2001 Ford Excursion Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2001 Ford Excursion Limited 7.3 Powerstroke from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 7.3 Powerstroke Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired29900 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

It's a keeper, I can't see myself selling this anytime soon

Faults:

The 6 disc changer went out at 30000 and was covered under warranty.

The only other thing to go out on this truck is the alternator conveinantly at 38000 miles, 2000 miles after the warranty ended.

General Comments:

I have been extremely happy with the performance, and comfort so far. I have had it almost 2 years.

The Diesel is very powerful and I have not done anything to increase the power yet.

It pulls my 30' travel trailer at 70 mph and doesn't care.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2005

2001 Ford Excursion Limited 7.3 turbo diesel from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 7.3 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance58300 miles
Previous carGMC Suburban

Summary:

Very poorly designed vehicle

Faults:

The power steering pump has failed twice.

The automatic hubs have failed to lock in several times. New hubs did not correct the problem.

The rear brake calipers are not releasing, causing the rear brakes to over heat.

General Comments:

I have had a problem with stability when pulling a trailer from the time the truck was new. Installing Michelin tires in place of the Firestone's that came on the truck helped, but the problem still exists. Ford reps blamed the trailer, but I hooked onto the trailer with a Suburban at a roadside rest and I could relax and drive with one hand. My dealer installed a rear sway bar, but it did not help. So I am stuck with an expensive vehicle that I bought to pull a trailer and it keeps me on guard every minute I am pulling a trailer.

The vehicle rides very rough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th April, 2005

23rd Aug 2005, 20:34

I would suggest a Hensley Arrow to pull a large trailer with the Excursion. I just bought one replacing my Suburban Pull-Rite & it is as good or better. No sway and cornering is much better than the Pull-Rite.

2nd Jan 2006, 21:51

2005. Last year of the Excursion.

I contacted Ford with the sloppy front end problem. Ford of course told me it must be in my head, and this is the first time they have ever heard of this. A Ford Rep.Tech, took my truck for a drive and said it rides like the rest, and there is no problem with my truck.

My problem is the truck seems to wander around on the road, and Ford won't fix it. I am upset at Ford for selling me an expensive, badly designed truck, that keeps both hands on the steering wheel when towing.

I wish there was a fix. If anybody knows of one, please contact my email address at eurika7655@yahoo.com.

2001 Ford Excursion XLT diesel from North America

Year of manufacture2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

If you tow or haul and have a family - this vehicle does the job!

Faults:

So far - only the front wheel bearing which was replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Great vehicle - tows well, uses less fuel than (16 mpg combined) my last vehicle. Much less when towing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2003

2001 Ford Excursion 7.3 Powerstroke diesel from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 7.3 Powerstroke diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

A rub it in your face awesome SUV!!!

Faults:

Nothing has really went wrong with the car except the wind shield wiper motor had to be replaced, but other than that, perfect!!!

General Comments:

The space is awesome!!

The diesel engine is great!

The GPS system is wonderful and the entertainment package is outstanding.

The only complaint is the gas mileage, mine being a diesel gets a lot better than the gas, but mine is 4x4 and gets around 14mpg (not too bad).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2002

8th Jun 2002, 21:16

Your right, the fuel mileage isn't that bad. I know someone who has the V-10; it gets nine miles to the gallon.

18th Aug 2002, 14:47

Myself I have a gasoline Excursion 4X4 that gets 16 MPG on the highway. With a family as large as ours, we had to buy a larger sized vehicle.

I first wanted to check into an Expedition, but compared to the Excursion, it was too small for our family. As for the comment on it Not handling well, it's NOT a compact that is made to fit into small compact parking spaces or such, but compared to our 3/4 ton 4X4 pick up truck, it has MUCH better steering and mobility! Better than even my full sized conversion van had.

I love my truck!! It's sad that they will discontinue to make this due to their poor gas mileage. No one buys this vehicle for it's gas mileage, Ford knew that when they made it. I wonder how many other large SUV's will follow Ford's axing of their Excursion? : (

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 6 reviews