1987 Ford Bronco II Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1987 Ford Bronco II XL 2.9L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.9L V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Great 4x4 project vehicle and fun to drive

Faults:

Fifth gear went out on manual transmission, then locked up between second and third. Had to replace transmission.

Front U-joints and front right drive axle replaced along with complete front-end rebuild at 135000 miles.

Both heads cracked, leaking coolant into crankcase. Rebuilt engine at 150000 miles.

Rear drive shaft needs replaced, due to clicking noise from bad CV-joints.

General Comments:

Best ground clearance in its class.

Pretty fair amount of power from a small V6.

Great head room, as with most Ford trucks.

If you're capable of working on your own vehicles, and want a cheap 4x4, this is the vehicle for you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2003

1987 Ford Bronco II Eddie Bauer Edition 2.9L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.9L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Great little SUV!!!

Faults:

The automatic transmission is giving out as we speak. It has become really worn in between second and third gear. I have found that it will be around $1000 for a new one, and have been quoted from $1700 to $2200 for parts and labor. I talked to a buddy of mine who is a mechanic, and he said to just buy a new one, and it would be really easy for two guys to put in.

I blew a head gasket, which in turn caused one of the heads to crack. I spent over $800 on new gaskets, heavy duty heads, valves, and valve springs. The only problem I've had is getting the timing right on the distributor.

Also, I can't seem to keep it aligned for very long. I am seriously considering putting in a James Duff suspension to help with that, and to improve the handling.

General Comments:

The V6 performs well, but I'm going to add a performance intake to boost the horsepower, along with a James Duff computer chip.

Handling is great for a vehicle with a high center of gravity.

There are a ton of great accessories to this vehicle, so check out websites like jamesduff.com, JCWhitney.com and Carparts.com to improve your vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2003

9th Dec 2005, 13:14

Try a new drag link for your steering problem. They have a tendency to bend and if so makes it impossible to align.

1987 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.9 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carFord Bronco II

Summary:

The BEST

Faults:

We had an oil light come on - we thought the oil pump went, but it's been sitting for 10 months and now it's fine!

It's a great truck - lifted 4 inches, 31's, I wouldn't take anything for it. I'm the 4th generation owner, my great grandfather had it to pull his golf cart, he died then grandfather got it, he died and then my dad bought it in 1997, and as of 2000 it's mine. They're great cars, a great 4x4 except we had a transfer case crack so who knows.

General Comments:

Great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st October, 2002

1987 Ford Bronco II 2.9L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.9L V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired188000 miles
Most recent distance426784 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

I couldn't be more happy with my Bronco II

Faults:

With as many miles, as I have on my vehicle, parts will wear out.

Since I have owned the vehicle:

Two transmissions, the first shortly after I bought the truck. I knew it was on it's way out though, and had already priced a new transmission. This transmission lasted roughly 85,000 miles, I believe it wore out early due to "ridge racing" and "mudding". While the second one and current transmission has roughly 154,000 miles on it and still strong!

Three clutches due to above mentioned conditions, I give this Bronco II every bit of punishment I can dish out while off-road. I'll be installing a fourth clutch very, very soon. Planning to install a double or triple plated clutch due to extreme conditions.

Front drive axle, one broke after going up a rock hill climb.

Ball joints have worn out several times, due to the fact my truck is never kept in alignment. Reason again is above mentioned driving conditions.

Rotors and brakes, have worn slightly earlier than expected. Again due to, what I believe, can be blamed on mud getting between pads and the rotors.

Also the parking brake cable to the rear brakes, had been apparently pulled off. I think this was also due to off-road conditions.

The above mentioned is due to extreme conditions while the drive train components may have failed over the amount of time. And such things as brakes and other miscellaneous things.

Only recently has the valve cover gaskets started to leak. Worst thing about this is the oil is leaking onto the exhaust headers, this cause the oil to be simple burned off. So when I come to a stop, I can smell the oil burning and slight signs of smoke rolling out sides of hood.

General Comments:

I use this vehicle for everything, it was originally meant to be my second vehicle, but it is fun to drive.

I have to 2.9L V6, and it has plenty of power on and off road.

I have taken it through numerous off road, adventures through the mountains of West Virginia, only once have I gotten it stuck. (mud came about three or four inches from window seals, and it took two tow trucks with winches to get me out)

It does definitely feel like your driving a 4x4, but thankfully it's easy enough to feel out, you can still make great time on back roads.

After it's age and abusive conditions I have put it through it isn't the quietest ride in town any longer, but I still love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2002

7th Jun 2004, 11:05

My 1987 Bronco II needs a clutch. Can you tell me ballpark what it would cost to have 1 installed? I believe the FMV of my Bronco is about 900.

Thanks for your insights.

Ed.

9th Dec 2005, 13:19

The 2.9 liter v-6 engine has a ball bearing seal at the rear of the engine at the camshaft. The camshaft has to be pulled out to replace it. I also replaced valve cover gaskets three times before I found out it was that little ball bearing causing my problem. Check it out.

21st May 2008, 14:58

Replace the clutch with one from a 4.0 Explorer.

This includes 4.0 flywheel, clutch plate, pressure plate, and starter.

You end up with a clutch that will last much longer, because it's bigger!

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 16 reviews