1984 Ford Bronco II Reviews

1984 Ford Bronco II 2.8 from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.8 Manual
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles

Summary:

Miss it..

Faults:

Put in a rebuilt engine, after the first one threw a rod..

It has an oil leak..

The fuel pump is very wet, so I will be replacing that, and the starter has gone bad twice already, so I am replacing that.

I have experienced very bad gas mileage, with the rebuilt engine. What's the problem? Feel free to email twizzted_69@yahoo.com.

General Comments:

The truck does not take hills well at all.

It stalls out some times as I hit the brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2010

1984 Ford Bronco II Base 2.8L V6 from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Want another one upon death of this one

General Comments:

I love this vehicle. I live in the mountains and get some pretty serious snow in the winter. My little Bronco never has gotten stuck.

In the summer I do some light off roading, and never had a problem in getting through wherever I wanted to go.

My only complaint is, it tends to stall in the cold, damp weather. I will definitely look for a replacement when this one dies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2008

1984 Ford Bronco II 2.8L from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.8L Automatic
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Small, but packs a punch off-road

Faults:

Nothing real serious has gone wrong with my Bronco.

When I purchased it, the transmission was horrible and had to be replaced.

The only real problem I've had with it is a leak in the gas tank, which I patched up.

General Comments:

I was surprised at the off-road capabilities of this truck. I was told by the mechanic that fixed my transmission, that I was going to have fun in it, but never thought I'd have as much fun as I have. I've driven it across the Arkansas river, gone through countless mud holes, and I've also pulled a Chevy Z-71 Silverado, Chevy S-10, and a Dodge Ram 1500 out of the mud that I had been driving through. Keep in mind my Bronco is stock height and only has A/T tires.

I am buying another one real soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2006

1984 Ford Bronco II Base 2.8 Liter V8 from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.8 Liter V8 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco II

Summary:

I love Bronco II's

Faults:

At the time I acquired the vehicle, one cylinder head was cracked, so I replaced both cylinder heads with ones I rebuilt from a salvage yard.

General Comments:

Bronco II's are some tough little SUV's. This was my first of three (obviously I like them).It was my first vehicle, purchased for a hundred and fifty dollars, needing engine work.

These trucks do not exhibit the ride quality or quietness of newer SUV's, but they have other qualities that one can respect. My Bronco II was the most manuverable vehicle I have ever driven. It also afforded the best visibility short of a convertible or motorcycle, due to the huge rear windows.

Fuel economy is good for its class when it's in proper tune (20 mpg highway.)

Power is adequate, especially for off road, but some may find it short of breath passing on the highway.

Off road, the extremely tight turning radius and flexible suspension are up to just about any journey, especially on tight trails and in the timber. My Bronco II would go places more modern SUV's could never dream of.

One must learn the handling characteristics of this vehicle before jumping out of a road friendly new car. You can't drive as fast or as hard on pavement as you can in most vehicles. These are, as the name implies, utility vehicles, and respect must be given to that fact when driving one. They will roll over, they will bounce hard on bumps at speed, if not driven with care.

If your looking for an affordable, small, manuverable, SUV with awesome off road cabability and versatility, take a look at the Bronco II.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2005

5th Feb 2005, 16:29

You listed the 2.8 as a V8, it's a V6.

1984 Ford Bronco II 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles

Summary:

I would definitely buy another one

Faults:

Overheated on the day I purchased it. Replaced the thermostat, problem is fixed.

Stalls on me when coming to a stop or when I start to accelerate.

Drove it through the snow and it handled great!

General Comments:

I really like the vehicle despite the stalling issue.

This vehicle drives nicely and handles great.

I paid 1450.00 for the truck. It has a new motor and new paint job. Everything seems to work fine except for the stalling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th March, 2004

21st Jul 2004, 00:13

Check if the accelerator pump (small lever actuated button on front of carb) is leaking. Mine was stalling like yours & replacing it did the trick. Have 195,000 Miles on it now & still bucking like a Bronco.

24th Aug 2006, 09:54

Thank you I'm gona have to check and see if mine is leaking too, slowing down almost to a stop and hittin the accelerator from a stop causes it to stall or die.

9th May 2013, 15:31

I've had two of these faithful little ponies, and if there's one sure thing about them, it's that they refuse to die as long as you don't overheat them TOO much.

Had a white 86 five speed that really went through it all. Even fell asleep through a dead end and into the bushes once. Woke up startled, started it up and drove away :)

The 84 is an automatic, which I don't exactly love, but plan on swapping a five speed in it. Blew a head once, so I replaced both. Replaced the fuel pump on the side of the road. Easy to work on, reliable and strong. Pulled out a two door Tahoe from the snow once. 4 inch lift with 30s, can't complain.

I love parking it next to my full sized 89, and I call them sisters. I would definitely buy another if I crash this one, but till then I'll just keep fixing it.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 14 reviews