1975 Ford Cortina XL from Australia and New Zealand

Faults:

The brakes squeal really bad and it's just getting worse.

It needs new suspension.

General Comments:

Overall the Cortina is a cool car. It's comfortable and is an enjoyable drive.

It has excellent interior and there is very little rust considering its age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2007

11th Feb 2010, 05:57

Please could you give more information? Engine size e.t.c, its very lacking in detail, thanks.

1975 Ford Cortina TD XL 3.3L Straight Six. from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Awesome old car! Recommended first car!

Faults:

Nothing, the clutch squeaks a bit and I'm getting the radiator replaced, but the car runs like a dream.

General Comments:

Awesome old car, can get the 4.1ltre straight six slotted straight in and can fit an 8 clyinder easy. Lite weight and beautiful body. I love her.

Goes pretty hard too if you want it to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2004

1975 Ford Cortina xle 302 boss from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Fun

Faults:

I have bent the two rear axles, first burnout I done.

Over heated sitting in traffic once.

Replaced both head gaskets 1 month ago 22/12/03.

Two pack paint work starting to get stone chips here and there.

Both rear tires always bald.

General Comments:

The cortina has more than enough power.

It is a very good performer, 360kw 10sec@135mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2004

1975 Ford Cortina XL turbo 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

I have only paid $350 for the car all up

Faults:

My radiator blew.

Gearbox and clutch blew up.

General Comments:

I replaced the radiator with one out of a HQ Kingwood, so it's not totally Ford.

The seats are very low set in the car.

Once you do a few things to the suspension it handles corners like a dream.

I have replaced the rear suspension with King springs and new shocks.

I have also had the camber on the front adjusted slightly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2003

1975 Ford Cortina 2000E 2.0 OHC from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good-looking, comfortable, fast, fun and cheap!

Faults:

90,000 miles: Brake master cylinder failed.

95,000 miles: Piston crown holed, requiring exchange engine.

Rubber suspension bushes needed constant replacement throughout the time I owned it.

No other serious problems, however the bodywork began to need some attention towards the end hence the reason I sold the car. Sometimes I still wish I'd kept it!

General Comments:

Great cars with real character and very comfortable in 2000E form, although basic by today's standards. Relatively quiet. Driving position is ideal with good ergonomics. Handling and roadholding are OK, considering the solid rear axle.

Engines are quite tough but need frequent oil changes. maintenance is easy.

Gearboxes are slick, precise and virtually indestructible! Running gear is also very strong.

Interior 'Savannah' fabric is relatively durable.

Bodywork is this car's downfall, with sills, wings and wheelarches most vulnerable. Bottom corners of front and rear screens can also rust badly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2003

1975 Ford Cortina 1600L petrol from Trinidad and Tobago

Summary:

A great little car!

Faults:

Automatic transmission needed overhauling at about 20000 miles.

At about 25000 miles, alternator was replaced due to incorrect connections made by a 'helpful' friend.

Sometimes noticed a slight clatter from the rear end - a mechanic said it probably needed a little 'tightening up', but thought it to insignificant to bother.

General Comments:

Strange that transmission needed work so early on, but trouble free otherwise.

A comfortable and roomy car with excellent handling and ride.

I had four other Cortinas after this one with no transmission trouble, or any other trouble for that matter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2002

1975 Ford Cortina TD 4.1 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A well built car that goes hard

Faults:

The gearbox is a bit slopy.

General Comments:

The car has lots of power due to the 4.1 litre motor, very quick in a strait line.

The car lacks handling tho sway bars my help.

It has lots of under steer tho if you drive it nicely you would not know.

I think the TD Cortina is a very well build car with lots of power (if you have the six cylinder) and very comfortable.

I payed $1,300 for my Cortina I take it drag racing every second thursday night and never had to fix a thing. You get a lot of car for your money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2002

1975 Ford Cortina XLE 3.3L from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

70's pump sucker

Faults:

Nothing, except for brakes (the brakes overheated and failed).

General Comments:

I got the car for $500, and it has only done 144000, I think it's been sitting in a shed for some years.

The car is very original and reliable. The 3.3L in-line 6 has no problems pulling the load, the car feels like its built for high speed pursuit (I can get a top speed of 170Km/h out of it), not bad for an oldie. The car has the most solid structure out of any car ever made, it's virtually bulletproof and assembled by hand.

What can I say, the car kicks ass.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2000