2004 Ford Explorer XL 4.0 from North America


I regret my choice of vehicle


Heater core, ignition coil, fuel pump, catalytic converter.

General Comments:

I will never ever owned a Ford vehicle again in my life. The name Ford fits the problems, found on road dead, fix or repair daily. Ford was warning us, but we buyers ignored the acronym and its meaning. They knew we would experience all these problems, yet they manufactured them any way. My uncle always told me before he died, to never waste my money on a Ford product. Sorry, I did not listen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd May, 2015

3rd May 2015, 18:07

At almost 10 years old and 146K miles you can't expect new-car reliability. I haven't bought Ford for about 30 years, but I'm sure a new one would be as reliable as most other makes.

3rd May 2015, 20:46

Really!! You bought a vehicle with 146K miles on it, and it... (gasp) needed repairs!

And Ford was "warning us" with those stupid tired acronyms, but you didn't listen to them (or your dead uncle)?

4th May 2015, 00:25

Catalytic converters are not supposed to last a vehicle's lifetime.

6th May 2015, 06:05

Heater core, fuel pump, ignition coil, catalytic converter. Not bad at all for a 146,000 mile aging Ford product. Given the age and mileage, it's considered a clunker by most standards. Usually found on a buy here-pay here lot.

2004 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0L from North America




Auto trans blew up; front and rear wheel bearings bad; front ball joints bad. LEMON.

General Comments:

This SUV was poorly designed mechanically and expensive to repair. But it runs good with decent power. I am a dealer, and lost my shirt on this vehicle. $1500 for used trans and many other parts to repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd June, 2011

2004 Ford Explorer XLT 4.6 liter from North America


A cool babe magnet



General Comments:

I love this truck. I got a great deal at a family owned used car lot for $10,000.

This Explorer has the same 4.6 liter V8 as in my previous car, which is a 1997 Thunderbird. In the SUV, the motor seems more gutsy.

I bought this truck because even though my T-Bird has been a great car (I wrote a review on it as well) it was beginning to cost me more on repairs. Not only that, the car is really not meant for more than two people!

I have only had the Explorer for only a week, but you better believe I will hold on to this one! I have always wanted an Explorer. Now I finally have it in my color (Medium Wedgewood Blue). After I make a few payments, I will be installing a Flowmaster exhaust.

I could not be happier!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2009

2004 Ford Explorer Limited 4.6L V8 from North America




This truck has treated me very well. The only problem was the 4x4 sensor to kick in the 4x4 automatically screwed up so it would lock in my front end a second to late and it would clunk.

Other than that, my truck's been awesome. Love the power of the V-8, love all the options. The DVD player in the back keeps the people in the backseat busy.

An all around good truck, and an awesome 4x4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2008

2004 Ford Explorer XLT Sport Trac Adrenalin 4.0 from North America


A big waste of my money!


Passenger heated seat switch faulty from day one.

Fit and finish was not Job one.

Right rear window intermittently worked from day one.

Cruise control failed at 12,000 miles.

Turn signals lost their seal and fogged.

Fuel gauge worked intermittently, at best, from three months of ownership until the day I traded it in.

The paint on the front bumper peeled off.

Factory installed hard tonneau cover leaked from day one.

At 21000 miles the entire front suspension had to be rebuilt.

General Comments:

I purchased my first Ford in 1994 and loved it dearly until the day I had to trade up to something larger to haul my family. The obvious choice was the Ford Explorer Sport Trac. Since I loved my Ranger so much I figured why not go all the way, and get a Sport Trac with every bell and whistle including the Adrenalin package. Boy was I wrong.

The only two good points that this vehicle had the entire time I owned it were,

1. It towed a trailer like a son of a gun.

2. The stereo was awesome!

Almost immediately my wife and I regretted buying this, dare I say, pile of junk.

If you did not pay attention getting in the car-truck whatever it is, you were almost certain to turn on the heated seats (Believe me it is most uncomfortable in the summer). Even though the interior of the Sport Trac shares a lot of common parts with the Ranger, there was a significant lack of comfort with the Explorer that we dearly missed from owning the


Taking a road trip in this car was an adventure in itself since the fuel gauge worked when it wanted to, if it wanted to. Most of the time I could drive an easy 300+ miles on a half a tank then the needle would drop to empty within the next 50 or so miles. The dealership answer to this was "Bad gas" or "your mileage is accurate". I'd like to see a 30MPG Explorer.

The most discouraging part of this entire vehicle experience would have to be the total lack of concern the dealership had toward repairing this vehicle. Sure the easy things were fixed, Seat switches, cleaned up whatever over spray or defect was on the finish, eventually fixed the cruise control, but seemed unconcerned about the fuel gauge, tonneau cover and the front suspension problems.

After at least six trips to the dealership for the fuel gauge issues I finally gave up and just filled it up by mileage, however the final straw was when I sent it in for state inspection and they had to rebuild the entire front suspension.

At 15000 miles I paid the dealership $100 to do the multi-point service and everything checked OK, yet 5-6000 miles later the entire front suspension was shot? This truck never left paved roads, had mostly intestate miles on it and was serviced only by the dealership the it was purchased from. When I asked why it was shot and had to be replaced the answer I received was "That's a Ford". Needless to say I traded it on a Dodge the next week.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th October, 2006

17th Jan 2008, 16:54

Seems a lot of issues there, I had a 2004 for Explorer Eddie Bauer and that problems that I have encountered are I considered as minor (OH console got loose, power window did not work). Aside from this my SUV still drives and runs perfectly. I'm already on the 51K mile mark right now.