2000 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2000 Ford Crown Victoria Standard V8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Standard V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4300 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

A good solid means of transportation.

Faults:

Front end alignment has been difficult to maintain. As a result, the tires have been wearing unevenly.

The front driver seat is not well padded. The seat hinge tore through the padding and the seat cover and became exposed. The exposed hinge caused clothing damage.

General Comments:

In general, the Crown Vic is a workhorse. This is my third (previous models owned were the '87 and the '93). With standard maintenance, they keep on running and running. And, I like to run them till they become unreliable.

I like the bulk of the car... an urban tank without going to the extreme of an SUV. I feel safe in it.

Probably would look more closely at the LX version for the next purchase to see if seats are more comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2004

2000 Ford Crown Victoria 4.6L V8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carFord F250

Summary:

With routine maintenance, this car is a trooper

Faults:

Nothing major has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

The car is great for long trips -- highway miles.

Not the best handling car in the city -- long body style and not easy to park.

The car seats sit very low. Long legs are a bit uncomfortable in this vehicle.

Gas mileage with the 4.6L small V8 is pretty good -- 23 city, 28 highway.

Everything has worked for the 140,000 miles including power windows, power door locks, wipers, remote entry, etc... no complaints.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2004

2000 Ford Crown Victoria LX V8-281 4.6L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8-281 4.6L SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance38938 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

A Monday Morning Lemon!

Faults:

At 38,938 miles the engine started to stall out frequently. It was necessary to keep one foot on the brake and one foot on the accelerator in order to keep the engine running while moving the shift lever. When the engine stalled, the power steering was disabled, and the car just drifted and could not be steered.

To fix the problem, the auto service center had to replace the air filter, idle speed control motor, idle control valve, and mass air flow sensor. Total cost: $428.57.

General Comments:

To be fair, there have not been any problems with this car up to now. However, I find it shocking that I am having engine problems at 39,000 miles, and I intend to let Ford know it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th October, 2003

27th Oct 2004, 10:45

Some, if not all of the problems should have been handled by the factory warranty.

You must remember, ALL parts are either made by humans or are made by machines that are made by humans... we are all prone to error.

Manufacturing is just that, manufacturing. It is not fault proof.

2000 Ford Crown Victoria LEV 4.6 litre V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 litre V8 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Pricey piece of junk

Faults:

The emission control light stays on despite replacing four catalytic converters ($1,800) Twice, oxygen sensors (four), main computer $750. The light is still on and I went to all Ford nearby dealers, Crenshaw, Santa Monica and Galpin. This is a huge ripp-off and a scam. I am now completely out of business as the city of Los Angeles reguired me to buy it. The Ford lobbyist went to city hall and made a deal with them. I am a taxicab and can't afford these needless repairs. Other cabs have had the same $4,000 worth of trouble and the cab has to stay off the road while waiting three weeks for parts! So I lost much income bedsides and am very angry at Ford and will never buy another one. I am seeing a lawyer on Monday. Will try to help the other cabs in Los Angeles sue for damages.

General Comments:

Emission control rip-off on Crown Victoria. Four thousand dollars repairs does not make dash light go out. And problem can never be fixed. My driver is complaining when the light is on his lungs are in searing pain and his nose runs. Otherwise it runs fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd February, 2003

26th Feb 2005, 21:40

These things happen and you are in California. It seems the dealerships took advantage of you - not Ford. I don't think Ford is trying to screw you. I can't blame you for being upset. It doesn't sound like the dealers were working for you.

28th Jun 2005, 14:52

It looks like the dealership is the problem. They look like they want to make a quick buck off you. If its the 4th time your replacing a part and the problems still there maybe the dealerships leading you on. I own a 92 crownvic police interceptor and at 400k she runs great. I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience try getting a second opinion from another shop.

2000 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance35700 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

Ford is lucky no other car maker is building a quality police car

Faults:

General poor engine performance.

Wheel covers fly off at an alarming rate.

General Comments:

Car is not as quick as it should be, it is powerful but not quick.

Handles well for its size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2001

24th Jul 2001, 19:36

On my 1993 Crown Victoria I had the wheel covers come off at an alarming rate as well. After 237,000 miles I sold it and bought a 1998 Crown Victoria with alloy wheels. Both cars have been much better than I expected.

18th Aug 2001, 14:01

OK...you say its not fast. I drove a 2001 CrownVic at 155mph.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 13 reviews