1979 Ford Fairmont Reviews

1979 Ford Fairmont Base 2.3 liter, L4, 2 BBL from North America

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1978
Engine and transmission 2.3 liter, L4, 2 BBL Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired63402 miles
Most recent distance64287 miles
Previous carHyundai Sonata

Summary:

Cheap to service and operate, but slow

Faults:

Catalytic converter vibrates under the car (rattles at times), & it lacks get-up-and-go!

General Comments:

The speedometer only goes up to 80 MPH, and I've got up to 65. It is not made for speed, but gets great fuel economy for its age!

Very easy... and cheap... to work on. Just allow plenty of time to get where you're going. And... if you are thinking of passing someone?... you might reconsider!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2010

3rd Mar 2011, 11:05

Bingo! Cheap to operate, and cheap to fix (my "most expensive" repair was $55.00).

BUT... he's right. Forget about passing. The lil' 2.3 is a great in town car, but lacks the punch of a highway model! From what I've heard, get the 200 CI in-line 6-cylinder for that!

I wish I could upgrade to that, but I lack the funds to do so. :-(

1979 Ford Fairmont 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carDodge Dart

Summary:

This is the best and most economical car I have ever owned

Faults:

Some minor rust in the wheel wells.

The air conditioning compressor needed to be replaced.

The clutch was replaced at 150,000 miles and the transmission rebuilt at 145,000 miles. This was actually just some normal wear and maintenance.

The seats have been redone and need to be redone again.

The ignition switch went at about 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is fantastic and has never left me stranded.

It has a nice ride and the manual transmission feels great.

I've owned this car since 1985. It was a part of my wedding fleet, and I am constantly offered money for it.

I have recently decided to completely restore my Fairmont and can't wait for it to be completed.

The only part I am having trouble replicating is the interior red paint on the doors. There is no paint code listed on the vehicle for it and the local PPG store has no listing.

I paid $600.00 for this car and never regretted it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2004

22nd May 2004, 15:48

How cool... I had a 1982 Ford Fairmont Futura... a really nice car for the price. Is yours a base model or a Ghia? 2 door or 4 door? You may want to try to find a Futura donor for the interior. These models had vinyl all the way up to the windows, which would eliminate the need for the paint on the inside of the doors. Which engine do you have? As these cars were built on the Fox (Mustang) chassis, the mods are unlimited.

Good luck and keep us posted.

1979 Ford Fairmont 4 door sedan Inline-six, 3.3 liter (200c.i.d) from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Inline-six, 3.3 liter (200c.i.d) Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles

Summary:

Simply put, this car is worthy of high praise!

Faults:

The valve cover gasket kept leaking oil.

Rear end makes a small, but noticeable, clunk when you shift from park to reverse.

Front-left ball joint boot has a cut in it, allowing the grease to keep leaking out which in return makes the car make a blood-curdling bang when you make sharp, fast left turns or you hit something with the left side first.

Rear-left coil spring has begun to droop.

Valve guide seals leak oil into combustion chamber.

Quite a few major dings and dents in the car body.

General Comments:

After fixing most of the problems about a year ago, the engine has returned to putting out almost all 85 horses and 154ft.lbs or torque.

The body is still pretty shoddy, but it can still look good after being washed and having a coat of wax put on.

Even though I haven't repaired the differential yet, it is still only a minor problem.

After putting on a new exhaust system (including a high-flow catalytic converter, aluminized 2 inch pipe from the manifold flange back, and a high-output turbo muffler), this car has serious high and low end torque in all 3 transmission bands, and will take off like it's a cat with its tail on fire!

I just have to say this; I whooped the H-E-double-hockey-sticks out of a Nissan maxima when the idiot wanted to race!!! I love this car!

I wish that Ford had made a new version for the 2000 year on through now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2003

30th Dec 2003, 09:33

Why would anyone spend money trying to turn a 200-cid six cylinder into a "performance" engine? If you want a "sleeper" then get a Fairmont with a V8, they aren't that hard to find...

15th Sep 2004, 07:46

I have a 1979 Ford Fairmont, four door, with a v6 engine. It's in fair/poor body condition, but runs pretty good. My husband uses it to drive to work every day. I've been told that the car is worth more than a couple hundred dollars because it's 25 years old. Do you know if that's true? The person at the Secretary of State and a few other people have told me I could get $5,000 for it. I don't know a thing about cars but thought it was worth asking someone.

1979 Ford Fairmont Futura 3.3 Inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3 Inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

Good first car

Faults:

The valve cover gasket needed to be replaced.

The rear end gasket was replaced.

Paint is getting worn.

General Comments:

This was my first car during high school and it worked very well. Was reliable, got decent gas mileage, and could get me from point a to b. Not very fast, but this car is heavy. Good cruiser. Good in snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2002

1979 Ford Fairmont Ghia 351 Cleveland from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 351 Cleveland Manual
Distance when acquired273309 kilometres
Most recent distance278710 kilometres

Summary:

A real powerhouse that is a pleasure to drive

Faults:

The rear seat has recently come adrift and the back rest is unstable.

General Comments:

This car is very quick. Although it was cheap to build and is no oil painting, it is certainly a car to be respected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2002

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 5 reviews