1984 Ford Bronco II Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1984 Ford Bronco II 2.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8L V6 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles

Summary:

Go for the Blazer or Cherokee

Faults:

Washer fluid doesn't come out of the back.

Lights don't work on some of the instrument panels.

New spark plugs, 2 other things that cost 100 bucks each.

General Comments:

OK SUV, but doesn't really cut it on the freeway with only a 4 speed manual, 65 is your highest speed.

Also 115 hsp is ridiculous for a V6, this engine could have used a lot more power, and still only gets about 18 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2000

11th May 2001, 06:41

I have a 84, it's a bitch, but it has gotton me and my friends out of a lot of trouble. I have hit snow banks at 45mph. Still works after about 2-5 feet of air. Hit trash cans, submerged it up to the windows in mud, that is the only time it got stuck. I love it, will own it for a while.

It's been fun

It's been real

It's been real fun.

4th Jul 2008, 16:50

My first car!

I just got a Ford Bronco II 1984 standard 4 speed with all its original miles on it. I don't really have to worry about the speed, seeing how the highest speed limit in Hawaii is 55, so I'm all set there, and other than that I love the truck.

2nd Nov 2008, 08:45

I would love to have this truck, but I might not be able to, and it would be my first vehicle. My mom doesn't want to buy it because she has plans to buy my sisters white Alero Oldsmobile, but I think it's a chick car, and the Bronco would do better for me anyways, because I live on a farm where we get big drifts, but I don't know what to do.

2nd Nov 2008, 13:25

Did the thought ever occur to you to buy your own car? My parents never bought a car for me, even though they had the means to easily do so, nor did I expect them to. You should count your blessings if your mom is buying you a car, regardless of what type of car it is, and stop complaining. We have too many people in society who want something for nothing as it is.

If you want a Bronco II that badly, save up and buy one yourself. You will appreciate it a lot more, while getting a perhaps much needed taste of what it is like in the real world.

1984 Ford Bronco II XL 2.8 liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired293000 kilometres
Most recent distance310000 kilometres

Summary:

They are all around great trucks

Faults:

Well the motor is toast as expected for a high mileage vehicle.

General Comments:

I love the truck, I paid $1800 for it (Canadian dollars) and four wheeled it quite a bit, went on lots of camping trips, and have tested its strength and durability through some pretty tough stuff. I must say its a tough little truck.

Right now it is in the process of getting a newer 2.8 liter motor put in, and I plan to do a lot more work to it, eg; suspension lift, bigger tires, axle upgrades, etc....

It's a keeper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2000

1984 Ford Bronco II 2.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired142263 miles
Most recent distance163349 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

A believe it or not, strong and very very dependable 4x4

Faults:

I've taken this truck through very rigorous off road terrains, I've run over trees and other obstacles. So therefore, I bent my driveshaft and got it replaced. No blame on Ford, my mistake.

General Comments:

Low cost very dependable truck, I've pulled other vehicles out of mud hole that were twice the size of my truck. I pushed people out of snow mounds, and towed others home. I am restoring it as a reward for its loyalty. The truck is still very much alive, and is one of the few 84's remaining to my knowledge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2000

25th Jul 2001, 02:21

My Bronco II has been in our family for as long as I can remember. It's an 84 and has 346+ thousand original motor miles.

The years have not been so kind to him. It sat in the desert for six years near Topaz lake Nevada and now it lives with me and my family in Cold Springs - Reno, Nevada. He's a tuff little bugger and is just now starting to cost me a little bit of money I've had to replace the alternator, voltage regulator, some tires and rims, but is still running well despite all the ruff edges.

I'm starting to have a few electrical problems with the charging system and all those fusible links Ford has engineered to prevent from what I heard of engine fires. I haven't had any such problems with that thus far, but if anybody knows some easy quick test or fixes be sure to send them my way.

I really love this truck and take it everywhere. The beach, camping or just horsing around in the dirt off road where he does very well. The kids have named him "Billy Bear Bronco" because he so tuff. I love this truck. Please send comments to jwdusty@earthlink.net with any tips or ideas.

James

Reno, Nevada.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 14 reviews