2008 Ford Escape XLT 3.0 V6 Litre from North America

Summary:

Great bang for the buck

Faults:

Nothing at this point really, everything is working great so far, the engine is like new, and the A/C is really strong, especially when the MAX AC button is depressed.

General Comments:

Very impressed on the performance and reliability of this Ford vehicle. They've come a long way in terms of reliability, and this Escape is a good example of that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2010

2008 Ford Escape Limited V6 from North America

Summary:

Too many problems

Faults:

Transmission cooling line leaked.

Today while driving, the engine started making a loud cranking noise, and my car would not up-shift into a higher gear. It was stuck at 5000 rpm until I let off of the accelerator. I pulled over a few minutes later, shut the car off, and tried turning it back on only to have it rev up to 500 rpm, and then go back to 0. The brakes seemed to stop working properly at that point as well.

General Comments:

For a car with only 19,000 miles on it, I'm pretty concerned about how well it will hold up in the long run. If problems persist, I can only imagine I'd be forced to purchase another vehicle.. something that isn't a Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2009

2008 Ford Escape Hybrid AWD from North America

Summary:

Excellent, but not sure if the extra cost for the Hybrid is justifiable

Faults:

Nothing wrong in 30000k except a faulty tire pressure sensor.

General Comments:

This is one of the four company vehicles we have and is used only for work. It has been exposed to all sort of conditions; construction sites, mud, snow, ice and has always performed excellent. A car wash and is a nice city vehicle. With four snow/ice tires and all-wheel-drive was excellent in a miserable Canadian winter as this.

It is very comfortable and spacious, but best of all I have averaged 31MPG. 37MPG in the summer, and 22.5MPG at worst in winter on the highway at high speed.

Substantial improvements have been made in my colleagues 2009 models, and they are also very happy and trouble free.

I hope Ford is on the right track!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2009

2008 Ford Escape XLT V6 from North America

Summary:

Lemon and defective

Faults:

Main automatic transmission failed at 5,000 miles, requiring entire replacement. Along with it the main computer unit failed. It took Ford two months to provide replacement units.

General Comments:

This car cannot be counted on for reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2009

2008 Ford Escape XLT 3.0 from North America

Summary:

Very comfortable, easy to drive/park family SUV

Faults:

After driving for 10 miles, sensor that says a tire has low air pressure went off, wouldn't reset. Took it to the dealer, they reflashed the program and haven't had a problem since.

General Comments:

Very comfortable. Noticeably larger than previous year (friend has a 2006, now wants 2008 like ours). Took it on a trip to the Grand Canyon the day after we bought it, flawless performance. Great on hills, average 26 mpg highway only driving. I suggest the V6, you still get great mileage and power you will enjoy on hilly roads.

My wife is extremely small. We have a hard time finding something she can reach the pedals in, and see over the dash/hood. This is an easy reach for her.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2007

2nd Jun 2008, 10:44

We test drove the V-6 Escape (as well as about a dozen other SUV's) before buying our GMC Envoy. I liked the Escape, and especially the sporty handling and smaller size. My wife felt it was underpowered (especially compared to the 275hp Envoy) and rough riding. Since it was to be her car, I gave in and let her get the Envoy.

Though we have been very happy with the Envoy, I feel the Escape is a great little SUV and Ford reliability has never been an issue with us. We've put over 200,000 miles on several and over 300,000 on one with basically just routine maintenance.

I'm surprised to hear that you get 26mpg highway, as neither of our V-6 Explorers got over 19 highway. Thanks for the review, and keep us updated as there may yet be an Escape in our future.

30th Mar 2009, 17:48

What year were your Explorers that got only 19 mpg? My 2002 with the 4.0 L SOHC regularly gets 23-25 mpg on the highway (using US gallons).

11th May 2009, 13:26

I am short as well, and this is why I am looking at an escape. How is your wife finding it now? I really interested in knowing before I make my final decision. It's between a Ranger and the Escape. But I would like a smooth ride, so I'm hoping the SUV will give me that.

17th Dec 2009, 12:46

I am looking at buying an 2010 Escape. My only concern is the "intelligent 4WD". I live where it can get very icy and the idea of it putting itself into 4wd if I loose traction scares me to death. Does anybody have experience with the intelligent 4WD on ice?