2002 Ford Escort Reviews

2002 Ford Escort ZX2 2.2L from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Pretty Junk

Faults:

Where to begin? A horrid ownership experience.

General Comments:

Beware - Fords are solid cars when they run, and seem like great used car values, but unless you're a shade tree mechanic, they will run you broke. My third and last Ford, a similar experience with each.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th October, 2011

15th Oct 2011, 19:02

Seriously deficient in details. 2/10 rating in reliability, but no explanation for this?

17th Mar 2012, 18:20

Did you really acquire this car at 430,000 miles?

2002 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Faults:

Just had to replace the transmission in it after putting a hole in the housing. Pressure plate and clutch were also replaced.

Wheel bearing is next on the list of replacement parts.

General Comments:

Generally a good running car, shifts cleanly and handles amazingly.

Picked it up for cheap, as it was beaten on by the previous owner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2010

2002 Ford Escort SE 2.0L from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles

Summary:

Very Dependable!!!

Faults:

Thermostat went out at 137000.

Flush Radiator at 138000.

Timing Belt replaced at 138000.

General Comments:

I have really not had any problems with the car, its very reliable and it still runs smooth as when I first got it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2007

2002 Ford Escort zx2 2.0L 4 cly. from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 cly. Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Probably the most enjoyable car I will ever own

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with the car besides me wrecking it : (... but its back together now and running strong as ever. :)

General Comments:

This is an amazing car for the price... Its fun to drive, reliable, good looking, performance is good (even better after my upgrades), a good selection of quality performance upgrades, and most importantly... IT Doesn't HAVE THAT CIVIC WEED WACKER SOUND!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2007

6th Apr 2007, 10:33

UH-OH! No Civic weed whacker sound? That is the sign of a well built quality engine. Are you sure you should not take your muffler off and see? Maybe that is why it makes no weed whacker noise? Well I am willing to bet that Honda still has better engines, even if they do sound like weed whackers.

2002 Ford Escort SE 2.0L from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Distance when acquired58200 miles
Most recent distance58400 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Looks like I probably made a mistake to buy it!

Faults:

Front right CV Boot leaking grease. Replaced entire axle shaft.

Left front wheel bearing replaced.

Emergency brake adjuster replaced---all the teeth on it were stripped.

Engine oil filthy, and Power Steering oil filthy. Replaced all fluids, at Ford Dealers for a total cost of $532.00. (Power steering fluid is STILL dirty, and Dealer said it had (still has?) metal shavings in it.)

Had air filter replaced, and more work done on emergency brake for $66.00.

Engine vibrates badly, and makes MUCH rattling noise.

General Comments:

I think I've spent over $1100 in just over the two (2) weeks that I've owned this vehicle. It was a "leased vehicle" which I bought for $4000, so I guess I "got what I paid for."

I absolutely DO want to get this awful "rattling noise" eliminated, but it's really the worst when the vehicle is in Drive, and stopped, with my foot on the brake.

Does anyone have any idea how a mechanic will be able to look under the car for the rattle, while the car is in Drive with the engine running, and a foot on the brake?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th December, 2006

11th Dec 2006, 18:07

I'm sure he'll have an assistant.

5th Mar 2007, 21:05

You know what's funny. I have the same rattling noise with my 2001 Escort. The same thing happens. Only while stopped and my foot on the brake. Also, now I am at 96,000 miles and my transmission is on the start of a down hill slope. I have spent over 750.00 in the last week on crap for this car and now they tell me the transmission fluid is VERY dirty. I don't even know what that means, but I know it is not good. So, yes if anyone has any advice... PLEASE HELP!! Thanks.

2002 Ford Escort from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles

Summary:

The car is confusing.

Faults:

I'm confused, I think its transmission problems.

General Comments:

I stopped at a stop light and pushed on the gas pedal my car wouldnt go. I towed it home and 1 hour later i started it and it went into gear and drove. I was told it needs a new transmission. I was also told that a filter and fluid change would fix the problem. any suggestions????????

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2006

2nd Dec 2007, 11:16

In any car, the transmission fluid and filter should be changed every 10k miles. Seeing that you've owned the car for about 25k miles, have you had the transmission fuild and filter changed at all yet to this point? If not, that might be your problem, especially if the previous owner never did it as well. However, not changing the fluid and filter can drastically shorten the lifespan of a transmission also. So if it's never been done, it's possible the transmission is worn out. Start with the cheap fix. Get the transmission fluid and filter changed. See if that cures the problem. If not, I would recommend calling your local Ford dealer to see if there are any open recalls or service bulletins for your car on transmission issues. If so, it should be free to get it fixed. If not, you might be looking at a transmission rebuild...$$$.

5th May 2008, 17:22

To the poster above: I don't think 25,000 miles on trans oil is going to wreck your transmission. I have a Pontiac Sunbird, and the GM manual says to change it after 100,000 miles. There isn't any combustion going on in the trans, so that means less junk in your oil (as compared to the engine's oil).

To the owner: If you think it is the trans oil for some reason, pull out the dipstick to the trans, and see if the oil is red. If it isn't smell it and see if it is burnt. Also, get some off the dipstick and rub it between your fingers. See if it feels gritty, or if there is metal in it.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 10 reviews