1997 Ford Aerostar XLT 4.0L V6 from North America

Summary:

A super family vehicle

Faults:

Only thing to date has been a vibration of the air filter & hose in high humidity (35C +).

Might be blower motor.

Love to hear if anyone else has had a similar problem!

Also, have not been able to find out if the engine is equipped with a timing belt or timing chain.

Once again, any info would be appreciated.

General Comments:

Love the comfort, ride and performance.

It's got great power and seats my family very comforatably.

Plus, since it's an extended van, there's plenty of room behind back seat for storage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd July, 2002

19th Oct 2002, 17:09

It has a timing chain, but they have a tensioner that can make noise. Drive on that motor will last for ever.

1st Dec 2003, 09:45

To answer the reviewer's question of a timing chain or belt.. The 4 liter and 3 liter engines use a chain. They generally last the life of the van. Still, though, they should be changed every 300000 kilometers or every 10 years..

30th Jan 2004, 23:16

Hello,

I have had the same air-filter box noise on my '97. A dealership told me quite a while back that this was due to some sort of vacuum leak, which they were unable to fix. I had an early '90's XLT that did the same thing. Both that one and my '97 are All-Wheel Drive, so not sure if this situation is limited to just those models or not.

As for the interior, I, too, have had a problem with various panel screws coming loose or falling out. They do need to be monitored from time to time and tightened accordingly.

Mine has 96XXX miles on it and I'm not the original owner. Luckily I've not had too many problems. However, my rear window washer pump will not work when it's very cold outside (appx. 30 degrees or less) ; the pump doesn't even make a sound. Had this problem on my other Aerostar as well. Didn't have checked out (yet) by a dealership.

Great van otherwise, and the AWD function is fabulous. I had a '92 Rear Wheel Drive and it, understandably, had terrible traction on wet pavement, let alone snow/ice, etc. But this is my 3rd Aerostar and I really can't see myself ever driving any other car. Too bad there's no cup holders for passengers in the rear seat (as someone else pointed out), nor is there a passenger side airbag (required for '98 models on up, which could be why Aerostar was discontinued in '97 so to avoid the additional cost/upgrade)

--Rick M.

Florissant, MO.

1997 Ford Aerostar XL 4.0 from North America

Summary:

Total piece of garbage

Faults:

The rear end went out within six months of purchase. Very obvious loss of power when the air conditioning is on. Transmission is starting to slip... I have kept services with the dealer on schedule... and am still having problems..

Rubber around windows begining to corrode.... has just been a total nightmare.. can't wait to get rid of it.. would not suggest anyone purchase this vehicle.. just my personal opinion..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th June, 2000

25th Mar 2001, 18:37

This car was obviously bought used and there is no such thing as a 1997 Ford Aerostar- I know that as a fact. Aerostars reliability varies depending on year- They are mostly good though.

19th Apr 2001, 23:43

You are so riiiight when you say there is no such thing as a 1997 Aerostar. Based on your comment, I am considering filing a notice to Ford, since both of my Aerostars are called 1997 models. I bought both of them used with about 25,000 miles in 1998 and they now have 80,000 plus and they have been excellent.

1997 Ford Aerostar XLT 4.0 V6 from North America

Summary:

Excellent value hauler for the whole family!

Faults:

Front brakes three times for rotors and new brake pads.

Clear coat flake on drivers side, Ford would only pay for partial paint.

Replaced front bearings at 85k.

General Comments:

We got rid of our extended Aerostar in february of 2000, we had a 99 Dodge Ram Quad Cab 4x4 that I have been very unhappy with, so we are trading the Dodge today for a 97 Aerostar AWD with only 34k miles on it. We loved our Aerostar for dependability, and the ability to tow a trailer or haul bulky things unlike front wheel drives can do. Can't wait to get the Aero today for my vacation!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2000

8th Apr 2003, 20:04

I have read your comments on your Aerostar Van and I found it very informative. You mentioned towing with it. I am looking for a van and I have been considering the Ford Aerostar and the Ford Windstar. With your Aerostar, how did you find it for towing. I intend to tow a trailer with a loaed weight of approx 3-4 thousand pounds. This would be a 12-14 foot cargo type trailer, 14 inch wheels with a single axle.

As you are an ownder of the Aerostar, I would appreciate your opinion.

Thanks.

Steve.

Harris.SJMM@SASKTEL.NET.

15th Apr 2004, 20:19

I would like to say that I run an airport service just out side of Boston. I have three Aerostar vans, 2 1993's and 1 1994. In total then have over 9 hundred thousand miles on them. I am currently looking for more Aerostars to add to our fleet because there is NOTHING on the market today that can come close to replacing them with.

1997 Ford Aerostar Van XLT 4.0 from North America

Faults:

Heating duct work incorrectly installed at factory. Window leak. Rear window wiper quit.

General Comments:

Have owned a 1990, 1993, 1995 & 1997 all-wheel drive Aerostars. By far the 1993 model had the fewest problems and best gas milage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th June, 1998