1975 Ford Cortina 1.6 gasoline from Philippines


It was unreliable and not fun to drive


Based on my mom, she said that this car was very unreliable. The car always had problems with the air-conditioning. Most of the time, it wouldn't work. If it was working, then it would just blow warm air. The air-conditioning would only blow cool air a few times.

Other problems encountered would be with the radiator. The car would always overheat even when it was pretty new. Clutch had to be replaced after 3 years. Several parts also had to replaced. It also stalled a few times on EDSA.

General Comments:

This was my grandparents' car for only a few years. It had a black rooftop with a white body. This was my sister's first car that she rode in as a baby. This car was a very nice looking car, but an unreliable pocket drainer.

Aside from being unreliable, the car had an anemic engine and was very slow. Pedals were very tough to step on and required a little bit of effort. Steering was also a bit unresponsive. Driving this car was a little bit of a chore.

My grandfather couldn't take it anymore and he traded it in for a Mitsubishi Galant in January of 1980, which he would keep for the next 10 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th November, 2016

18th Nov 2016, 18:40

The air conditioning on Philippine cars pre-1990s were not factory ones. They were aftermarket-fitted, usually either an evaporator unit hanging under the dashboard, or plumbed into the existing vents. You'd be very dependent on the type of compressor used - during that time, ideally a York. European Fords were not designed at the onset for air conditioning - simply wasn't needed in Europe. Only since the late '70s Ford Granada was it optional in Europe. The car probably stalled a few times because of the electrics; they used British Lucas components.

19th Nov 2016, 07:27

If the clutch really went after three years, that's poor clutch control / driving style which may also explain why it "stalled a few times".

21st Nov 2016, 02:38

Ford Cortina clutches were rubbish (as were the front brake pads). But not too difficult to change. It was on the Cortina that I really got into home auto mechanics. The answer was to switch to competition parts. But that was the UK auto industry in the 1960s and '70s. Without quality control all you did was produce junk.

1975 Ford Cortina XL from Australia and New Zealand


The brakes squeal really bad and it's just getting worse.

It needs new suspension.

General Comments:

Overall the Cortina is a cool car. It's comfortable and is an enjoyable drive.

It has excellent interior and there is very little rust considering its age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2007

11th Feb 2010, 05:57

Please could you give more information? Engine size e.t.c, its very lacking in detail, thanks.

1975 Ford Cortina TD XL 3.3L Straight Six. from Australia and New Zealand


Awesome old car! Recommended first car!


Nothing, the clutch squeaks a bit and I'm getting the radiator replaced, but the car runs like a dream.

General Comments:

Awesome old car, can get the 4.1ltre straight six slotted straight in and can fit an 8 clyinder easy. Lite weight and beautiful body. I love her.

Goes pretty hard too if you want it to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2004

1975 Ford Cortina xle 302 boss from Australia and New Zealand




I have bent the two rear axles, first burnout I done.

Over heated sitting in traffic once.

Replaced both head gaskets 1 month ago 22/12/03.

Two pack paint work starting to get stone chips here and there.

Both rear tires always bald.

General Comments:

The cortina has more than enough power.

It is a very good performer, 360kw 10sec@135mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2004

1975 Ford Cortina XL turbo 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand


I have only paid $350 for the car all up


My radiator blew.

Gearbox and clutch blew up.

General Comments:

I replaced the radiator with one out of a HQ Kingwood, so it's not totally Ford.

The seats are very low set in the car.

Once you do a few things to the suspension it handles corners like a dream.

I have replaced the rear suspension with King springs and new shocks.

I have also had the camber on the front adjusted slightly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2003