2004 Ford Excursion Reviews

2004 Ford Excursion Limited 6.0 turbo diesel from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 6.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carFord F350

Summary:

Trade in your Suburban NOW!!! While theres still an Excursion left

Faults:

Fuel delivery system went out at May 1st 2010. Only problem I have ever had with this rig.

You tend to forget just how huge this truck is until you roll by a window and see its reflection. Due to how well it drives.

General Comments:

My 2004 Ford Excursion 6.0 liter TD is the best of the true SUV's left out there.

Plenty of power. I bought this truck to haul as many of my friends and their dirt bikes as I could, wherever we needed to go, at anytime, for any reason.

Needless to say it fulfills every expectation I have had. Doesn't matter what the weather is or was.

Winter 2008, I had 8 people in the truck towing a 28 ft covered trailer with a Nissan Extera, as well as a Polaris RZR and two dirt bikes inside. We trekked over Mt. Hood in a winter storm. With no chains! Not one problem. Approx. trailer weight 10.500 11.000 lbs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2010

2004 Ford Excursion Eddie Bauer 6.0 turbo diesel from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 6.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carGMC Suburban

Summary:

King of the road, Excellent!

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

This has a very comfortable ride for a 3/4 ton SUV. The handling of this vehicle is outstanding for it's size. The powerful diesel engine provides plenty of horsepower to meet anything you could possible want to do with it. I find nothing that is bad about this vehicle. I previously had a 3/4 ton GMC Suburban that was a diesel and there is just know comparing the two. I recommend this vehicle to anyone who likes it big.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2008

2004 Ford Excursion Limited V10 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V10 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Solid truck, but the V-10 is a waste

Faults:

Needed to have the rear right door panel replaced because my clumsy son slipped when he was getting out, and his place to grab was the top of the trim piece. his fall, and all of his 170 pounds cracked the top of it, as well as nearly yanking it out of the door.

The number 5 cylinder began to mis-fire at around 66000 miles, mechanic fixed.

Nothing else.

General Comments:

Fairly powerful with the V-10, but it's a complete waste. It has to be the biggest gas guzzler on the face of the planet, I get an average of 9-10. terrible! It sounds so strong though, but it can't tow all that well. I should have gone with the diesel. The 4x4 works wonderfully. The inside gives off a huge, airy feel well, because it IS. It is very cozy, and is packed with features. I can barely reach across and touch my wife's shoulder in the passenger seat. The leather looks sharp with the rich wood trim stuff. The dashboard feels cheap though. Tt has a pretty hard ride too, very bumpy.

It's very reliable, and I would recommend it to anyone, but get the diesel. The 5.4 is just plain too small, and the V-10 is powerful, but it's a gas hog. The diesel doesn't hog gas very much, and it can tow a building.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th February, 2007

9th Feb 2007, 00:20

To the previous comment, if you have a car period you contribute to hurting the environment. This person is just hurting the environment more.

9th Feb 2007, 10:06

Sorry, but that's simply not the case and the federal government has taken steps over the years to prove that (mandatory airbags, gas guzzler tax on cars, etc.).

Yeah, you can drive your Excursion. Just make sure you pay the FULL cost including a gas guzzler tax, a war-for-oil tax, and lots of other taxes you should be paying.

2004 Ford Excursion Eddie Bauer 6.0 ower Stroke diesel from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6.0 ower Stroke diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance13783 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

This truck does everything well!

Faults:

Engine #3 fuel injector connector found loose.

A/C system developed a leak on the high side. Both repaired at no charge by the dealer.

General Comments:

Great highway vehicle. Good ride and a very roomy interior. The Diesel is the way to go. Lots of power, good fuel economy. This truck has a 44 gallon tank and will go 1000 miles on a tank of diesel fuel. Set the cruise control at 50 mph and you'll get 25 mpg. At 65-75 mph, 22 mpg. In city driving, 17.5. I love being able to go 5 weeks between visits to the gas station. This vehicle has a very solid, safe feel to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2006

17th Jun 2010, 16:54

How much does it cost you to fill up this beast that allows you to go 5 weeks between fill ups???

Average review marks: 9.0 / 10, based on 5 reviews