1978 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1978 Ford F150 Ranger/Explorer/4x4 400M V8 With Holley 650 Carburator from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1978
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 400M V8 With Holley 650 Carburator Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carFord Fairlane

Summary:

One beast of a truck from factory

Faults:

The timing chain needed replacing at 100,000 miles.

The factory 2 barrel carburetor was junk so we swapped it for a Holley 650 with an Edlebrock intake manifold.

General Comments:

I love the truck!

It off-roads in 2 wheel drive where many need 4 wheel drive (stock size tires and suspension.)

More power then anyone ever needs.

Sucks down fuel pretty bad.

Cab corners are gone, but the truck never got washed after running through cow manure everyday.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2003

1978 Ford F150 Ranger 351 M. from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 351 M. Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 miles
Most recent distance155493 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A 4x4 that is cheap to have

Faults:

The struck has a few problems like there isn't anything left of the origonal bed. The cab corners are routed out badly. And its hard as hell to find body parts for it.

General Comments:

It is a OK looking truck, but needs work. the coolest thing is that it is a truck that not a lot of people have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2003

1978 Ford F150 4X4 Straight six from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Straight six Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

A great running truck

Faults:

The cab has rotted.

General Comments:

Truck runs great, chassis in real good condition, but need a cab.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2003

13th Apr 2005, 18:42

I have a 78' F-150, with the 400 engine and 4wd. The body looks terrible, but this truck will go through anything and pull anything. The gas mileage is terrible at about 8 mpg, it is a daily driver believe it or not. I am looking to update so I can start restoring this one. Any how, awesome truck, for a work truck and a truck that is fun to drive, wouldn't have anything else.

13th Jan 2006, 08:27

I have a 77, 78 Fords and they both run well, the 390 and 351m. They're both great trucks, they will go an where and pull anything. My friend thought he was tough with his Chevy 400 small block, and the old 390 would smoke him; it was faster and I also pulled him backwards too, so the 390 motor has got the power.

22nd Feb 2006, 14:24

I have a 1978 ford f150 custom 4x4 and let me tell you it is strong, it will pull anything. It has a 351 m with a c6 tranny and a np 205 transfer case, it is awesome in the mud, very strong truck, them old fords will run forever. the body looks rough so I'm going to the junk yard to find a bed and two doors, but the engine and cab is in excellent shape. toughest truck ever made.

Can't BEAT A FORD.

30th Dec 2006, 00:06

I had one with 351M, 4x4 and with a 4spd. The ugliest(pretty in my eyes)truck I've ever had the privilege of owning. I've put more money in Honda's than that truck. I beat the truck to heck and she keep going. Motor went out at 260,000. Miss the truck every day. Buy another one in a heart beat.

8th May 2007, 13:19

Just got an 84 F150 351 Windsor. It runs good, the truck's in great shape, one of the nicer ones I've seen. 100,000 original miles.

1978 Ford F150 from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired167890 miles
Most recent distance200129 miles

Summary:

A classic

Faults:

There have been hardly any problems with this truck. About the only thing that comes to mind is that the starter needed replaced. Well that's all I know that has happened with it.

General Comments:

This truck drives better than some of the new trucks I have driven and has some bad-ass power behind it to boot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2002

1978 Ford F150 Ranger 351 modified from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 351 modified Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles

Summary:

Kickin ass, rippin up grass

Faults:

I got it from my folks for free because the motor blew. I've been restoring it so the parts I've put into it are mostly stuff that looks like its thinking about breaking or body parts.

The motor blew because fuel got in the oil and it was run like that for 1,500 miles. 15,000 miles later the mail bearings (a week spot in that motor anyway) disintegrated.

Otherwise 150,000 of little easy to fix problems over 18 years and a few amazing feats it accomplished.

General Comments:

The best looking, toughest, all around bad ass trucks ever built, 1973-1979. Can't bust'em.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2000

30th Apr 2001, 00:24

I have a 78 F-150 with a 351m in it.

Racing trannie, 4x4, the whole 9 yards on this truck and had it my whole life and no problems yet. I must agree they are the best bad ass 4x4 still on the road.

1st Jun 2001, 13:19

I have a 1979 Ford, I've had it for one year and it has taken everything that I have dished out. It really surprised me and it still runs strong.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 9 reviews