1988 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1988 Ford F150 Lariat 302 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 302 V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cheavrolette 1500

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

Reverse went out one day on the farm after being driven extremely hard so it wasn't, much of a surprise. New alternator and battery just as any other vehicle would need other than that shes ran perfect.

General Comments:

I got this truck from my grandfather after he was done using it as a work horse on the farm.All my friends call the truck "mater" because we say she mater there and mater back. Shes never let me down in the mud or on the road even after 170,000 miles. I feel comfortable that no matter where i go she will get me their in back with no worries.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th February, 2008

1988 Ford F150 XLT Lariat 5.8L 351 Windsor from North America

Year of manufacture1988
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.8L 351 Windsor Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Nice truck, I would definitely get another... wait, I did already

Faults:

This Ford F150 has had a weak cylinder at about 16000+ miles, we replaced the engine because of this, the "new old" engine had approximately 139000 miles on it.

Replaced alternator twice, batteries a few times, the rear fender on the passenger side fell off on Thursday when my dad drove it to work (9/21/06), replaced fuel pump, rear gas tank has a leak, faulty windshield washer connection, replaced radiator (not sure how many miles).

Have had this truck for many years and it still serves its purpose. After we replaced the engine, it ran fine for a few days, then it started to high idle even after it was warmed up; still need to fix that.

General Comments:

Nice truck, workhorse, interior is in EXCELLENT condition, very clean, four wheel drive still works.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2006

24th Sep 2006, 21:49

Also would like to add to this comment that I fixed the problem with the "high idle", the throttle positioning sensor was bad and I just replaced it with a new one, now it runs great!

1988 Ford F150 XLT 5.0/302 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 5.0/302 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance242900 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

It is an outstanding truck!

Faults:

I had to replace the plenum gasket at approx. 180,000 miles

I had to have the rear end rebuilt at approx. 215,000 miles.

The windshield leaks at a couple of locations, developed after about 10 years of daily use.

The fuel pump in the front tank just went out a couple of weeks ago.. (8/06)

General Comments:

It is a truck, it handles like one and rides like one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2006

1988 Ford F150 Custom 4.9 inline six from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.9 inline six Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance199887 miles
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

I think now I believe the old saying, "Ford the Best never rest."

Faults:

One of the tie rods went bad at about 35000 miles.

New alternator at 65000 miles.

New air conditioner compressor at 85000 miles.

Rebuilt transmission at 180000 miles.

One of the fuel injectors went out about four months ago when it had 196000 miles on it.

General Comments:

Although it has had a few problems over the past 16 years, it has been a very reliable truck. it has been very much of a farm truck since day one. it also was wrecked back in 1993 and again in 1997.

The 4.9 liter engine runs smooth and dosen't use oil. The cabin is very comfortable if you are riding in the front seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2004

1988 Ford F150 XLT Lariat 302 (5.0) V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 302 (5.0) V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21300 miles
Most recent distance245600 miles
Previous carIsuzu Pickup

Summary:

This Truck is a workhorse!

Faults:

Numerous Alternators and batteries.

Door window electric motors and plastic gears to raise and lower the windows, at 215,000.

Seats are very worn. But, they fit comfortably to my posterior!

Master-brake cylinder blew at 220,000.

Rear Main seal started leaking at about 190,000 miles. (Drinks a little more oil)

Valve cover gaskets started leaking about 225,000. (A little more OIL!)

General Comments:

It has survived a family of three boys, and is STILL running. Amazing, Huh?

My Father originally bought the truck brand new. It was passed to me, but I only used it for a few months. HARD Months! I gave it to my younger brother when I had the 'wild hair' to try out a foriegn pick-up. He drove it HARD, too...

Then, he gave it to the youngest brother, Talk about Hard driving!

I finally rescued it from my youngest brother, before he would sell it for a mere pittance.

The old girl was still in very good shape! Of course, any vehicle needs Alternators, and I am glad that Ford finally found out how to get a good starter motor.

Electrical system? Do not get me started. Generally, it is fine...But have you ever tried to turn on the windshield wipers when it is raining and get nothing? And the only way to get them started is to switch the Fuel Selector switch from 'Front to Back'? I hesitate to break open the wiring to find the fault. Granpa' said, "If it a'int broke, don't fix it!"

This Ford has a very strong motor, even after 243,000 miles! My father instilled in us sons very early that you have to change the oil every 5,000 miles. All of the sons have done this over the years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2003

5th Apr 2006, 21:33

I own two Ford trucks now; the first is a 1995 Ford F150 with the straight 6, and the other is a 1988 Ford F150 with the 5.0. The 1995 Ford was my very first truck; I ran into trees, bridges, and another thing, it's my best friends car till this day, it still runs, there is not one panel on the truck straight, but it will still boot, scoot and bogey. I had many cash offers on my child, but she will always be in my family.

20th Aug 2006, 17:11

My 1988 F150 has not had working gas gauges in 8 years. I have talked to several other same model owners with the same history of problems with the gas gauges. Does anyone know if there was an unusual trend with this year and its gas gauges and what the main problem was?

23rd Jun 2009, 11:16

My 1989 F-150 is strong! We bought our daughter a 2001 Mustang and my truck out lived it by a long run, needless to say the Mustang no longer runs, it's junk, and I paid 300.00 for the truck and 23,000 for the junk!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 14 reviews