2001 Ford Expedition Reviews

2001 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 5.4 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 5.4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

Best vehicle I have ever owned

Faults:

Nothing; usual wear and tear; brakes, tires, battery, spark plugs, and serpentine belt and ball joints replaced at 101,000 miles.

General Comments:

I bought this Expedition with about 1,000 miles on it. I've had it 10 years, 110,000 miles. I've worried over it all these years, hearing the horror stories from other owners. However, I must have a guardian angel, because I've had no problems, and it turns out to have been one of the best, most reliable vehicles I have ever owned. I have owned 12 Fords in my life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2011

2001 Ford Expedition XLT Sport 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

Solid transportation

Faults:

Replaced front ball joints at 75k.

Rear windshield wiper worked when it wanted to.

Fuel injectors cleaned at 80K.

Trans slipped some at 100K, but never went out on us.

That's about it except for normal routine maintenance.

General Comments:

Served us very well over 9 years and 160000 miles...

Great ride on long trips.

Got about 17 MPG all around avg... 4.6 not to good for pulling, get the larger V8 for that.

Downsized to a 2009 Ford Focus, and we really like it!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2010

2001 Ford Expedition XLT from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

My Ford Expedition XLT is great!

Faults:

Only water in my gas tank, nothing major.

General Comments:

My Expedition XLT is the best I have ever owned, I have owned in the past a Caddy, Chevy, and other cars, but my 2001 FORD EXPEDITION XLT is the best and I love it. It looks good inside and outside, it's in good shape because I take good, good care of it, it's my baby, and I feel good when driving it. It's really got a great trunk, and is fun to drive. I LOVE IT.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2009

2001 Ford Expedition XLT 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

I'll never buy a Expedition if Ford don't do a recall on this SUV

Faults:

I have a 2001 Expedition 2wd 4.6 engine, and I had to replace the coil sensor on the passenger side, but the one at the very back, and it was running good for around 1/2 a year till one day I was coming back from Texas, and it just shot the coil sensor and burned the spark plug...this is the same problem I've had twice since I owned it... and I hate to say that people I know that have Expedition's, some of them had the same problem...

I think Ford should be calling a recall on this SUV... but now I went for something else instead of a Ford. I went for imports and bought me a Mitsubishi Eclipse instead a Mustang, which I was planning to buy...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd June, 2009

13th Jun 2012, 11:47

I have had the same problem, and I agree I will not buy another Ford. The Ford company should do a recall on this problem.

2001 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 5.4 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.4 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.7 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carFord F250 Super Duty

Summary:

Great all around hauler

Faults:

Shifter became loose around 100k miles, and starting became an issue in park. Searched the web and found a site that described the problem; a loose bracket on the shift cable under the dash. Took ten minutes and problem was resolved.

I expected slightly better fuel mileage.

Have noticed some random misfires when accelerating up hill. Searched the web, sounds like maybe I have a coil on plug starting to go.

General Comments:

Over all we are VERY pleased with the vehicle. We have added 65k miles in less than 3 years, and it still runs strong. We use it in the Colorado mountains and it performs great, even pulling our 5k pound boat. Lots of room and comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2008

2001 Ford Expedition XLT 5.4 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

It's probably the best Ford I've ever owned

Faults:

I've had no work done on this Expedition other than one tune-up, tires, regular oil changes and brakes, which I do myself.

General Comments:

This has the towing package and rides like a truck. I don't have a problem with that because I bought it to replace an F-150.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2008

2001 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 4x4 5.4 V8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.4 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance40069 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

My Expedition is a poor quality, over priced vehicle

Faults:

Rain gutter channel in roof had to be repainted due to rusting within one year of purchase.

Replaced window trim on left rear door due to ill fit and looseness.

Replaced driver side rear view mirror due to terrible vibration making it nearly impossible to see anything in the mirror.

Replaced entire transmission and transmission cooling unit at 40,000 miles.

General Comments:

I couldn't be more disappointed in this vehicle. There have been minor nagging problems throughout my ownership of it and generally the vehicle has proven to be of poor quality.

The icing on the cake of my disappointment is my transmission going out with only 40,000 miles on the odometer. Apparently, the torque converter failed, spreading metal shrapnel throughout the transmission ruining the entire unit and the transmission cooling system too. This is going to set me back $3500.00 and there is no recourse as my warranty period expired a year ago and I'm also 4,000 miles past the mileage limit. Maybe that is why Ford only offers a 3 year, 36 thousand mile warranty?! Very disappointing and unacceptable for $42,500 vehicle!!

Needless to say, this will definitely be my last Ford vehicle. I still own one other (a '93 Explorer), but this experience has killed any desire to try another Ford product!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th November, 2005

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 11 reviews