2006 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2006 Ford F150 XLT 5.4 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Great buy

Faults:

Upper and lower ball joints, both sides replaced.

Both control arms replaced.

$0 spent - extended service warranty from Ford paid for it all.

General Comments:

Fantastic pickup, feels like luxury compared to other vehicles I've had.

I track my exact fuel mileage every fillup - it's about 13 in city and 15 on the highway.

Extended cab, 4wd, 5.4L and ladder rack and ladder keep the mpg's down, I'm sure.

Problems:

- CD player sometimes does not eject a disc, but I just bang on the dash and it comes out

- Seats stain very easily, even from WATER.

I love this pickup. I got it for a great deal and got a good trade in on my other F150.

Seats are extremely comfortable once adjusted correctly - I probably average 100+ miles per day.

The bed is very deep, it can be tough to reach stuff over the side.

Great pickup, no serious problems.

Took it to the dealership, and they left a lot of dirt and crap on the door armrests and center armrest.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2010

2006 Ford F150 Lariat 5.4 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles

Summary:

Not built for the long haul, Toyota here we come!

Faults:

The transmission went out at 36,000 miles.

Starter went out at 40,000.

Window switch went out at 50,000.

General Comments:

From day one, the truck has gone through 3 quarts of oil every 5000 miles. After running no less than 10 oil consumption tests with the dealership, the factory and dealership said it was within factory specs to go through that much oil. There is no oil on the floor or smoke out the exhaust.

This is not a work truck, just light around town truck.

Their slogan is built Ford tough, but we will never purchase another Ford product again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th September, 2009

20th Sep 2009, 18:31

It will definitely be a wise decision in buying a Toyota for your next truck.

20th Sep 2009, 20:27

Where are those guys who claim Ford builds the best vehicles on the planet now?

26th Jul 2010, 18:13

Look at all of the other very POSITIVE F-150 reviews on this site. Just because one 150 is very poor, doesn't mean they ALL are. This is one of the few bad reviews on this site, actually. With as many cars as automakers are putting out, there are BOUND to be a few which aren't going to make it. It's important to realize just because one vehicle is very poor, that you should swear off of a certain maker.

It doesn't even mean you shouldn't turn around and buy the same model; depending upon the situation and circumstances.

15th Aug 2010, 18:03

I have a 2008 F150, XL 36000 miles.

Let's see, 30+ visits to several dealers, A/C went out, fuel injectors, plugs, rear end leaking, throttle body went out, windshield washer motor shorted out, seat cracked, arm rest had to be replaced.

I love the look of my truck and the size, just poor power train. Oh yeah, the crap factory tires were shot at 23k miles, and yes, I maintain my truck and rotate tires!

I have always babied this truck, but it's a bit ridiculous...

2006 Ford F150 XLT 5 liter from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Good overall design with flaws in execution

Faults:

Fuel injector stuck open at 150 miles.

Tire thumping upon receipt. Probable defect in tire. Not resolved.

Howling (whistling) from fuel system when air is 35 degrees or colder. Not resolved.

Heating air handling system will not switch to defrost until engine warms up when below 40 degrees.

Rear differential cover is rusting through.

General Comments:

Acceleration lag and shifting delay are poor to the point of nuisance.

Wind and engine noises (valve lifters) are higher than reasonably expected.

Braking and handling characteristics are superior.

The extra deep bed is more of a nuisance than useful, since you cannot reach over the side to place or retrieve objects.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th November, 2008

2006 Ford F150 Lariat 4X4 5.4 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 kilometres
Most recent distance72000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Workhorse with a nice SUV style interior

Faults:

Power windows on both sides.

6 disc CD changer broke.

A couple of sensors went.

General Comments:

It is a great poweful truck, but with great power comes even greater fuel bills.

It's very smooth and quiet, but with a high tailgate it's hard to back up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2008

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 9 reviews