Ford F450 Reviews

2003 Ford F450 Super Duty 6.0 Liter from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 6.0 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Faults:

Replaced oil pump.

Replaced 2 fuel injectors.

Replaced turbo.

Replaced crankshaft position sensor.

Need to replace fuel tank and fuel pump next.

All of these items are related to the fuel tank stripping from the inside.

Just replaced fuel filters, and the rear filter under the driver seat was covered with silver flakes of metal. Which restricted the fuel pump, and did not get enough gas to the injectors.

Because of the restriction, the injectors did not get enough fuel and went bad.

The turbo over compensated for the lack of power, which was due to fuel shortage.

And now the fuel tank and fuel pump are next to be replaced. Hopefully this will fix the problem after all.

I am already into this for about $5000, and still have $1600 left to spend.

Has this happened to anybody else? I'm wondering about a recall on the fuel tanks stripping from the inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2009

24th Jun 2010, 08:40

I am having the same problem with the fuel tank. I have already spent money on injectors, cleaning fuel tank, twice. I think a recall is needed.

16th Apr 2012, 14:55

I agree there should be a recall! Has there been any word from Ford about a recall. If so, how can I receive information concerning this matter?

2003 Ford F450 super duty 6ltr diesel from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6ltr diesel Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17 kilometres
Most recent distance135500 kilometres
Previous carFord F350

Summary:

I believe I have a lemon

Faults:

This vehicle is used in the towing industry.

Engine has been out gasket problem.

On my third transmission-automatic.

New fuel pump.

All new injectors 2 on third.

Rear end rebuilt twice.

General Comments:

When this unit is running well it is a great truck.

The drivers seat is showing wear due to constant in and out of the truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th January, 2006

1999 Ford F450 Super Duty 7.3L turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 7.3L turbo diesel
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10

Faults:

Had misadjusted turbo waste gate repaired (6000 miles.) Other than that it has performed flawlessly.

General Comments:

By FAR the best medium duty truck I have EVER driven! Extremely comfortable, smooth ride, and gets good mileage for a truck. I am most impressed with the engine. I have a 15 FT. Refrigerated box on the back, and it doesn't make any difference whether it is full or empty, it still offers the most impressive acceleration I have ever experienced with a diesel. An outstanding truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 1999

1991 Ford F450 Super Duty 7.3 V8 diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 7.3 V8 diesel
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

General Comments:

Wrecker. 200,000 miles. Starting to use a little oil (1/2 quart every 3,000 miles), holds 8 quarts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

23rd Feb 2004, 13:18

It is no wonder your rig is starting to use oil if you believe that it holds 8 quarts; it holds 15 quarts.

28th Feb 2005, 00:41

They did (and still do) put Gas engines in the Ford F-450. None of Ford's Gas engines hold more than 8 quarts of oil.

17th Jan 2006, 21:39

These comments are longer than the actual review...

18th May 2006, 20:06

It'd be nice if people chose "gasoline" or "petrol", I was confused for a few moments there. There are plenty of world markets that actually use gas, as in LPG or propane, afterall.

9th Feb 2007, 11:31

He said right in the review that it's a Diesel.

9th Feb 2007, 11:32

Also on the "gas" thing, it states clearly that the reviewer's from North America. that should clear it up.

1988 Ford F450 Super Duty 7.3L V8 Diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 7.3L V8 Diesel
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

Normal maintenance.

General Comments:

Oldest & most used Wrecker I have. 410,000 miles on original engine. Had 3 clutches & 1 transmission rebuild (5-speed). Still has reasonable pulling power. Burns 1 quart of oil every 700 miles on the highway. Burns 2 quarts of oil idling overnight for 10 hours.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 1998

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 5 reviews