1988 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1988 Ford F150 XLT 5.8L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.8L V8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles

Summary:

A real truck!

Faults:

The water pump leaked.

The front differential seals leaked.

The tachometer did not work when I bought the truck. I replaced it with a tach from the junkyard which worked fine. Also, the voltmeter would sometimes stop working. I fixed that by bending the electrical contacts where the gage mounts in the dash so they would make good, firm contact. Easy!

General Comments:

This was a great truck. Every problem it had was relatively minor, and I fixed each problem myself. The 5.8 L engine and 5-speed stick is a good combination; fun to drive on the highway and up and down mountains. First gear and 4wd-Lo is a nice low creeper speed; very useful for driving in the dirt in the Rocky Mountains. Stop-and-go city driving was its only weak point; you have to do a lot of shifting. I would still be happily driving this truck today, were it not for idiot drivers who run red lights and smash into people!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2003

1988 Ford F150 XLT 4.9 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.9 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance164000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

The best truck on the road

Faults:

Alternator died at 150000.

Universal joints failed at 160000.

Brake master cylinder was bad when I bought it.

Clutch master cylinder failed at 155000.

General Comments:

This truck is a great truck. It has all the power and comfort anyone needs. I added a lift kit to the body so I could see over all of the sports utility vehicles on the road.

The truck is a real workhorse. It's not a dude truck and I use it all the time to haul and pull.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2003

1988 Ford F150 Custom 4.9 Inline Six from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.9 Inline Six Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired299788 miles
Most recent distance359100 miles

Summary:

Indestructible if you know basic mechanic

Faults:

Electrical system shorted out often.

Head gasket leaked.

Clutch slipped.

The Radio, Wipers, Headlights and starter all wouldn't work toward the end.

The exhaust system fell off completely.

General Comments:

In all fairness this truck had LOTS of mileage on it, as it had been abused as a farm truck for almost 10 years before I ever sat in the driver's seat.

Despite all the things that went wrong this is a reliable vehicle. I was never left stranded on the side of the road.

As with all Fords the electrical system needs constant vigilance, but apart from that it ran nearly 60,000 miles of hard use after being abused on a farm (including being rammed into by a tractor) for nearly 300,000 miles.

The vehicle is not for short people as it is very tall.

Ergonomics are good. However, the high beam button is still on the floor and foot operated.

Gas mileage was VERY good for the size and power of the engine.

The manual transmission is very smooth.

The six cylinder engine is in fact stronger than the base 5 liter V8 engine with the added bonus of vastly better fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2002

19th Sep 2005, 13:14

I got a 88 ford f150 custom 4x4 v8 auto transmission with a small block 302 it is the best truck I've ever owned.

2nd Sep 2006, 14:20

I've got a 1988 v8 302ci 5.0L in a 1995 F-150 body and I'd match it up against the straight six cylinders any day, even at 180,000 miles.

My truck always starts and never stops till I say so.

12th May 2010, 12:49

I own a 1989 Ford Bronco with the 351 Windsor and a 1988 F150 Long Bed. Both trucks run great! If you just change your fluids as recommended, these trucks will run forever! Both of my Ford trucks have over 200,000 miles, and still run like they are new.

3rd Nov 2010, 20:13

I own a 1988 F150 custom and despite that I bought the truck out of a cow pasture, it is a very strong truck. It has a 351 Windsor that is very strong and the motor still starts up strong. The C6 transmission is also a very smooth but strong trani.

I have had my truck for close to two years now and I love it.

1988 Ford F150 XLT lariat 5.0L H.O. (302)V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0L H.O. (302)V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carBuick Skyhawk

Summary:

I hit 7.6 seconds in an 1/8 mile need I say more!

Faults:

I haven't really had too many problems with my truck, my radiator started leaking around 140,000 miles and my seats are worn, but otherwise no problems.

General Comments:

I fell in love with my truck the first time I drove it with it high output v8 and posi. rear end this truck is wicked fast and powerful!

At one time I was a died in the wool Chevy lover, but recent events are changing my tune!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2002

1988 Ford F150 Custom 4.9 six cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1991
Engine and transmission 4.9 six cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 kilometres
Most recent distance184000 kilometres
Previous carLincoln Continental

Summary:

Built Ford tough

Faults:

I had a transmission failure at 174000 k's.

The clutch has been blown.

Has been painted twice.

And your basic repairs.

General Comments:

I love my truck it is so reliable.

This thing still has the power as it did when I first purchased it.

It has a tremendous amount of torque which is why I can beat older 350's when I run it hard and hold the gears.

The best thing about this truck is the motor the in-line six is awesome on gas and its faster than my brothers 5.0 litre.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2002

1988 Ford F150 Custom 4.9 I-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 4.9 I-6
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Front axle oil seals, clutch, tires.

General Comments:

This truck has been very reliable and dependable, the I-6 motor is the best one to have in this vehicle esp. for the use of 4X4 and abuse, mine has only 88,000 miles and it is running strong. My father has a 1989 truck - same thing but has 200,000 miles and is running on only 4-5 cylinders for the last 50,000, no problem!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 1999

1988 Ford F150 XLT Lariat 300 I-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 300 I-6
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

Truck was recalled a few years ago for ignition switch replacement. Had it fixed then & recently had to replace it myself (could not even get the key to go in). Steering box wears too quickly, loose steering (alignment guy could not tighten it).

General Comments:

Accelerates OK, pulls great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 1998

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 14 reviews