1999 Ford Crown Victoria 4.6L V8 from North America


A 4 Door Mustang


Nothing at all.

It needs new tires, and I replaced the Spark plugs and fuel filter, the factory hubcaps do not stay on, so I pulled them off and drive around cop style.

General Comments:

I love this car.

I bought it believe it or not for fuel mileage, after the new plugs and fuel filter I get almost 26MPG, driving it hard. At the time I was daily driving a 83 F150 with a Inline 6 and a 4sp, 8MPG.

What I love most about the car is the power it has, from a standing start, lay into the gas and both back tires will litrally scream for mercy. Once it hooks it lays ya into the seat and your along for the ride. The governed 106MPH comes before you know it. Passing power is awesome, 55-70 runs are its ace in the hole.

It handles well for a 4000LB sedan. No complaints.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2007

25th May 2007, 20:30

I found it a little heavy off the line, and not like Porsche acceleration. You're right about the higher speed acceleration 80Kms/hr (50mi/hr) onwards hold on tight this thing literally takes off on you. Geared for highway pursuit.

1999 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6L SOHC V8 from North America


Tough reliable fast thirsty.


So far I replaced the cigar lighter (12V outlet) fuse and wiper/washer fuse.

General Comments:

As a long time buyer of Japanese cars, the CVPI is a good bargain price wise for a powerful V8 sedan that has balls, and reliability. A bit of a relic by my standards, but that's part it's appeal as well. Acceleration is not as apparent off the line due to the CVPI curb weight, but once you get to cruising velocity keep your eye on the needle or this thing will take off on you. The "Bang" for the buck factor can become a horrifyingly explosive reality. A hot car that will burn you if you don't watch your ass.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st May, 2007

25th May 2007, 20:14

Original author: 287000KMS had a few minor anoyances, we had a few days of rain and the wipers started crapping out on me gradually until ultimately no longer working at all. Week later wipers still not fixed finished my workout got in the car started the engine... check engine light. Two days later car wouldn't start in the morning. To say the least I was a bit disappointed, but I understood how the car was feeling. I changed the battery (obviously the check engine light went out) and miraculously the wipers started working again. The battery light had never come on. That night I took her out for a nice wash in and out and a good long drive. Everything is back to normal...

24th Jul 2007, 01:25

Wipers are totally dead all I hear is a buzzing sound when I turn the switch. The fuel consumption is a little on the heavy side, but so is my foot on the accelerator pedal. A tune up and new tires are in order.

1999 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6 V8 from North America


This car is overall a good buy, fun to drive, and is a sleeper


Power steering pump is going bad, it only works when I use the gas, I think it's only the pump, but I'm not sure. It's going to be replaced here in about a week.

The engine sputters in all speeds, and there is a lack of power when accelerating due to the sputter. When I'm driving, or first start the car, it smells like gasoline, a very noticeable amount of it too.

Along with the sputtering and loss of power, the check engine light has come on. When I hit about 55 or 60, it begins to flash, and won't stop flashing until I slow back down. This, I have no idea what is going on.

I also just replaced the thermostat. Although I put the seal in wrong, so it blew, and radiator fluid made the engine over heat, but it's fixed now. I had to blow out the spark plug lines, and in turn I replaced all 8 spark plugs.

So, i took it into a local shop, and they replaced the number 2 and 7 spark plug boots and wires, and the car runs almost good as new now, but i still have to replace the power steering.

General Comments:

Before all the mishaps, this car was very good.

It gets up and goes for being a 4,000 lb. car.

Handling is great, very responsive.

Rides like a dream, and it's nice to have the heavy duty frame the comes along with it.

The interior is very bare.. but what can you do? It's a police interceptor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2007

9th Mar 2007, 09:57

I have a question for u. My 1999 Crown Vic. has the same fuel and acceleration problems, how did you fix it, and what was the problem? If you don't mind please contact me at lovaofwisdom@yahoo.com thank you.

9th Mar 2007, 16:28

If the car sputters at all speeds, and you smell gas, it sounds as though the engine is flooding, or at least not burning the available gas. In the old days, this would have sounded like the float in the carburetor was saturated with gas, sinking instead of closing off the inlet valve. However, on a 1999 surely this does not have a carburetor and must certainly have fuel injection.

Pull the spark plugs and check the color. Are they black and sooty? Are they carbon coated? When were they last changed?

Also, ground a spark plug on an exhaust manifold and crank the engine (not enough to start it). View the spark that jumps across the spark plug electrodes. Is it yellow (weak) or bright blue (strong)?

Try the standard tune-up stuff -- distributor cap, spark plug wires, spark plugs, and a can of fuel injector cleaner. First, hope it's something simple. Next, you can start thinking about replacing the coil, checking the electrical resistance of the fuel injectors (MPFI?), timing, and little sensors like the mass air flow sensor, oxygen sensor, etc.

A Haynes Manual will take you through the steps to troubleshoot the problem more efficiently.

7th Feb 2009, 10:38

I have a '99 that was doing the same thing. In addition it was acting like it had a transmission problem, not shifting correctly at certain rpms... turned out to be the fuel pump... everything was solved and it runs like a top now. I would check this as this is a common problem with them and about a 300 to 400 dollar fix.

23rd Mar 2009, 10:49

I have 99 Crown Vic Police Interceptor.

Have problem a missing when hot. How come nobody seems to know the answer? Have replaced coil pack, master air flow, IAC, fuel filter, spark plugs. Now will try injectors.

Is there nobody out there who knows about this, as there are other people having the same problem chef_arthur@hotmail.com

19th Apr 2009, 23:51

I have the same problem to with my 99, and it turned out to be the EGR and emission evap sensor. Cheap and easy fix, EGT is 60... and the evap sensor is 112 for a Motorcraft one, which is what you should use to get the same horsepower. Most aftermarket stuff is junk.