2000 Ford Expedition XLT from North America - Comments

6th Oct 2004, 22:06

I recently bought a 2000 Eddie Bauer with 81000 miles on it for 4k under Kelley blue book and it's been the most wonderful purchase of my life, the transmission is solid, the motor (5.4) pulls with plenty of muscle. I took it to Ford to get the code for the outside lock and they were more than happy to find it and showed me how it works (for free). Very happy.

15th Dec 2004, 11:58

Ha sounds like they should have a recall on the child lock doors. I have the same problem. Right now I just hit 80,000 miles. The first year I had it had a problem where the digital gas gauge or the non-digital gauge where messing up and reading the wrong thing so I ran out of gas. This fixed its self. From then on it was good in till 75,000 miles where then the Front suspension messed up cost a total of 2,200. Then the car would not regulate R.P.M. whale idling and would die at a complete stop= 500. Most recent problem is the Cruse control went out and problem for that was some motor liquid was leaking on some part of the control device.=50 Other than that the best car I have had. Hoping to get 120,000 miles out of this beast.

6th Jan 2005, 11:53

My mom has an 00 and the engine is a little slow when u need to pass no probs with tranny all you have to do is check the fluids.

19th Jan 2005, 17:05

I am also having problems with my child safety lock on the passenger side door. Now I am having problems with the door adjar sensors constantly going off at random times. If any one has any suggestions please let me know. Seems like it is making it hard for my car to start in the cold weather. Tranny is good, and everything else is good. Just around 60,000 miles. Sounds like to me they need to fix a few things on this.

4th Feb 2005, 08:48

UPDATE (from reviewer) : I Wrote the original review, and I have some updates.

The car just hit 60,000 miles. Since I wrote the original review only one major problem has come about. Turns out the engine gunning was serious. It got worse, so I took it to the dealer. They couldn't find out what the problem was, so they replaced the whole transmission. Ever since it has been working fine.

I am still satisfied with this SUV for the most part..

20th Feb 2005, 18:54

I heard about the cruise control problem on the national news. I had my 2000 expedition XLT in the shop for a problem with the #6 cylinder which had to be replaced ($500). This after the #7 and #8 cylinders had gone two months earlier ($700). Too diagnose this problem the dealership performed routine maintenance too try and eliminate the problem which was serious hesitation and bucking at around 40 mph. This included fuel injection cleaning and replacement of the fuel filter ($400). Just had water pump replaced due to antifreeze leak ($250). Front and rear brakes along with front rotors had to be replaced ($450). All of this at 44,000 miles. This is the biggest piece of crap I have ever owned and now am looking to cut my losses and go back to foreign. B.T.W. back to my first comment. While my car was at the Ford dealer I mentioned the upcoming recall on the cruise control, he knew nothing about it. He said he couldn't do anything about it until he looked into it. I told him just to disconnect it which is what the news suggested until the replacement parts came in. Shouldn't the dealers know this before the general public.

1st Mar 2005, 00:39

I just bought my 2000 Ford Expedition - I'm probably just being "paranoid" but seems like the doors sort of rattle, or is it just the truck as a whole? Anyone else seem to notice this? Only on bumpy rides of course, but before I take it in under my extended warranty, thought I'd get opinions. Thanks for the input.

18th Mar 2005, 08:03

I am about to go out and purchase a 2000 Expedition with 57K. Thanks for all the information. It has been very helpful. As far as the door ajar problems that I have been reading about, I thought maybe I could help. I currently own a 2000 Taurus and I was having the same problem. I took it to a friend who owns a body shop and for $12 he replaced the locking mechanism and it works perfectly now. There was a little piece of plastic that peeled off part of the lock and it was jamming the locking mechanism. It was driving me crazy, but it was realitivly easy to correct. Hope this helps.

27th Mar 2005, 18:56

I own a 2002 Ford Super duty, but the door lock mechanism is virtually the same. To save yourself some money you do not need to take your ford product to the dealer for the "door ajar" problem. The micro switch in the door latch gets gummed up with dirt. All you need to do is spray the door latch down thoroughly with some penetrating lube and that should fix the problem.

23rd Aug 2005, 13:42

I currently own a 00 expedition, which is a 4x4 and equipped with the 3rd. seat. My family and I love the truck. We play hard with it and work hard with it. I currently have 83k miles on it. I do have the rear door lock issue. But lately I have been blowing a 15 amp fuse that controls my interior lights, running board lights, rear ac controls and electric windows. I plan to take the truck in for the re-call (crews), and then ask to see why the fuse keeps blowing? I understand that the explorer has a similar issue? Please let me know if you have any information about this issue. Thanks, MM/Raleigh, NC.

11th Mar 2006, 18:19

Is it common for a whole cylinder head to come flying out the left front quarter panel? ford says they don't kno what caused it. they only replaced it under warranty because its obvious the car has been VERY well maintained. any opinions?

30th May 2006, 23:05

I have an '00 model expedition 4x4. I'm currently at about 95,000 miles and still running strong. had a few transmission and suspension problems, but that was easily caught the first time and fixed at the dealership.

Other than that, this SUV is a beast in 4WD during the winter, as we get about 3 heavy snow storms a year where I'm at; and that's with all season tires. I can only imagine what it would be like with snow tires.

My '00 seems to have more performance compared to my '05 LTD 4x4, which seems a bit watered down, as well as, a little heavier.

2nd Nov 2006, 10:10

I have a 2000 Eddie Bauer 4x4. I purchased this truck Brand New with 11kms on the clock (I'm from Canada). All I've ever done is regular maintenance by the book. Changed wear and tear items only and had the cruise control repaired under the recall. 468,500 kms later (291,000miles) later and no problems at all. I regualrly use it to tow our family trailer around and make regular visits to a lot of far away places (hence the high kms). It's the BEST SUV I've ever owned. Before this I owned a 94 Suburban and spent about $7000 on over and about the regular maintentance objects (major parts were a transmission, and 4wheel drive components that went bad). Anyways, Expeidtions are the best in my opinion. Basically, treat your vehicle with respect, don't push it over the limit and it'll be a good vehicle for a long time.