1996 Ford Contour Reviews - Page 5 of 22

1996 Ford Contour from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

This car is not worth the trouble of purchasing

Faults:

Electrical System - what can I say? When it rains the car won't run. The dealership said that the 1996 Contour has a problem with the wiring. The dealership said it will cost $1,800 to replace the wiring. The car isn't worth much more than that. Ford did not have a recall on this problem, but if you brought your vehicle in and your car was one with the problem they would fix it for free.

General Comments:

This model car is not dependable enough to put your teenage daughter in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th November, 2006

1996 Ford Contour from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carDatsun 2000 Roadster

Summary:

Misery on 4 wheels

Faults:

Transmission, radiator fan, suspension, trunk light, dash lights, miscx100.

General Comments:

This car is complete crap! Worst-made modern car I have ever driven. It's been a nightmare & now I can't even sell it, wince the tranny is bad & a used replacement costs more than the car is worth!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th October, 2006

1996 Ford Contour GL 2.0 liter from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

I can understand why this car is no longer made

Faults:

Transmission replaced twice within the last year

Alternator replaced twice within the last 2 years

Power steering pump replaced

Driver side window motor replaced

Front door speakers shorted out - replaced

Constantly runs hot

Thermostat replaced at least 4 times

Have a new problem with the fuel pump

Had all 4 tires replaced twice due to blistering

Had short in electrical system causing rear brake lights not to work.

General Comments:

I bought this car used from the dealer as a everyday transportation car. It ran great, was comfortable, and felt good on the highway. I had regular maintenance performed at the proper time frames, and everything was good.

Once items started to go bad, they all started to go bad and in some cases multiple times for the same item. Replacement parts are expensive and in most cases you have to take it to a professional shop because of how the car is made and the placement of these items. It seems now I can't go more than 6 months without something else going wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th October, 2006

1996 Ford Contour GL 2.0 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired106700 miles
Most recent distance126500 miles
Previous carIsuzu Stylus

Summary:

Reliable if maintained, very costly when it does break, too many known problems/recalls

Faults:

Got in April '05, front doors very hard to open.

Fan switch high setting quit working in December.

Rear passenger and front driver wheel bearing went bad in summer.

Front coil springs broken (apparently they were that way when I got the car, and it's a known problem).

Ball joints bad, shakes at highway speed.

Transmission slips in cold weather.

All brand new tires in may 2005 and I already replaced all 4 again a couple months ago.

Replaced all the timing in September because a pulley broke inside.

Also it gets terrible gas mileage after a full tune up. 26-27 mpg highway and my 89 Celebrity with a V6 gets better than that.

Both cupholders broke off.

Windshield developed a crack from god knows what, slowly worked its way all the way across.

General Comments:

Car runs great, drives good, it starts up every day.

Besides the stuff that's wrong with it, (since most of it was bad when I got it, I don't know what caused it or how long ago it happened) it's actually a pretty good car. but I'm just waiting for all the problems I hear about it to start happening.

Kinda slow, no power... but the a.c. works great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th August, 2006

1996 Ford Contour from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

Gets the job done well :o)

General Comments:

I'm reading everyone say that this car is a piece of crap and it makes me worried. I purchased this car just over a year ago and have absolutely no problems with it what so ever. Only thing I've had to pay for was a transmission flush and your basic oil change. It has many many miles on it and I really hope that it doesn't catch the dreaded contour disease all the others seem to have caught.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd August, 2006

27th Oct 2006, 08:53

No there is no problem with the Ford Contour, it's the person who drives the car they don't give the car the proper care, they think the car is going to take care of it's self.

29th Oct 2006, 16:44

I bought a 95 Ford Contour when it came out and man was this car a complete piece of crap. The car had 18 recalls and half the time the Ford Dealers could not fix it properly. And good luck on getting parts for this car, If you do somehow get parts for it you will pay a whole lot of money for them.

I highly won't recommend this car to anyone. No More Fords for me.

24th Nov 2006, 13:48

This is a car that puts mechanic children through College. The contour is that bad.

25th Nov 2006, 15:48

Things fail, but most things break because people do not know how to take care of things.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 70 reviews