1993 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews

1993 Ford Crown Victoria LX 4.6 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance368230 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

Excellent replacement for the Chevy "B" Body

Faults:

Valve oil seals failed at 295,000km.

Driver's side window mechanism failed at 381,000km.

EGR carbon buildup underneath throttle body caused check engine light at 183,000km & 290,000km.

Brake lines rusted out because they were installed on top of the frame rail rather than the side.

General Comments:

Very well built car.

Paint in excellent shape after 20 years. No rust yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2014

1993 Ford Crown Victoria 4.6 V8 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Incredible value - Best car on the road!

Faults:

Right front brake keeps sticking.

Power window motors starting to go bad.

Otherwise, general maintenance only.

General Comments:

This is by far the best, most dependable, comfortable car I have ever owned. I travel around the country six months out of twelve, and wouldn't want to drive anything else. I park it during the winter months.

The problem with the sticky brake is an issue I have been trying to resolve for four years. I have replaced the caliper twice, rotor 3 or 4 times, brake line and the slider pins - still sticks. Not all the time, but 2-3 times per year - I'm stumped!

Gas mileage is very good at 27-38 mpg. I give it lots of TLC and expect it to last to at least 300,000 m.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2009

30th Mar 2009, 09:59

I once had a little Mazda with sticking front brakes. I pulled the pins and found they were corroded. I sanded them with sand paper, added a very thin layer of grease and put them back in. That fixed it.

I hope it will fix yours too.

1993 Ford Crown Victoria from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance154000 miles

Summary:

Eh, its decent

Faults:

Need I say more than this car is a gas guzzler in every sense of the phrase. I actually get worse gas mileage than an F-150.

The outside cosmetic features don't hold up to great, Currently the headlight cover and a lug nut cover have fallen off within a weeks time.

The car handles rather loosely which takes a while to get used to.

General Comments:

The interior is very comfortable with the leather seats.

I recently got into and accident and my car only has a small dent while the other (a lancer) has severe damage on the door.

The car feels like its riding on air, its very nice along the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th July, 2008

14th Jul 2008, 20:33

When was the last time the car received a tune-up??

1993 Ford Crown Victoria LX 4.6L DOHC from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.6L DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired146745 miles
Most recent distance210509 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

This has to be on of the best cars I have owned and driven!

Faults:

I bought the car with a bad EGR valve. I bought a new EGR and replaced it 2 months later. To this day it is still running strong.

When I bought the car, the rocker panels were rotted right out, so I bought new ones and had them installed.

The power steering lines blew on me at 200 000km. Couldn't afford to fix it right away, so I drove without power steering for about a month because I was between jobs.. it was replaced for a $110 hose at Canadian tire.

The rear power window motors no longer work, but I have no need to replace them, as I won't be in the back of the car because it's like sitting in an actual cop car; plus I only use the front windows anyways.

General Comments:

The interior of the car is extremely spacious and comfortable, which is great because I travel from Kitchener to North Bay on a regular basis.

The CV floats, but when there is no weight in the truck, it tends to bounce around a bit, which can get annoying after awhile.

The 4.6L V-8 has great pick up and take off, and has no problem getting up to 100 km/h.

The car is excellent on gas, but once it reaches 1/4 tank, it seems to go through fuel rather quickly..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th January, 2008

1993 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6L Dual overhead cam from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.6L Dual overhead cam Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

Fastest car I have ever drove.

Faults:

Had to replace the original alternator one month after I got it.$200

Then the spark plugs and wires.$50

Two months later needed brakes and rotors.$125.

General Comments:

My 1993 Crown Vic Police Interceptor is really fast,120mph in a 1/4 mile.

It has dual Flow masters, police interceptor chip, Ford Motor sport stage 3 chip with dual computers, cool air intake, and cam job. State trooper clocked me at 155 and climbing, all he knew at first was he heard loud pipes and a white blur going the other direction. 30 minutes later they got me at a road block. Still waiting for them to release it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2005

13th Jul 2005, 23:25

U said it did 120 in a quarter mile, but how many seconds? U say its fast, but don't tell us its time.

14th Jul 2005, 08:28

0 to 120 in a quarter mile is the same as average speed 60 over that quarter mile. You will cover a 1/4 mile in 15 secconds at 60 mph... therefore 0 to 120 in 15 seconds.

0 to 60 in about 6.5 - 7. Very quick for a heavy car, but not as fast as my Saab 900.

P.s. You are an irresponsible fool. What if a mother with a car full of kids on the way to school just didn't see you blasting down the road at 100+ and then she suddenly pulled out and 'appeared ' in front of you with 30 meters to spare?? Ever heard of vehicular man-slaughter? Slow down!

3rd Oct 2005, 15:17

OK people. I wasn't kidding about how fast the car is. Don't believe me? Come to Stuttgart Arkansas and find out.

For the rest of you that had something bad to say towards me, don't judge me. It was 3am when this happened and no traffic. So get off me. Not into science fiction. I know what I did to my car and what it will do. Sorry never been timed through the quarter, but the 120 in the quarter was done by radar not my speedometer. Jealous people should keep comments to themselves.

3rd Oct 2005, 15:22

Also one more thing. As for the comment about the Saab, bring it on any day. I could take out the Saab with my Ford Lightning. By the way people, have my own shop. Build high performance engines for a living.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 16 reviews