2001 Ford Expedition Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2001 Ford Expedition Eddie Baur V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance45150 kilometres
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

Expensive to run, but gives a comfortable ride with a feeling of safety

Faults:

Transmission blew within the first month! Took another month to get a new one shipped up and installed.

Many minor intermittent problems with the indicator cluster panel - false problem lights coming on, odometer failing to come on, etc.

Biggest annoyance is the backup radar sensors. They seem to always come on when it is cold and damp or raining, giving a false indication that the vehicle is backing into something. I had the dealer replace the sensors twice, but it is still failing. The worst part was the service advise: "if the noise bothers you, you can turn it off!" Huh? I want the thing to work so I can back up this monster and not back into something!

General Comments:

In general, I like Ford products, and have been a Ford customer for many years.

I leased an Expedition 6 years ago, and was very pleased with the vehicle and the service. When the lease was up, I opted for another Expedition, and was very disappointed in how much trouble I have had so far with it. The lease is almost up, and I am now seriously debating whether to get another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2004

2001 Ford Expedition XLT 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130 miles
Most recent distance15050 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

A nice-sized SUV which has off-road capability

Faults:

Two transmission sensors had to be replaced at 14,900 miles - was causing the 4x4 light to periodically turn on and off.

General Comments:

The 2001 Expedition XLT is a pleasure to drive. While it doesn't off the comfort of a 4-door sedan or the turning speed of a lower, more aero-dynamic automobile, it's a very dependable vehicle which offers the driver a great view of the road and decent MPG of 15-17.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2003

10th Jun 2004, 13:39

XLT, Not quite an Eddie Bower, but a very nice ride. No issues at 45,000 miles, just regular maintenance. Comfortable seats, plenty of room for the kids and/or adults. Luggage area is tight, but proper packing can eliminate that issue. On a scale from 1 to 10 considering all factors I would give the expedition an 8.7.

Considerations, gas mileage, usefulness, looks, comfort, etc.

17th Jan 2008, 12:18

I have a 2001 Eddie Bauer Expedition and love it! I now have close to 100,000 miles and the only problem is one ignition coil that burnt out. I would buy another tomorrow!

2001 Ford Expedition XLT 5.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18500 miles
Most recent distance24900 miles
Previous carMazda Navajo

Summary:

A necessary vehicle for me, but bad choice.

Faults:

The steering box seals were leaking at 21,000 miles.

The front drivers side and passenger side doors rattle.

The engine has a slightly rough idle when warmed up.

General Comments:

Ford replaced the steering gearbox.

I have taken the vehicle to the dealer on two occasions for the rattles in the doors, but Ford does not did not repair the rattles. They could not detect the rattle in the drivers side and after fixing the rattle on the passenger side it has gotten worse.

Ford claims that there is no rough idle. I took it to an independent mechanic who claimed that that engine, with the low mileage, should not have the rough idle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th November, 2002

2001 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 5.4 gas from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.4 gas Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance3752 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

When you buy a Ford Expedition, there is a higher than normal chance it could be a lemon

Faults:

From day one the car had a buzz in idle while stopped in gear. It also had a vibration/moan at highway speed. Ford installed new engine mounts, changed tires and added an exhaust vibration damper. None of this has worked. Now they say "well it is a truck and we have done all we can to solve the problem". Ford admits the problem is still there, but says there is nothing else they can try. I will continue until it is right, or replaced with another Expedition. This same problem has existed in a number of earlier Expeditions, but I quess they have not wanted to spend the money to fix the problem. Some people have had the Expeditions replaced and some the purchase price refunded. I feel the more people are aware of this problem, the better chance everyone will have getting a problem Expedition repaired.

General Comments:

Ford admitted to me they know about this problem. There is internal information regarding it, however they will not share this information with me or the public.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th December, 2000

2nd Mar 2002, 16:41

We bought a Ford 1/2 ton conversion with the same problem. Took it to Wal mart, got new tires and it doesn't vibrate at all. Also it could be a bent rim. We have a 1987 Ford Ranger with a bent rim and when you hit about 55-60 MPH it starts vibrating. I don't know if this is what is wrong, but it might be worth a look.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 11 reviews