1987 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9 Fuel Injected from North America


Fun to abuse!!


Replaced clutch assembly.

Replaced drive-shaft.

Replaced windshield.

Fixed very bad rust damage.

General Comments:

This vehicle is a great little truck for the money savers out there.

All in all it is a fun 4X4!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2002

1987 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9 177cu from North America


I would have nothing other than my baby


Brakes (learning to drive).

Water pump (don't know why).

Alternator (my stereo and flood lights put a strain on it).

Clutch (learning to drive).

Getting the engine rebuilt as of now (205k miles).

General Comments:

I hope to have this vehicle to give to my kids. I love it, it has been extremely reliable, the only reason I am having it rebuilt right now is because it's at 205k miles, and I want it to last forever. It handles well on and off road, great on the snow or ice. If I were to purchase another vehicle it have to be a Bronco II.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2001

1987 Ford Bronco II XL 2.9 Liter 177CU from North America


It can outrun an Explorer in Baja!!!


The A/C compressor gave up on us.

Replaced the converter and pump.

Water pump.

Leaky head gaskets.

Plastic radiator for the desert is not good.

General Comments:

Great little Sport Utility, I have done some modifications to make it into a very nice pre runner. Down here in Baja, the Bronco runs great.

I did replace the pinion gears and rings, bigger aluminum wheels, 31 x 10.50 tires, Flow-master exhaust, 4.0 radiator, new compressor, new converter and pump, K & N filter charger, pre runner bumper, Hella lights, Panasonic stereo, compact disc changer, crossover, EQ, tweeters, mid-ranges, band pass sub woofer, amplifier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2001

19th Apr 2001, 06:41

I have a 1988 Bronco II and love it. I posted my review on this page. Can you tell me what "pre runner" is and where the term is derived? I gather it is a 2wd off-road vehicle but why is it called a pre runner?

2nd Dec 2003, 13:17

A "prerunner" is a stock car that has made a partial transition to a competition off road machine, usually, when a race is being planned, you fix up a car to take all the punishment of the desert, and you prerun the course on it, therefore you have a prerunner. this includes off road lights, wheels & tires, suspension modification to include further travel and dampening, bumpers and roll cages, fiberglass fenders, recovery winch, roof rack with shovel and axe, GPS, etc.

I also have a 1987 prerunner Bronco II With 2.9 Engine, A4LD Transmission, 4.10 Gears, Rancho 5000 Shocks, Custom 3" Lift Kit With Suspension Travel Enhancement, 4.0 Radiator With Electric Fan, Hella OEM Replacement Lights, Pia Yellow Rear Light, Cellular Phone, Custom Front Bumper With Hella 500 100watt Lights, 2 Meter Radio, Magellan GPS, Alpine CD Player, Coustic Amps, Alpine 10" Bypass Sub woofer, Alpine 6" Speakers And 1" Dome Tweeters And A MTX Crossover.

I have had a lot of fun in my truck, as we participated in a lot of Off Road races as course officials.

1987 Ford Bronco II Eddie Bauer 2.9 EFi from North America


A good truck for the money!!!


Not much has gone wrong with it, all it needed was tires and a basic tune up.

General Comments:

This truck has never left me sitting, it is one of the best trucks I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2001

1987 Ford Bronco II Eddie Bauer V-6 from North America


The Bronco II is what all the new SUV's want to be!


Paint above the windshield peeled - a Ford recall item in the late '80's Rangers/Broncos.

Paint faded out in general.

Gas gauge needs replacing.

General Comments:

I love this vehicle - handling, comfort and versatility.

Our mechanic tells us that the automatic transmissions generally go out by 125,000 miles so what I'd like to find out is "What was the last year that they were made?" I'd like to find a last model year in great shape to replace this one instead of repainting and replacing the trannie if at all possible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th October, 2000

3rd Apr 2001, 12:49

Double-check with a Ford dealer, but I'm almost certain that 1990 was the last model year for the Bronco II.

2nd Mar 2002, 10:11

I think 91 was but I"m not sure.

19th Apr 2004, 20:25

I have a Bronco II. And if you don't think Broncos are good, look up www.jamesduff.com, and you will see what a Bronco can do!

1987 Ford Bronco II Eddie Bauer 2.9 EFI V6 from North America


A bargain for a used car!


Gone wrong? Very little. Needed new brake rotors and pads, exhaust system, plugs. That's it.

General Comments:

Very reliable, 19-20 mpg, comfortable, great in the snow. It could use a paint job, but maybe next year.

I don't know what I will replace this with when I wear it out. Whatever it is, it will have big shoes to fill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2000