle to anyone out there.

The most expensive work I had done on my Aerostar was new tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2002

1991 Ford Aerostar Extended XLT 4.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88345 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

For a cheap used vehicle, you can't go wrong

Faults:

So far this car has had no problems.

This car has full service records, all oil changes have been done at Wal-Mart Quick Lube (dubious quality?)

The tires have been replaced with Motomaster Touring tires (130 000km warranty) by the previous owner at 75 000km.

The micro-v belt has been replaced.

So far only one oil change, and fog lamps installed by us.

General Comments:

The 4.0L engine is relatively economical for such a large vehicle. This vehicle is not quick, but it isn't slow either.

The rear cargo hold, has more then adequate room for our 130lb dog.

The radio controls are small, but sound quality is good for a factory system.

Compared to our 2000 Astro this vehicle drives better, has more headroom, firmer seats, more cargo room, less cargo width. The Astro has a better gauge design, but the Aerostar has more interior room, and is safer (example: sliding door mechanism is concealed in roof, not exposed).

This vehicle still looks new, even being purchased used as a secondary minivan. We hope to get many years of service out of it yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th April, 2001

1991 Ford Aerostar XL 4.0L V6 - 4 Wheel Drive from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.0L V6 - 4 Wheel Drive Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Faults:

Transmission died at 58,000 miles.

Back brakes saturated with oil, both front and back rotors/drums warped.

Battery died.

Alternator died and was replaced.

Faulty wiring, which caused fires was fixed at the dealer's cost - a recall.

Roaring sound above 55MPH.

Screws that hold the inside together came loose, causing rattling noises.

Just this year in August, the van mysteriously caught on fire while parked at a summer residence. We think the problem started in the blower motor, which is negatively switched. The fire under the rood broke through the firewall in about 5 minutes, and the whole van burnt up and melted into nothing. So much for the firewall. A 40 LB fire extinguisher was emptied into the hood, but did no good. The firemen also dumped thousands of gallons on it, which only prevented the gas tank from exploding. Pictures of this incident can be seen at:

http://www.angelfire.com/ny/telecardsmain/van.htm

General Comments:

I would *NOT* recommend that anyone purchase one of these vans. The transmissions always fail on Aerostars, and the car is unsafe, with poor frontal crash tests.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th October, 2000

1st Mar 2003, 12:39

I have 2 Ford Aerostar cargo vans that I use as delivery vans for my business and they are great never had a problem at all. one is a 1995 with 75,000 miles on it and the other is a 1997 with 218,000 miles on it. When my business grows I will have more aerostar cargo vans because they work out great. they are great on gas and are very low maintnence with the exception of the occasional oil change and standard maintnence. these cargo vans are hard to find so if you find one you better scoop it up or you will be sorry.

1st Jun 2003, 12:51

I have had my Aerostar for 6 years. The only real repair I have had to do is a Battery. I have driven this vehicle from FL to ND 4 times, straight through, it is very comfortable & roomy. I now live in ND and it is a great in snow, it is only a 2wd. I have done 1 major tune up, plugs & wires, which is normal maintenance, I think. I change oil every 4000 miles with no usage.

1st Dec 2003, 16:10

Wow. our same van suffered the same fate last night.. melted into nothing, but a burnt shell by a mysterious fire...

5th Aug 2004, 19:43

I bought a 91 extended new and sold it to a friend at 105000. He just sent me a photo of the odo turning 200,000 miles. Same 4.0 engine and same trans! Now, that is good service. Of course, it was always maintained well. Regular oil and transmission services.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 11 reviews