2001 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2001 Ford Escort ZX2 16v from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 16v Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Crap-tastic. wish I had 2 for target practice

Faults:

Main problem after $2,000 in misc, repairs the dealer should have covered is I changed the spark plugs. Now I know what I'm doing, worked on cars and trucks all my life... now after a simple plug change engine can`t run smoothly, like miss firing. Maybe a sensor? good lord someone sue ford for all they do to us... this car is a mess...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th August, 2007

18th Feb 2011, 08:01

My Escort has 168,000 on it and I've changed plugs in it several times without it doing what you are talking about. Just how much mechanical ability do you "think" you have? Don't blame Ford, blame people who neglect their cars and "try" to work on them without knowing what they are doing...

2001 Ford Escort zx2 2.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

Transmission went bad.

Paint is fading.

Rubber around the seals are worn.

General Comments:

I bought the car with 60k on it. The next day I was driving around town and the transmission seemed to be slipping. I took it back to the dealer and they said nothing was wrong. I took it back 3 more times during my 3 month warranty.

After the warranty was up I took it to a transmission shop to take a look at it. I was right the transmission was bad. I had them rebuild it for 2500. This was over a year ago and its still acting up. It starts up with a jerk into the first shift, then it slides into the rest. After it warms up, the first shift is OK and the second shift jerks. Then after like 45mins of driving the car acts like it has no power. So I don’t know what to do anymore. I guess ill have to sell it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th June, 2007

19th Jun 2007, 18:49

How stupid do you have to be to not know that Ford builds terrible autos?

The manuals on the other hand are a cheap, reliable and durable workhorse.

You deserve a terrible car for not doing your homework before purchasing a car!

2001 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance1100 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

For the price ($8888), it's easily the best car on the market

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

For the price (I paid $8888) it is easily the best car for the money.

Aside from a nice sleek styling, it is surprisingly comfortable. I owned a 1995 Escort and this is an upgrade in every respect.

The dash is well displayed. The engine is very peppy. It's best feature is the nimble power steering - I've owned 200SX, Neon, Mirage and Sentra and none began to compare to the handling of the new Escort.

The ride is tight without sway.

One major downside: it is a very noisy ride. I don't why Ford can't quiet the vehicle a bit. But I can overlook that as it is a small car.

I would say the only better cars in it's class are the Focus, Civic, Protege & Corolla - but they cost a lot more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2001

2nd Mar 2001, 20:08

Where did you find a 2001 ZX2 for $8888.00? Please provide details!

Paul... :-)

E-mail me at ptarnuzzer@netzero.net

4th Aug 2001, 00:18

I currently own a 2000 Dodge neon & have driven the 2001 Escort ZX2 for a considerable distance & I found it lacked a lot of things, like the little nooks & places to put things that my Neon has, not only that but the engine pulls very rough even while remaining steady on the gas.

18th Oct 2002, 23:24

My 2001 Ford Escort SE is awesome. I got as a "get-to-college" car, but I am finding that I may want to hold on to this beauty for an extender period of time.

Only problem I've seen (heard) is the noisy engine, but no problem!! I have a pioneer system and fully loaded the car, and guess what? The speakers can handle it. I got the top of the line with automaitc evreything so I would highly recommend anyone to buy a 2000 or higher Escort SE series.

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 10 reviews