1990 Ford Econoline Reviews

1990 Ford Econoline V8 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Amazing!

Faults:

Exhaust is loud, but that is how it was when I purchased it, which was just a week ago.

The driver's side seat is wearing due to getting in and out of the van, and rust is eating away at the foot ledge to get into the van on the driver's side and passenger side doors.

General Comments:

I love this vehicle, it so far is the best I have ever owned.

It feels very safe to get into and drive, and is the most comfortable vehicle I have owned.

So far it seems good on gas mileage, which is good for me since I work an hour from home. I wanted to know how much to the gallon it got, and I came across this website. I am glad I did, because now I am able to tell people what a wonderful vehicle this really is.

We own 2 dogs that love car rides, and we love to camp. This van is perfect for us. It is so spacious, we could honestly live out of it if we ever needed to. Also my fiance is 6'5 and has always complained about how cramped he is in our other cars; he now no longer has those complaints, it is absolutely wonderful. I cannot wait for our first road trip.

Thank you Ford for making this home on wheels, that I am able to use for my everyday vehicle!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2012

1990 Ford Econoline E-150 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles

Summary:

A high quality van that is excellent for touring or for a large family

Faults:

Alternator was replaced at 103K miles.

General Comments:

Seats are really comfortable.

Fold down bed in the back is large enough to sleep two people, and I am able to lie comfortably, despite being 6'4" in height.

Power steering is very light, and though the van looks big, it is a dream to maneuver.

Fuel consumption is supposedly 13 miles per gallon city / 17 miles per gallon highway, on the day it rolled off the factory floor, but we are getting 16 miles per gallon city / 20 miles per gallon highway. We attribute this to proper maintenance of the vehicle, since it has had regular oil changes from the day of purchase, and tyre inflation has always been optimal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2001

1st Mar 2002, 05:19

Hi, my dad has recently bought a Ford Econoline 150 day van and it is amazing. Compared to a normal family car it is class, I'm 6 ft and also fit in the back sofa bed very easily. I think everyone should have one of these.

24th Nov 2006, 11:58

I have owned my 1989 Econoline 5.0 V8 for 4 years now and only had to replace the altenator after the old one melted and set on fire at a petrol station!

Living in the UK the fuel prices are very high and keep rising so I have had a sequential injection LPG system fitted. She returns up to 13mpg round town and up to 17mpg on a run, with gas being less than half price of petrol it's not too bad to run especially on our frequent drives up to Scotland.

Driving the van is so comfortable, with the cruise set at 60 mph for 300 miles is totally effortless.

My vans now done 165000 miles so as a precautionary measure I changed all the shells, cam chain, followers etc so hopefully we'll have many more happy years out of her yet.

I also put headers and twin 2 1/2inch exhausts on when i did the engine work and she seems to pull a lot better especially up hill.

1990 Ford Econoline E-150 Conversion Van 5-Liter V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 5-Liter V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Volare

Summary:

This was an extremely unreliable vehicle

Faults:

The transmission went out at 48kmi, was covered under warranty except for deductible, but took 2 weeks for the dealer to repair the first time and 4 days the second time.

In-tank fuel pump went out at about 65000 miles, leaving the van "dead." Towing & repair were $500.

A/C system O-ring seals leaked incessantly, despite numerous replacement and aftermarket clamp "fixes." Heater core started leaking at 82000 miles; replacing it was very difficult but inexpensive.

Oil pan gaskets were replaced twice because of leaks; cost was about $400 each time.

Steering gear needed to be replaced at 138kmi (estimate was $450) but was never replaced because a piston cracked. It was junked at that point.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th June, 2000

19th Jul 2002, 20:20

You had a Volare and are complaining about your van!

16th Jan 2004, 11:54

I am amazed that you were charged $400 to have the Oil Pan Gasket Replaced! I perform this Job myself and it takes about an hour. I would suggest that you try a Different Mechanic.

13th Jul 2004, 18:05

I have had a 1990 Ford E150 Conversion Van since 1993. It has over 135K miles on it and I have replaced one transmission (last year at 120K miles), and one heater core. Other than those two things, I have had nothing, but minor repairs, tires, air conditioner recharged, oil changes, radiator flushes, etc. This has been one of the most reliable vehicles I have ever owned. I love this van! I just wish that it had less miles on it so that I could keep on driving it. This fall I will be replacing it, but my husband will now use it as a work vehicle.

19th Aug 2004, 09:36

It may be that you just got a lemon. I know someone who has an Econoline 350 that seats 15 if you count the driver. Other than an alternator and water pump plus A/C service he has done very little to it besides routine maintenance. I do however sympathize with you for having to do so much to your vehicle while you had it. You wouldn't think a vehicle bought new would be such a headache.

29th Jun 2006, 10:05

My 1990 conversion Econoline 150 has 233,000 miles on it and still runs fine. Two x-mission overhauls, but no major motor problems. Disconnected rear air cond, but front still does okay. The only reason I am selling it is to make room for a new car... my first new car in 16 years!!!

Love the old '90!!! (wish I had a picture to share)

15th May 2012, 15:00

Did you have to raze the engine to change the oil pan gasket?

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 3 reviews