1985 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1985 Ford Escort RS Turbo Series 1 1.6 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

A beautiful performance pocket rocket

Faults:

Nothing at all, the car has been 100% reliable since the day I purchased.

General Comments:

Great fun and lovely to drive. Steering can be heavy for parking and town driving but that is not what the car is about. Performance is outstanding with the few modifications I have done, the car will go as quick as you want to go without skipping a beat. They certainly still turn heads, even after 15 years. How many other cars still do that?

Cannot recommend highly enough, but make sure you buy a good one. These cars are now 15 years old and most have seen better days. Be prepared to spend a bit more to buy a proper, straight example.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2000

31st Mar 2001, 12:53

I don't believe the car has never missed a beat, I've had loads of them, there a good laugh but always go wrong...

22nd Apr 2001, 12:40

I've had one for fifteen years, mine isn't always going wrong. Maybe you know something I don't. Tell me more?

7th Dec 2003, 04:38

I owned one for 13 years, and the only thing that went wrong was the switch for the boot interior light.

They might not have the build integrity of VWs of similar vintage, but look after them and they're fine.

Problem is, far too many have been thrashed and abused.

I had to look at 21 cars (twenty-one) before I found one I was happy with, and this was when they were just 3 years old.

God help you now.

5th Jan 2004, 14:24

I've had my S1 For over a Year now, A true rare classic, She's had her fair share of problems though and bits are hard to find, Even with the niggly problems I wouldn't swap her for the world.

Series 1 The one and only 1 :)

10th Jun 2005, 14:30

Good S1 RS Turbo's are still around. I had first refusal on a friends car and had to wait 4 years before it was sold to me.

The main thing is to get one with as little rust as possible as they are prone to rust in a couple of MOT testable areas.

The body kit can also hide rust behind it.

1985 Ford Escort XR3i (RS Replica) 1.6 CVH petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 CVH petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta XR2

Summary:

Go for RS looks, or don't bother

Faults:

Recently killed the cylinder head, due to excess pressure in coolant hose caused by a blocked outlet from the header tank.

Hole in exhaust led the way for a Mongoose stainless.

General Comments:

Shortly after the car was bought, it was fitted with a S1 RS Turbo bodykit,and a set of RS 7 spoke alloys, opening rear 1/4 windows and a Mongoose exhaust. Now all that was required was to have the car painted as mine was red, and Series 1s were always white.

When the car returned I was very impressed with the looks of the car, a Recaro interior was added and much much more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2000

1985 Ford Escort GL 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10

Faults:

I bust the timing belt about two years ago but that was my fault for not changing it. The odd bit of welding and a few odds and sods since I bought it 4 years ago.

General Comments:

It is a great first time car, you can trash it and it is cheap to repair and to get parts for. It isn't much in the performance stakes but that's not why I bought it.

Always starts.

A great basic town runner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 1999

1985 Ford Escort GT 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
Engine and transmission 1.6
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10

Faults:

I cooked the engine twice, once needed to replace the head, due to massive coolant leaks (95,96,98).

Bad ignition module (97).

Bad heater core (98).

Clutch is about to go.

General Comments:

Rather old, but only 103K miles and I can't go three months without something significant going wrong. Good thing I got it for free to begin with. I need a new car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th January, 1999

1985 Ford Escort Estate Laser 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

New engine at 120,000 and normal repairs, replacements parts.

General Comments:

Excellent vehicle bought when two years old and still going strong. Mileage now 230,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 1997

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 12 reviews