2002 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2002 Ford Escort ZX2 16v DOHC 2.0L Zetec w/vct on exhaust cam from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 16v DOHC 2.0L Zetec w/vct on exhaust cam Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance89996 miles

Summary:

VTEC this!

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

Under-appreciated sport compact, faster than an SVT Focus at 1/8th the price.

A lot of power for a small car, many modifications available, and a great community to help out.

The seats are so comfortable you could fall asleep in them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2006

26th May 2006, 15:47

I don't know how you figure they are quick, I have one and I also have 1995 and 1998 Dodge Neon's, that will wax this Escort all over and back!! I haven't taken this car to the track, but I'd bet it would be in the 18s or so. My 1998 Neon is a low 13 second car, with just over $4,000 invested, and after I upgrade the fuel and a bigger turbo, I'll be in the low 12's!!

2002 Ford Escort ZX2 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired29 miles
Most recent distance4600 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Not worth the money I'm paying for it

Faults:

Car had no freon in it at 2000 miles.

Break dust really bad since purchased.

Breaks squeak since purchased.

Car has a bad vibration since purchased.

General Comments:

Ford claims to have no cure for the vibration, I just have to live with it.

Car drives nice, other than the vibration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd June, 2003

3rd Jul 2003, 15:17

I've owned 5 escorts and never had any trouble with any of them, no vibrations at all. They're well worth the money they sold for new; good gas mileage. I think they came a long ways since they came out, in the early 80s?

10th Jan 2004, 20:28

I own a 2002 ford escort, and it vibrates a TON as well. Buyer beware...

2002 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 Zetec from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Zetec Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carMazda B2300

Summary:

Great sporty car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong since I bought the car.

General Comments:

Great price, great performance.

Gas mileage is excellent.

The only downside is the engine noise when driving down the highway. The engine runs at about 3500 RPM at 75 MPH.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2002

21st Jun 2003, 22:58

I will give you a word of advice. hope you like walking.

12th Feb 2004, 12:27

Gee, thanks. Got any more nuggets of wisdom like that to share?

Yes?

Keep them to yourself!

7th Mar 2011, 02:26

In my experience with Civics, standard transmissions run at high RPMs. My SI did 70 MPH at 3500 RPM. It was a bit annoying, but I was still able to pass people without downshifting.

2002 Ford Escort ZX2 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles

Faults:

It just stops running and the power steering locks up, there is no sputtering or anything, it just stops running. This does not happen regularly, only every 2000 miles or so.

General Comments:

The technicians at Ford cannot find the problem, their answer is to drive it until something breaks. If any one can help with some info, it would be appreciated. My 17 year old daughter drives this car and I am worried about her safety.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th July, 2002

26th Jul 2002, 10:40

I see that it is a manual. if you or your daughter is down shifting when this happens, and is in that gear for a long time with hi R P M 's than that will happen. it is called beating the crap out of your car. and it is called user error. my car does this sometimes when I'm driving to too hard. if you are not doing this than your guess is as good as mine. drive safe.

20th Apr 2009, 10:42

Does it give any codes?

Especially a po340.

I am dealing with one right now that's doing same thing, and has a po340 code (camshaft position sensor). Have replaced sensor, wiring, and computer. Get the same readings.

I used a salvage computer and I am wondering if this is an inherent problem and I need to get a brand new computer?

Or if this is a really weird problem, in which case when I figure it out I'll post it.

9th Dec 2010, 18:20

Replace your upper and lower (upstream and downstream) O2 sensors. If you need help doing it, let me know, I will walk you through it. There isn't much I can't do mechanically with an Escort ZX2, so any other questions about it, feel free to ask... Shoot me an email to ScribbledCanvas@aol.com

Don't waste your money having it done in a shop when you can do it by yourself for just the cost of parts...

That goes for anyone else with questions too. I will gladly answer them!

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 10 reviews