1990 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1990 Ford F150 XLT 4.9 6 Cylinder from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.9 6 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired98562 miles
Most recent distance104256 miles

Summary:

Despite few problems, the best truck I've had

Faults:

Stalling problem at idle.

Oil leak.

Runs real rough, something with fuel injection.

Air conditioning doesn't work.

General Comments:

This has been a very good truck so far, even though the engine is starting to act up. This truck is very tough! Will take anything that I throw at it, (except mud, two wheel drive). Gas mileage is very good in the city, but I can't really get the truck up to 60-70 miles per hour (because of fuel injection problem). The 4.9 liter in-line six is one of the more reliable and bullet-proof motors that ford has made, mine is acting up because it hasn't been driven in a long while. Overall a very good truck, will keep it for a very, very long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2005

23rd Aug 2006, 15:05

I have a 1990 Ford 150 XLT Lariat and it is a good truck. I wish it could carry more weight, and it also tends to shut off when the engine is cold. I use it for everything and it hasn't let me down yet, except for a little rust from towing a boat, it's fine. These trucks just don't die.

1990 Ford F150 XLT Lariet 4.9L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.9L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles

Summary:

Would like to get a new ford, but can't let this one go!

Faults:

Three alternators 150,000-160,000

E4OD Trans 170,000

Water Pump 210,000

Two A/C Pumps 180,000

Driver's Seat Worn Badly.

General Comments:

Body looks good for its age. Clear coat is gone on the roof. There are miner dings. Head liner is coming down.

Alternators and A/C pumps were my fault. There was a short in the system that also to out two battery's. Pump I did not put enough oil in and burned the first one up. Clutch on pump looked like it was going to fall off, but held on for 5,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2003

1990 Ford F150 xlt larait 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carGMC S-10

Summary:

Needs more performance,

Faults:

Rear main seal is leaking and been fixed repeatedly the crank has play in it the bearings are worn so the engine needs to be rebuilt, This truck has almost every aftermarket item and then some to make it faster. Problem is it's a 1990 2 wheel drive AOD automatic and has speed density limiting the power capility. The input shaft needs to be upgraded when I plan to exceed 350 hp also the fuel lines need to be upgraded to exceed 350 hp. Hopefully ford will start making the 2004 lighting motors factory in all there series trucks, but hey that would be to easy.

General Comments:

Love the truck and now I am dumping more money into it, to build the 5.0 to get around 325 + hp and still use the speed density.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2003

1990 Ford F150 XLT lariat 302, 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 302, 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

When the truck is factory its great for what its made for.

Faults:

All problems are from my lead foot.

General Comments:

It's a great truck, just don't hot rod it if its all factory.

Take it from me, I know.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2003

1990 Ford F150 Custom 4WD 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Super solid truck

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

My first Ford truck has been a pleasure to own. A little fuel-thirsty, despite the small V8. I usually get 11-12 mpg in town and 15 mpg highway (and I'm a very gentle driver). However, it has so many good attributes that I can't really complain too much about mpg.

I've only had the truck for about 1.5 years and put only 10K miles on it in that time. Yet, I can see that this truck will last a long time and should prove to be relatively trouble free for years. The build quality is excellent and the overall systems designs are pretty good too.

I bought it with 114,000 miles on it. You'd expect it to need more than just a headlight bulb replacement in 18 months (and especially with that mileage), but that is ALL I have had to repair or replace. Other than changing the oil and lubing the chassis, it has been trouble-free.

I'd like to drive this one to a minimum of 200,000 miles. I plan to buy a new truck at that time, and it will most certainly be another Ford pickup!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2002

1990 Ford F150 Custom 300 I-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 300 I-6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance223000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Great truck

Faults:

Steering box was replaced.

Exhaust.

Ball joints.

General Comments:

I think if you get the straight six and the manual transmission you will be very happy with an F150.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2001

30th Jan 2001, 21:39

Also own 1990 F150 custom with 4.9 liter 6 cylinder and 5 speed manual (2 wheel drive). Have had the truck since new.

Now has 161,000 Kilometers (100,000 miles). Still runs like new.

Except for the battery, filters, plugs and wires, all components under the hood are still original.

Air conditioning has never been serviced, still making cold air.

The body is still solid, no annoying squeaks or rattles. Compared to my GM trucks in the past, this has been by far the best.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 12 reviews