2011 Ford Escape XLT 2.5 from North America

Summary:

I can't say it's fun or exciting, but it never lets me down

Faults:

2 window regulators.

A/C condenser.

Front wheel bearings.

Windshield washer squirter motor.

Sync.

General Comments:

I really didn't want to like this car. It was purchased out of necessity. I was in a situation where I had to take what was available to me at the time, and this was it.

It's not necessarily powerful, has a lot of body roll in corners, and is frankly boring. There's nothing about the vehicle that I find exciting. However, it's by far one of the most reliable cars I've ever owned. For that, I sing its praises.

It's never had any problems that left me stranded. It hasn't had problems that were unexpected due to its mileage. Over 161,000 miles now and it's still going strong, without any signs of slowing down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th January, 2019

2011 Ford Escape XLT 3.0 V6 from North America

Summary:

Great SUV!

Faults:

Replaced the battery, a tail light bulb and the blower fan resister (only $40). That's it.

General Comments:

Really like it and would buy another in a second if Ford still offered it with the V6. The gas mileage is great - regularly gets 36 MPG (Imperial) 30 MPG (US) on the highway. Reliability has been fantastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2018

16th Jul 2018, 10:29

Please, there is no car on the road that will go for these many miles without lots of wear parts repairs. Do you indeed own the vehicle?

16th Jul 2018, 21:06

Why is it so hard to believe? Judging the mileage in the 7 years the reviewer owned it, sounds like the vehicle is mostly highway usage which is the best thing. A lot less wear and tear on the brakes, transmission and many other items.

17th Jul 2018, 15:59

I had a 2010 same era Edge SEL with 6. Sounds similar as far as repairs beyond the expected oil change, trans flush, hoses, tires, and 2 batteries stuff. I had issues with the air conditioning switch failing a couple times. Paint was lousy - chipped easily. But it always started and ran well. Mileage far beyond this one at 204,000 (same engine and trans). Great in winter and a great size as a crossover. People often were surprised it was a Ford; it looked like a Lexus from a distance. Maybe the dark grey. Good vehicle. The Escape is smaller, but might share maintenance similarities. Just keep the fluids changed and you should be fine.

17th Nov 2018, 11:50

Yes I do own it. One correction though - the mileage is in km, not miles. It is now at 150k km and I just did the front brakes for the first time (pads and rotors). I also had one repair - the tailgate latch quit. It took 2 minutes to replace it (part was $120) but I did have the good sense to remove the interior panel at the first sign it was starting to go. It would be real hard to get the panel off if you can't open the tailgate.

29th Dec 2018, 02:56

I've got one with 93000 miles or 150000 km. Only oil changes and a trans fluid change. My biggest problem is the little insert in the driver's side door handles keeps popping off.

7th Jan 2019, 04:54

I have an Escape with 161,000 miles (259,000 km). I've only replaced the battery, A/C condenser, and rear wheel bearings. Most reliable car I've ever had.

2011 Ford Escape XLT 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Excellent vehicle, good workmanship, good value

Faults:

The Ford Escape is a superior product, in my view, to our former vehicle, which burdened us relentlessly with intense frustration and far too many warranty repairs on chronic transmission defects: gears, shifts, gearbox, clutch and manual transmission and more.

The Escape is highly reliable, strong, stylish, and its model label "Escape" delivers - you can escape the concrete jungle to take it anywhere in confidence and reliability. You can use this vehicle for a variety of purposes, and we love the better glass visibility and height all around compared to the poor visibility in a lower framed car, the Patriot.

The Escape will always be a favorite SUV in my family, and in particular, ours allowed us to "escape" the outrageous chronic problems of our former substandard nightmare, the 2008 Jeep Patriot. I regret not buying a Ford when we bought the Jeep. Ford respects its customers... no comment about the other company, but you can read between the lines.

Kerwin Maude, B.C., Canada

General Comments:

Excellent vehicle, highly dependable, good service from several Ford franchises, and above all, no issues in the past 2.5 years of ownership. We took it on a long 1,600km trip and never even sweated. Our former SUV, we couldn't even take it down the road without worrying about it breaking down; that speaks volumes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2014