1982 Ford Falcon S Pack 4.1 carburetor, petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A bargain workhorse

Faults:

Spare tire door kept falling open every time I hit a bump.

The door handle has broken.

Brake pads were badly worn.

Rotors have really bad grooves in them.

Burst a radiator hose last week.

Nearly cooked it tonight when the heater hose blew.

General Comments:

This van is a great workhorse; needs a bit of work, but all in all it's got a lot of potential.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2004

1982 Ford Falcon XE 3.3L from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

An original in awesome condition

Faults:

I bought if from an old lady, and the first thing that was needed was the radiator.

The old lady kept it very clean, low kilometres and in the shed all the time. (only ever washed it with rain water!!!)

It has no air-conditioning, but that is okay

The muffler has a whole in it, but that comes with age, right?

General Comments:

She is running well for an oldie. I haven't god the guts to thrash her because she is so neat and perfect. I don't want to hurt her yet.

All I need now is to lower her, tint her windows and run a twin system through her.

Oh, and drop a 351 Cleveland in her.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2004

1982 Ford Falcon XE 4.1 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

High performance cruiser

Faults:

Clutch went a while ago.

Clutch cable a couple of times.

Head gasket blew at 300000 k's.

Drivers seat showing minor wear.

General Comments:

Overall, an excellent car! Great on performance, mine is 4 speed manual. Which is in bad need of a rebuild gearbox. Crunches the gears. Fully rebuilt motor ups performance with a few tweaks, like performance cam, flat top pistons and high compression head.

On gas it is very cheap to run, but a petrol guzzler on petrol.

With lowered springs and new shocks it holds the road like its on rails! 215's on the front and 235's on the rear help.

A very comfortable and reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2003

7th Sep 2006, 23:25

Always thought petrol and gas were the same...

1982 Ford Falcon GL Wagon 4.1 OHV Alloy Head 2 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A great car

Faults:

Muffler and head gasket replaced in 1997 ($130).

Air conditioner replaced in 1996 ($1705)

Rust cut out in 1992

Otherwise, nothing else major happened to the car.

General Comments:

The car was very good and was very powerful. It handled well for a car without power steering. It had very good trim on the inside and it had been in the sun quite a lot and hardly ever faded and never cracked. It was very easy to clean. The car had excellent ride and was very comfortable. However, it is NOT good in the terms of fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

1982 Ford Falcon GL 4.1 250ci Xflow from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

An absolute bargain

Faults:

My alternator seized and burnt out the belts.

The clutches in the gear box burnt out.

The head was corroded out.

There is an Earth fault in the dash.

General Comments:

Once I rebuilt it its the only turbo XE Ute in Western Australia at the moment and it is rated to 350bhp at the wheels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2002

1982 Ford Falcon GL petrol from Trinidad and Tobago

Summary:

A wonderful car

Faults:

Engine had to be overhauled in 1988, after approximately 35000km.

Tappet cover tends to build up a lot of muck very quickly and needs to be cleaned.

Automatic transmission had to be overhauled at about the same period as the engine; suspect incompetent mechanics at dealership for this rather early date for major work.

After 70000km engine required another overhaul and was replaced with Nissan LD28 (6-cyl) diesel engine.

At about 90000km changed most of front end parts. (rubbers, ball joints and steering ends, etc.)

General Comments:

This is an excellent car in every way, any trouble we have had can probably be blamed on mechanics in this country who were not, (and still aren't) familiar with this type of car.

The acceleration with the original 250 engine was very good, but with the later diesel engine, extremely poor.

Handling is reasonable for a car of this size and weight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2002

1982 Ford Falcon XE 351 GHIA 351 Cleveland V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A grunty V8

Faults:

Engine blew due to a main bearing failure, but that's why I got the car so cheap (it had a slight knock).

Replaced the 302 with a 351 V8 out of an old 1981 LTD. Also threw in the interior on the LTD.

General Comments:

Cheap and easy to find parts for. Good for towing a trailer or a small house.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2001

5th Nov 2002, 04:42

Go the 351!

1st Sep 2003, 15:43

Well a Falcon with a 351 is the best you can get! I am from Malta (Europe) and have a Falcon XD of 1979. It's a great car in both ways; it's big and it drives superb. I want some help to find the front shocks, the fuel tank sender and the front bushes. If anyone can help pls e mail me on hajniken@yahoo.com.

12th Nov 2003, 01:22

Sounds like it's a nice car you've got there. I'm going to shove a 302 in my car while I do my L's, then I'll put a 351 in it. Sounds good hey!