25th Mar 2010, 12:32

I have a 2002 bought new, don't have the idle vibration. It just had a 50K tune up and fluid/filter change for the transmission. I wonder if the vibration stems from the quality of the gas. Mine only gets Chevron or Shell. I have never put anything else in it.

25th Mar 2010, 16:38

Are your engine and tranny mounts failing?

23rd Aug 2010, 15:41

To the person 2 posts above, stating that it could be gas. What gas do you put in it? Which grade - low, medium, or high?

20th Nov 2010, 00:32

My parents got me the '02 Ford ZX2 as a birthday present. It had 98k on it. As soon as I drove it away, I noticed the vibration when idling in gear. I mentioned it to my Dad, and he said he probably just need a tune up. So, after a tune up/oil change the vibration was still there. After researching, and asking around, I was assured that was it was the car, they all did it, something about faulty engine mounts? Anywho, so in 6 months, a new oil pan, thermostat, starter, brakes, timing belt, and tires, my engine seized up at 106K.. would I get another one? Probably not..

8th Jan 2011, 13:14

Timing belt idler pulley (02 Escort ZX2 2.0ltr DOHC)

The bolt for my idler pulley that supports the timing belt snapped off 1/8inch from head. I replaced pulley, correctly timed the engine. Got in, running GREAT. After I put 20 miles on the new idler pulley, the bolt snapped in THE SAME PLACE. What would cause this?

I've been told that it could be a bad tensioner pulley, but mine free spins smooth. What would cause the timing belt to tighten or seize? I've also been told that the new pulley I put on, could have just so happened to be a defective part (but what are the odds?)

Any information as to the cause of this snapping bolt would be greatly appreciated.

22nd Mar 2011, 22:03

I bought an actual set of workshop manuals on ebay for the 2002 Escort/ZX2 for $56.00. It was worth it.

17th May 2011, 20:25

I'm trying to figure out the whole "vibration" problem in my mom's 2003 ZX2 as well.

I agree that the way this engine, or possibly the tranny, was made was a manufacture defect. I've tried all kinds of things to help this. Replaced all the mounting brackets, tune up, cleaned the MAF, possibly might look into the IAC motor.

However, whenever I hooked up my scan tool, I read that the fuel trim was in the high 20's at about +27. I tell you right now this is not good. I expect fuel trim at idle to be at about - or + 3. I'm not a mechanic but do go to school for this. So maybe the fuel trim reading can help someone else out there figure this problem out. Also did a vacuum test with propane and brake cleaner. Didn't find squat.

28th May 2011, 07:04

My mom owns a 03 ZX2 as well, and since day one it has vibrated, kind of had a rough idle, and you barely tap the gas pedal, and the thing just takes off, like you just took a whip to its ass.

I told her before she bought it, that it didn't look good to me, but she insisted, so now I'm out to find the solution to the infamous vibrating ZX2's. I did a fuel trim test to find out it was in the +20's, which is definitely out of range. I've heard it could be a vacuum leak, bad MAF, or bad engine mounts. I've replaced both MAF and mounts, and checked for the leak, and got nothing. Not sure if there is an actual problem with the car, or if it's possibly a manufacturing defect Ford hasn't even diagnosed yet, but all I can say is that I would "NOT RECOMMEND" this car to anyone.

So good luck to those who already have been stuck with this pain-in-the-ass! Thanks, and have a great day LOL.

30th Oct 2011, 23:51

I have a 2002 ZX2 with the same problem; I guess my shifter got stuck in park. I had to break it loose for it to shift into D, and now when I shift the car into the lower gears, it seems to not want to shift; I guess something is broken inside the shifter. And when I put in Park, I have to let the shifter clap into place, for me to take out the key LOL.

18th Nov 2011, 20:58

It's one of the drive pulleys.

12th Jan 2012, 08:15

Hi, about the bolt breaking off like that on the 2002 Ford, we have a ZX2 that is having the same problem. Please email me if you got it figured out!! Melissa_N_Marty@cox.net

10th Feb 2012, 09:17

You need to replace your serpentine belt tensioner pulley most likely. I used to have the same problem, and upon closer inspection, I noticed the tensioner pulley was slightly out of square with the belt and other pulleys. Replaced it myself, and it has never come off again.

27th Mar 2012, 14:41

It is the small wheel on the right side of the engine. It is for one of the belts. It looks like a roller skate wheel. Approximately 50 dollars to replace the wheel.

26th Jul 2012, 19:02

The engine in the ZX2 does not have a balance shaft by poor design. Any automatic equipped car will have the vibration. There is a TSB for this issue, but it seems very unlikely it would fix the issue. The mass of the vibrating engine versus the relatively low mass of the car's body seems to set up a drumming effect at certain RPM and vibration points. Really, the only thing you can do is put the car in neutral at stop signs.

30th Aug 2012, 11:55

In response to the slippage of the serpentine belt, I was working on the front axle of the car, and took the plastic cover off that was behind the wheel. I forgot to replace it, and because the tensioner pulley is pretty low, the tire spin threw water on the pulley, and it causes the belt to slip; check that before sending it to be repaired.

And as per the vibration problem, after market engine mounts/supports drastically reduce the vibration in the car, but I also recommend regular tune ups, and a yearly trans oil change.

11th Sep 2012, 09:32

Wow, I really appreciate all of the comments. I just bought a 2002 Ford Escort with 80,000 miles yesterday. When I test drove it, it seemed okay, but after taking it home, there was that horrible vibration in idle problem. I called one of the mechanics of the previous owner (the first mechanic I spoke with before buying the car did not mention the problem of course), but this one was honest and knew right away about the problem - he said all engine mounts had been replaced and the vibration was a problem with this model. He said he tried everything and it's not a safety issue; just very annoying. I really appreciate a couple of the comments that mentioned putting the car in neutral when it idles and the vibration stops, I will try this. Of course like someone else said, remember to shift back into drive before moving!

16th Feb 2013, 15:29

How did you replace the idler pulley!? I've been trying to replace mine, but when I'm removing the bolt, it runs into the wheel well. I can get it near the end, but it's like the last few threads won't come out because I run out of room: the bolt runs into the wheel well.

Please help! My email is dpbzb1@gmail.com.

20th Jul 2013, 15:36

So I have of course a Ford Escort 2002 ZX2, and it jerks sometimes. It jerked back today, then acted like it didn't want to speed up over 30 miles per hour. I got kinda worried and took the car to Advance Auto. The man said I may need transmission oil. He checked and my fluid was good. The car works okay now, but I'm wondering if anyone else had this problem, and if it's the start of something big, or something not to worry about?

18th Nov 2013, 14:23

I wedged the motor towards the driver's side and then I had enough room to remove the bolt...

19th Nov 2013, 08:23

About the car jerking. My Mamma's 99 Taurus did that. Turned out it was a bad speed sensor.