1994 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1994 Ford Crown Victoria Standard 4.6 Liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 Liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Summary:

Great Car - Performance, Value, and Comfort!

Faults:

There have been no mechanical repairs necessary for the life of the car.

The drivers side window switch is on the fritz. It can be heard bouncing around inside over bumps.

The intermittent wipers switch has been problematic since new. This was the first year Ford used them, and have since improved.

Some jackass hit the car while it was parked and I was grocery shopping. Outside of some minor body damage, nothing else is wrong with the car.

General Comments:

This has been a family owned car since new. It started as my grandfathers, and was sold to my parents when he bought a new 2001 Crown Victoria in early 2001. They drove it until November 2002 when they sold it to me.

I have loved this car since I first rode in it in 1994. It has good performance, and is super relaible. Starts the first time every time.

Lots of trunk space comes in handy.

The cabin is roomy and comfortable, and the seats are great for long distance driving. Dual armrests and lots of padding ensure that. The controls are conveniently placed, and the sound system is not too bad. Best defrost system I have ever seen!

The gas mileage is not bad for such a big car.

The car is also very safe, because of its large size and standard dual airbags.

If your looking for a great car, but don't want to spend extra on a Grand Marquis or Lincoln, than this is the car for you. (I also have a 1978 Lincoln)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2003

1994 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

A great car that puts out

Faults:

The barring have went out on this car, and it has an oil leak.

General Comments:

This car is a power house. It is roomy and comfortable. It handles great at top speeds and on curves. The V8 engine is strong and sturdy. I still have the police package on it and I am really impressed.

The oil leak is a normal problem for cars in its age and mileage. I recommend this car to anyone who is in for high speeds, comfort, and handling. The car is a good safety feature with its ABS system. I have nothing but good to say about this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st August, 2002

2nd Aug 2002, 18:42

Not trying to criticize you, but if it was built in 1994 it has the 5.0 (302 CI) or the 5.8 (351 CI) V-8.

4th Oct 2002, 15:30

You're wrong. Pre-1992 have the 5.0 liter engine.. anything 1992 and newer has the 4.6l V8 engine. You're probably thinking mustangs, Crown Vics got the 4.6 in 1992.

To the reviewer:

A Police Package Crown Victoria, aka Police Interceptor.

"Still have the Police Package on it".. sorry you can't exactly remove and install a police package.

Police Interceptors are completely different cars than civilian Crown Victorias. A Police Interceptor has:

- 4.6 L SOHC V-8 engine

- 140 MPH certified calibration speedometer

- 130 amp alternator

- heavy-duty 4 speed transmission with overdrive

- heavy-duty suspension

- nitrogen gas rear shocks

- steel dual exhaust

- engine oil cooler

- transmission oil cooler

- power steering pump cooler

- Goodyear Eagle 100V 150+MPH speed rated tires

- 4 wheel heavy-duty anti-lock breaks

- black easy clean rubber floor mat

- remote trunk release

...to name a few.

As you can see, you can't remove a police package.

1994 Ford Crown Victoria Base 4.6L ohv V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6L ohv V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance137345 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

My son's go-go bronco was built better!

Faults:

-The speakers weren't working from day 1.

- Transmission needed replacement at about 9,000 miles.

- Locking system needed replacement at about 23,000 miles.

- The car continues to leak oil after about 2 years. All my efforts of stopping it have been of no avail.

- The engine began leaking fluid at about 34,000 miles.

- There is constant wear and tear on the cloth seats.

As I write this review, a big puddle of oil is forming underneath my car in the driveway.

General Comments:

-This car is simply not worthy of your time. I will never forgive myself for not buying a Chevy Caprice instead, which was a great car. I wish they were still in production today. Currently, the crown victoria and grand marquis are the only affordable big V8 sedans left.

-Trust me: you don't want one of these. Avoid these trash heaps at all costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th July, 2002

27th Aug 2002, 00:30

Perhaps you should note that the 1994 Crown Vic comes with 4.6l SOHC engine rather than the 5.0l in your 1989. The early 4.6l is notorious for fluid leaks and oil usage. As to your other statement I will gladly race your Crown Vic with my stock 2002 Z-28. I have clocked high 12's, so beat that.

8th Sep 2002, 16:53

I owned a 1992 Crown Victoria and it was a fantastic car! It is almost identical to yours. It had the 4.6L engine. I sold the car with 245,000 miles on the original drivetrain which had never had any internal repairs. It never leaked or seeped a drop of oil ever! Everything still worked and it was an extremely reliable car. I worked at a Ford dealership as a mechanic for 15 years, ending in 1997. I had never seen a single 4.6L engine get replaced in that time! In fact, it was extremely rare to even have a leak on one, or any repair for that matter. Just before I quit the dealer, I looked into remanufactured engines out of curiosity. They were still not available due to lack of demand. Even the police, who went through 5.0L engines regularly, could not kill the 4.6L.

The car itself was also very reliable. There were a few issues with the brakes warping on mine, but those were corrected in the following year.

You must have had a combination of bad luck and a bad dealer.

12th Jun 2003, 19:48

My 1992 Grand Marquis has 153,000 miles with no repair more that $200. It's great. The only problem with it now is a combination of worn valve guides and/or seals. It will blow a puff of blue smoke when I accelerate from a long idle. I hear that was corrected in 1995 and later years. I was told I can have the valve seals replaced for $500 and that should fix it.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 18 reviews